We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Rocmarra to your Saves list
Dar Rocmarra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE airport collection!
Ranked #92 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Not a bad thing to say about our stay! Even before the holiday, the Riad was in touch offering to make arrangements for us to be picked up at the airport and,as we were arriving later on Saturday evening, would be want dinner (with a copy of the menu) - you pre-order so they can get the food in fresh on the day and cook it to order. Everyone at the hotel was very friendly and were patiently answered all our touristy questions (first time in Morocco, so we had plenty).

The hotel organised an excursion out to the Atlas mountains for us, with a good driver who's English was sufficiently good he could cope with my Scottish accent (always a challenge when travelling).

Food is good (breakfast on the roof terrace is a real treat) and just a great all round experience - and the room was great as well - very quiet and a very comfortable bed.

On the map, it looks like the Dar Rocmarra is on the outskirts, but the old city is pretty compact, so its a 10-15 minute stroll to the main square and tourist locations, which is actually very pleasant (especially when you get used to the route!).

Absolutely no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElBas99tardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
And we have absolutely no hesitation to say thank you ,'THANK YOU '
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
103
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We arrived very late at night, but had arranged transfer through the Riad (VERY good idea, as one could never find it on their own). I had requested in advance to have a bottle of wine & a snack when we arrived as we hadn't had dinner. We were very skeptical all the from the airport until we stepped into this oasis. It was late but we were greater warmly with tea & cookie. While we drank our tea hot food was prepared for us. We were lead to our room to drop our things off & then shown to the terrace. All the while following the lead of being quiet as not to disturb others sleeping. Once on the terrace - which was candle lit & just beautiful, think fancy, schmancy - we were brought a chilled bottle of white wine & then our snack. The 'snack' of chicken tagine & white rice was Dlish & such a great way to relax after the trip. We were served breakfast everyday (on the terrace weather permitting) that was very tasty. One night we ate in the hotel & dinner was 2x more than 1 needed, but oh so yummy. Daily we would explore the Medina & come back mid-day to unload. Each time it was such a nice reprieve from the buzz of activity. Matter of fact, we usually took a break & had a cold libation on the terrace before heading back out. Jamilla was ready to answer any questions & offer any help. In the room was our own air-conditioning unit as well as slipper (great for tired feet) & robes. I'm sorry I didn't take any pictures of the terrace, it was quite enchanting. I would highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: Use the staff as a resource - they are happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tourist2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
We 100% agree ! Thank you so much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Just got back today from a three day stay , We were a little worried when we first arrived but once inside Dar Rocmarra , its a different experience .
Jamilla is very helpful ,.and the place is kept lovely and clean .
Even though the roof terrace is up two flights of stairs ,the staff didn't seem to mind going back and forth if you wanted anything, always with a smile !

The only downside is we felt 3 days was a day too long , we were hard pushed to find things to do ,and the begging is a little off putting , a tip would be NEVER ask for directions in the street ,only ask a shop keeper or a policeman , (or you'll be handing more money over)
with hindsight I have to say that we should have gone for a place with a pool, and that was not in the medina..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Thanks for the lovely review of the riad,it's a shame you were not quite so impressed with the medina,though for anyone thinking the same there are some nice retreats easily reached by taxi just outside of the medina such as the Beldi country club for anyone who finds the medina a little too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a truly stunning riad, and we could not have been made to feel more welcome by Jamila.
She and her team (of two!) were very helpful in giving us directions and advice, and the lunch she cooks needs to be tasted to be believed. We stayed in the suite which was nothing short of stunning and the whole place was a perfect oasis of calm amid the bustle and madness of Marrakesh. We stayed for 3 nights and spent one full day in the riad, making use of the roof terrace where loungers and sunhats were available, when we weren't sitting on the shaded couch. Snacks, drinks and ice creams were brought up to us regularly. I can't recommend Dar Rocmarra highly enough if you are looking for a riad experience in this amazing city - you won't find anywhere better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks Kevin, we are all happy that you had such a nice stay with us,much appreciated !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Sadly, we only stayed one night at the Dar Rocmarra, on our way home, but it was such a lovely way to end a wonderful trip. We were greeted so warmly by Jamilla and the biscuits were SO delicious there was almost an unseemly scramble for the last one. I've since tried replicating them at home from an internet recipe, but I don't think I'll ever manage! We had a wonderful big family room, with the children in a space of their own and a big bathroom, down and then up some steps. Really quirky and VERY relaxing and we were looked after so well, even for that short time. It's great to be right in the middle of things and yet it was SO QUIET at night, you could have heard a pin drop. Lovely roof terrace, too. Lovely, lovely, lovely!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you so much,longer next time we hope !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Dar Rocmarra was all we hoped it would be and more. It is much bigger than you would expect from the little side street where it is nestled away, but once you come inside, you are greeted by the lovely Jamilla and her brother Jamil, and you instantly relax. The courtyard is stunning, there are lots of little places to sit and relax and drink tea. And there is a huge roof terrace with beds to relax on, and even sun hats for those hot Moroccan days! The attention to detail is brilliant, and as others have said, it's the people who really make it. Well, and the lovely rooms! Each one has a different theme, and we were lucky enough to stay in two of them. I'd definitely recommend this riad, and look forward to going back soon!

Room Tip: I loved the Berber room, on the ground floor. Gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks Siobhan,nice photos too !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wow! What an amazing place to stay this is. Jamilla, her brother and the lovely lady who keeps the place spotless. What a warm welcome we had from the minute we arrived, from home made biscuits to mint tea. Jamilla got the map out of the city. Even with the map we got lost a few times.

The food was superb we ate in every evening. The fire was lit every night in the court yard, bliss.
Nothing was too much trouble, they made us feel so welcome.

Dar Rocmarra would not be the place it is without the lovely people who run it. Very hard working team
Thank you all so much for an amazing stay, Dawn and Chris Chaloner x

Room Tip: Any room here would be amazing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We totally agree,we are blessed with beautiful staff,thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#34 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#28 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#67 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Property: Dar Rocmarra
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing