We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
Ranked #96 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We had such an fantasic trip to Morocco. But it's safe to say that Dar Rocmarra made it even more fantastic. We spent 2 weeks travelling around but ended up coming back to relax here for much longer than planned. The decor is inspired and interesting , the overall feel is very laid back, and the way Jamilla and co look after you is wonderful. We just felt at home here. The location is great and felt very safe and you can easily wonder to and from the main square within a few minutes. Also Jamilla organised us a three day trip through the Atlas mountains to stay in the desert which is highly recommended. We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJpaulF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
103
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Beautiful place near to the taxi stop and within walking distance of the souks.
lovely interior design with the terrace for breakfasts, very peaceful as we had the place to ourselves for a week!
Excellent service and Jamila was always helpful with directions and suggestions of places to visit or where to eat.
We had a personal tutorial of how to make mint tea!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenp2guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Beautiful riad, close to souks and main square. Fabulous fixtures and fittings, great service from lovely house team and attention to detail couldn't be faulted - table linen, rose petals on bedding and towels were a lovely touch, etc. Food very nice. But very disappointed when we found out later that we had been charged 30 Euros (payable to the riad) for taxi collection from the airport which is double the fare charged by the other riads we stayed at later in the month. We felt this coloured our overall view of Dar Rocmarra somewhat. We would recommend Dar Rocmarra to others but would advise to arrange your own taxi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irvinemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, Cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2010

The tone for a great stay was set by the welcome received, and the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff thoughout our stay really made the visit.
The building itself is in immaculate condition, with individual artifacts placed in the rooms and the common areas. The cool and shaded dining area in the open roofed courtyard was a great setting for the excellent breakfasts, with plenty of space and individual seating areas. Our room was excellently finished and fitted, and the quiet but very efficient air-con ensured a comfortable night's sleep.
The roof terrace was also a great area to use, with a variety of seats & loungers, etc.
Highly recommended would be to have a dinner on the roof terrace, food and setting were great when we did this.
Overall the whole experience exceeded even our high expectations, I would have no hesitation in recommending......I really dont have a negative point to relate, and I could normally find something......

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

Set in the medina,this riad is a most welcoming place,Jamila and her staff looked after our every need.
The whole riad has been restored well and the moroccan decor and atmosphere have been maintained.The inhouse dinner menu offered excellent choice and the food was of a high quality,served in the inner courtyard by candle light.
We ate breakfast on the roof each morning and finished our days with a glass of wine up there each night. . . . .perfect.
The rooms are all individual in design and decor and very well equiped, slippers,gowns,hairdryer,bottled water etc.
A little gem of a place that comes highly recommended by us "Suffolk Tourists."

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

At just a short walk through the Souks,the riad is ideally located for access to the main square and more local restaurants. Only the wish to sample as much variety as possible stopped us eating " at home" every evening. Pre- booking an evening meal in the riad because of our late arrival time would have been a good idea. The staff were great and couldn't do enough to make us feel at home.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LordTedRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliermarrakech, One of the Owners at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, March 4, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do appreciate the time you have taken to write your review.
I'm very happy that you were looked after by our wonderful staff and we hope you will come back and see us some time soon .
Kindest regards
Julie Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

When you are first led down the tiny winding lanes of the ancient Marrakech Medina you worry a bit about the riad that may await you. It looked great in the website but was that just great photography ?.
We were simply enchanted with dar Rocmarra. The building is so beautiful when you step into the central courtyard with real 5 star decor and design. Fresh rose petals waited on our bed in a lovely room.
But the heart of our delight was with the beautiful family that truly looked after us there. Cooking was the best home cooking I've eaten. Service was warm dignified and genuinely caring.
It was a wonderful experience and a great joy. Very good value for money too !.
Thank you again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishAidenDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#115 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#107 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#69 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#92 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#121 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Property: Dar Rocmarra
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Budget Places, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing