We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Slawi

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Riad Slawi
Ranked #84 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Staying at Riad Slawi was such a wonderful experience. Needless to say the riad is beautiful. A lot of care and hard work was put into it. It truly felt more like staying with a friend than staying in a hotel! Adam goes above and beyond to make sure you are comfortable in the riad as well as in the city of Marrakech. Finding your riad in the Medina can be a daunting fete. Riad Slawi, like so many of the other riads, is not reachable completely by car. Our driver took us as far as he could to the riad, and Adam was waiting to take us the rest of the way when we arrived. He made sure we knew how to get to the souks and gave us some helpful tips on getting around. He gave us his card in case we got lost or needed help. When we asked about a good place to go to dinner on our first night, Adam called a couple places for us. He walked with us to the restaurant himself instead of just giving us directions.

One thing we would definitely recommend is having a dinner at Riad Slawi. You have to let Adam know you want dinner in the morning, because they go to market and prepare all day for it. Our tagine was amazing! The best food we had in Morocco, no question. The breakfast included with the room is also very good.

We would recommend Riad Slawi to anyone staying in Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank landxrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    39
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
224
16
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Riad Slawi was an absolutely brilliant place to stay. The owner Adam is absolutely phenomenal - his hospitality went above and beyond. He made us feel completely at home, originally meeting us in the main square, taking us places so we weren't lost and even getting on the phone to Europcar when we were having trouble! The guest house itself is charming, clean and peaceful with lovely personal touches. The food was really excellent. Would definitely go back next time I visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful riad in a magical city, the perfect way to spend a city break. The owner Adam attended to our every need and organised day trips for us that we would not have been able to do ourselves. An amazing holiday that I will never forget, I want to plan a trip back to Marrakech already!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annakenda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Riad Slawi is a gorgeous place to stay. The owner Adam really does make you feel like family, and we were instantly at ease and felt at home. Adam came to meet us and lead us to the riad, and then took the time to find out what we were interested in doing in Marrakech and provided some suggestions of things to see and do.
We had dinner there one night, which was prepared by the ladies who work there and make the breakfast. It was truly delicious and one of the best meals we ate while in Morocco!
All in all, I can definitely recommend Riad Slawi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This review consists of 3 parts:

1. Overall takeaway of the Riad in it's location
2. Pro Tips if lost for finding the Riad and general Marrakech tips & tricks
3. The owner Adam (who deserves his own chapter in this review!)


1. Overall takeaway of the Riad and it's location

The Riad is very romantic and well taken care of by the owner of the Riad. It's location is very close to the old centre and the "souks" are just a 5 minute walk away through the narrow streets of Marrakech.

There are only 4 rooms which are all very accomodating, we actually had the smallest room on the ground floor but it has all the features you'll need like a refrigerator, a nice shower, a comfortable bed and the room itself just oozes romance!

If you're up for a great dinner I recommend asking Adam (the hotel owner) to have them cook you up a great meal. The cook that makes the dinners is a lovely traditional Moroccan-style cook and they'll gladly make you a fantastic 3 course meal!

The breakfasts are great as well, they'll change the main part of your breakfast daily so you won't get fed up with it. Chances are you'll get something like moroccan pancakes, bread, a desert and several different sweet toppings like honey and jelly.


2. Pro Tips if lost for finding the Riad and general Marrakech tips & tricks

Adam called us up the day before arriving, which was a very pleasant surprise, to arrange a ride from the airport to the Riad from where he'd meet us to walk us to the Riad. This was a great service since it's not a good idea to open up a map when walking with your suitcase since people will swarm you to assist you to your Riad. I'll elaborate in the Pro Tips.

Pro Tips if lost:
- If you want to find the Riad when you're lost in the small streets of Marrakech just look for the "Dar Zelij"-Restaurant signs, the Riad is located 1 block away from there!
- Everyone in Marrakech will want to help you find your riad, and maybe along the way sell you a carpet or will at least ask a ridiculous fee after helping you. Avoid this by simply saying "no, thank you" and walk on, even if you don't know where to go.
- Absolutely lost and can't find the Riad? Ask a shopowner where to find the Riad, they'll gladly help you and won't be able to accompany you to your location, win-win!


3. Adam

Adam is really the primary reason I rated the Riad with 5 stars. He's fluent in French, English and of course Moroccan. He's actually a Moroccan who grew up in Canada (eh?) so his English is really outstanding!

Adam is never too shy to help you if you're lost or when you want to go anywhere. He walked us several times to several hotspots in the city and he'll really do anything he can to make your stay a fantastic one. He just couldn't be any more accommodating and he really makes you feel like you're family.

I couldn't recommend this Riad more!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimbellBlauw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Riad Slawi at the beginning of October this year. The riad itself is lovely, it is quite small with only 4 rooms and we were lucky enough to have it all to ourselves for a few days. The riad is in quite a quiet location and feels quite residential which is lovely and relaxing after a day out in the city.

The food was absolutely delicious and like other reviews we would definitely recommend eating at the riad on one evening. The breakfasts were also amazing and a real effort is made to serve something different each days so you get to try a real variety of Moroccan breakfasts.

Adam and his staff were all great and very helpful. Adam seems to always be around if you need anything and is always happy to answer any questions.

All in all we would definitely recommend staying at Riad Slawi and if we return to Marrakech (which we hope we will!) we would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RhiannaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Lovely riad, tucked away in a quiet Medina neighbourhood. We loved its calmness: A good place to withdraw from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech City. From where the taxi drops you you´ll need to walk a few minutes. The small lanes looked confusing at first and the but we became familiar with the walk in no time, being greeted by the neighborhood kids and the street vendors. The days at the riad started off with a nicely prepared breakfast, introducing a delicious moroccan snack along with the usual bread, butter and jam: yummy! Talking about food: our welcome dinner was a delight, we recommend it strongly to have one at the riad!
Adam is the perfect host: nice and accomodating, always helpful, always an open ear for our needs and concerns. He really made us feel very welcome at his riad.
The house is rather small, it has only 4 rooms/suites, the inner yard is communal seating area and there is another small seating area on the first floor. The rooftop terrace is small but nice, however, view is limited since the house is not to high.
Travelling with a small child we liked the family feeling at the riad too: rather small with maximum four parties at the time there was a good atmosphere of mutual sympathy and trust among the guests.
We absolutely recommend the riad!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#123 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#77 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
1.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#58 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#70 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#126 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Slawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Slawi

Property: Riad Slawi
Address: 92 Derb Ahmed el Borj | Sidi Ben Slimane, Kaa Sour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Slawi 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Slawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Slawi Marrakech
Riad Slawi Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing