We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded”
Review of Hotel Chems

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chems
Ranked #347 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Nice 1970ies-Palm-Springs-like Pool area, other than that a bit poor. Worn carpets and doors and the card system that was supposed to open the door to my room didn't work. While I was complaining about this there were other people at the front desk with the same problem. When you reported a problem like this they seemed rather annoyed as opposed to apologetic. Problem was fixed later. Parking lot on site is a plus.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank XTPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 736 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wasn't made to feel very welcome on arrival. Dour faced receptionist who should learn how to smile and welcome guests. Room was basic but was clean. Nice bed with extra pillows. Safe to use but for payment. Nice balcony to sit in. Air conditioning works but tkaes some time to kick in, hardly suprising with the heat in Marrakech last week though!

All French speaking so brush on on some phrases. Breakfast wasn;t worth getting up for. Eggs, Bread, Pastries, thats your lot really, two days of boiled eggs and french bread we gave it a miss and went into the Madina for fresh pancakes each day.

Nice pool area to soak up the sun.

Really nice walk through the Mosque Gardens to get to the Medina.

All in all next time i will stay in a Riad, more Morroccan and less French style, we are in Morroco after all

Room Tip: We faced the hotel entrance and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequenttraveller674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

If you need a hotel in the heart of Marrakesh, it is in the absolute perfect location, right in front of the mamounia hotel.
the food is disgusting. even if you get a demi-pension, meaning breakfast and dinner included in the price, it is still worth taking the hotel and eating out every day.
rooms if facing pool and garden are great. i'm not sure i'd enjoy my stay if my room were facing the cement wall some rooms face.
reception staff are not very nice but they do their job.
the bar and lounge area are very cozy and feel like you're at summer camp or some university hall, I like that feel.
the pool is clean but not very big so don't come here if you're looking for a lap pool.
the beds are sheets are very comfortable.
the lobby, halls and rooms are very clean.
last but not least, they ask for 100dirams (10euros) as a deposit if you request a pool towel and they have the audacity to ask you to keep it during the entire stay.
low class but it's still a very comfortable and overall despite all this, the place has positive vibes and i feel good here.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCSFO12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Just got back from three weeks of hell, as we live in France we booked this hotel knowing it was run by a French company and that all the guests would probably be French, this isn't a problem as I speak French. Day one : i asked the Rep for a map of Marrakech, he laughed at me and said he couldn't understand me!!! (and not in a pleasant jokey way) so I asked at the reception, she went crazy at the rep and then she gave me a map. The reps don't like to give any info to you at all, they like you to take their over priced trips, we took a bus to the coast which cost us 130dhs for two, they were charging 365dhs each. Apart from that the food at the Hotel was disgusting, breakfast was limited and we had to ask every day for yogurt, which they kept hidden away!! the dinners were revolting, cold and if you didn't get in quick by 8.00 there was hardly anything left, my partner was so ill all through the holiday because of the food, I think it was the meat being re-heated over and over again, I don't eat meat and I wasn't ill, but many of the other guests told me that they had been ill too. When buying a coffee or a bottle of water you had to check you change every time, we were short changed so many times it was obviously done deliberately. The only pluses for the hotel: it was clean although scuffy and definately not 4 star, the ladies at the reception desk were very helpful and its position to explore Marrakech is good. But the company Fram is a nightmare, they changed our flight home from direct to a stopover and only told us the day before we were leaving, which gave us no time to change it, even though they knew 4 days after we had arrived, when I questioned the rep, he told me" thats the way it is, go away" when I asked him for his name he told me he was Monsieur Fram and did I speak French!! and for all my French friends: Fram c'est merde!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank supertrampFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Côté jardin ou piscine pour la vue et également chambre supérieure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuages33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres de catégorie supérieure sont situées au rez-de-chaussée et disposent d'une terrasse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patser2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank costarmoricains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1 mi away
LABRANDA Les Idrissides Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
Royal Mirage Deluxe Marrakech
#417 of 499 in Marrakech
430 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Suites Marrakech
Novotel Suites Marrakech
#276 of 499 in Marrakech
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Atlas Asni
Hotel Atlas Asni
#289 of 499 in Marrakech
1,247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#210 of 499 in Marrakech
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Renaissance
Hotel La Renaissance
#363 of 499 in Marrakech
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chems? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chems

Address: Avenue Houmane Fettaouaki Syba, Marrakech 40050, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $60 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Chems 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The restaurant features large pillars and serves a continental breakfast every morning. On sunny days, guests can dine on the poolside terrace or order a snack from the pool bar.Wi-Fi is free in public areas and the hotel also offers private parking on site. Marrakesh-Menara Airport is just 5 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chems reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chems Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing