We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveler rating
84
343
261
101
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
84
343
261
101
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening buffet clean bathroom excellent location cooked breakfast market square night break four star muslim country would highly recommend this hotel quiet oasis table tennis jemaa el fna visit marrakech atlas mountains koutoubia medina bustling
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 870 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2019

This is definitely not a 4 star hotel! This hotel is old, shabby and unsafe. A group of us stayed at this hotel and were assigned rooms on the first floor in a hallway that was completely dark. Upon entering our rooms, we found that all of the rooms had doors to the outside (basically the partking lot) and they didn't have locks. When we went to switch rooms, the staff claimed that the hotel was full despite the fact that we could still book on the Internet. Then they pretended not to speak English. 2+ hours laters, they magically found rooms that were available on higher floors.

Even had we not had this issue, the rooms are very basic and do not bear resemblance to a 4 star hotel. While it is within walking distance to the market, beware that there are much better hotels or riads for around the same price that have locks on their doors.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dcbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

Just got back from a short stay in Marrakesh
I decided to stay at the Hotel Chems rather than in a Riad
Very glad I made that decision as it proved to be a lovely little hotel
With a lovely garden and swimming pool
Great for relaxing in the afternoon
Spotlessly clean room with very clean bathroom
Breakfast was very good
We had dinner one night - a buffet, very good
All you can eat for £12!
A Riad does not give you the space and light and peace
No mould all white fittings very good
We had a 2nd floor garden view room 256 which was very quiet - highly recommend
The hotel is only a 6 minute walk to the main square in the medina
The best location
Also just over the road from the 5* Mamounia hotel which has great jazz 6 nights of the week in the Italian Bar - a must for all jazz lovers like me!
I highly recommend this hotel

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ihstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

Spent 3 nights in Marrakech at the Hotel Chems. The room was very average and left much to be desired. On a bright note, we were at the very end of the hallway on the main floor so it was quiet. Definitely needs to be updated. Stains on the box spring, door lock didn't work very well. However, the room was clean. The "tour" company in the lobby is a rip off - $50 for a 4 hour tour. There are drivers just outside the gate who will do a full day for about $20 USD. The buffet in the morning had a good selection of pastries, but I did have difficulty finding a clean cup to drink out of. Staff at front desk were very helpful. Wait staff in the buffet area were not so friendly. I guess it is a good hotel for a very tight budget, but I won't be going back. The best part is that it is only a few blocks to the Mosque and 2 more to the medina.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Upon arriving at the hotel, which was situated in a great location, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were more than happy to help with our luggage and tourist expeditions.

We stayed in the Superior Double Room and we found it difficult to determine what was superior about it. It was very outdated and required some TLC, especially in the bathroom as the toilet often became slightly detached from the wall. The room was cleaned regularly and of a good standard.

The pool and garden area was lovely, probably the best part of the hotel.

The breakfast was below average in my opinion. The hot drinks machine appeared to be broken as the ‘coffee’ had remnants of hot chocolate in. There wasn’t a great deal to choose from, although the bakery section was pleasant.

I would definitely visit Marrakech again, but I wouldn’t stay in this hotel. It is not a Moroccan 4 star hotel, probably a 3 star. Compared to some other 4 star hotels in the area, it is clear that this hotel isn’t on the same level. Overall good value for money but the hotel is in need of an update throughout.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ellemills101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

The hotel was a great location! And had a nice garden with reasonably clean rooms, but other than that, not much to rave about. The rooms were quite dated and in need of TLC, which was disappointing especially as we had chosen a superior room. Main facilities were hairdryer in bathroom with towels, a small TV, small balcony and (actually very good) air conditioning & heating system, but no iron. Another drawback was that the room was quite badly lit, with no light on the balcony. Additionally, the breakfast buffet was quite limited, especially if you have a preference for hot food. Other than that, we tried the hammam here which was excellent, more than value for money and all staff were very helpful and nice, going above and beyond to ensure you had a good stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asally429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews