We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
Ranked #111 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Wow! What an amazing place to stay this is. Jamilla, her brother and the lovely lady who keeps the place spotless. What a warm welcome we had from the minute we arrived, from home made biscuits to mint tea. Jamilla got the map out of the city. Even with the map we got lost a few times.

The food was superb we ate in every evening. The fire was lit every night in the court yard, bliss.
Nothing was too much trouble, they made us feel so welcome.

Dar Rocmarra would not be the place it is without the lovely people who run it. Very hard working team
Thank you all so much for an amazing stay, Dawn and Chris Chaloner x

Room Tip: Any room here would be amazing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We totally agree,we are blessed with beautiful staff,thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
108
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited Marrakech and stayed at Dar Rocmarra for a few days. Great place. I highly recommend the lamb tajine, wish I knew what the sauce was made of... If i return to marrakech, i will return to Dar Rocmarra. Thanks for a Great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Finn Ansgar H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for a lovely review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had 5 days in this wonderful Riad. Thanks to Jamilla and her stuff !!!
Really nice food and a relaxed flair. We can really recommend this Riad as your relaxing silent base to explore the crazy city of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

One of the most wonderful places we have ever stayed. Total paradise and so relaxing. Such attention to detail and nothing is too much bother. We stayed only two nights - wish we stayed longer. We dined out on the first - recommended restaurant which was nearby and was great then dinner in on the second evening. Was absolutely perfect!! The room, the bath - wow, the courtyard all superb.
Thank you so much, we cannot wait to return.
Take up Jamilla's offer of locating the riad - We didnt and wished we had. It is a bit tricky when you first arrive. We parked the car and a local chap 'delivered' us for a few MAD. As soon as Jamilla had talked us through the map we were fine! Breakfast on the terrace is fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafedesammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
' Somewhere Sammy"! thank you very much,see you soon?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Cabannes
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We chose Dar Rocmarra on the recommendation of the tour company Desert Majesty: it was a good choice. The riad is set in the northern end of the medina, very close to the souk so that we could walk to almost all of the sights of Marrakech. In contrast to the noise and bustle of the medina, Dar Rocmarra is a haven of tranquility. This is further enhanced by the superb service provided by Jamila and her small team. There is almost nothing they have not thought of or cannot do for you. The whole riad is light and airy, clean as a new pin and there is always someone on hand to provide tea! We enjoyed their excellent breakfasts on the roof terrace with views over the rooftops of the medina. And Jamila will provide dinner if you will choose from the menu before you leave in the morning for a day's hard tourism. The only thing I personally found irritating was the noise of the water fountain in the courtyard of the riad, but I soon found out how to turn it off. I noticed that after I had done that a couple of time, Jamila or one of the others turned it off for me - just another example of how they tried to do everything for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Lovely review Bob and thank you,Jamilla is such a perfectionist says she is going to slow the water flow!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Every aspect of our stay at Dar Rocmarra was so perfect I don't know where to start. We chose Dar Rocmarra based on TripAdvisor comments, and we found it even better than we anticipated. The jewel in this crown is Jamilla who manages the riad. She is helpful, knowledgeable, generous with her hospitality, and exceptionally accommodating. I have read much on the tradition of Islamic hospitality, and Jamilla exemplifies the best of the practice. On top of her personal qualities, she is an excellent chef. The best food we ate in Morocco was at Jamilla's table. If you eat nothing else while in this city, treat yourself to her Chicken Pastille.

Dar Rocmarra is beautifully decorated with traditional Moroccan crafts and is spotlessly clean. Beautiful soaps and lotions were provided, as were thick towels and robes, and hot water was plentiful. The bed was first class and fitted with hotel quality linens. Fresh roses were placed in our room while we were out touring the souks. There is a beautiful courtyard where you can sit and listen to birds singing or the water tinkling in the fountain. In the evenings Jalil builds a beautiful crackling fire, and you can sit around the fireplace on velvety Moroccan cushions.

Jamilla arranged a driver from the airport, and he found the riad with ease. It is located at the end of a twisting set of lanes, and could be easily missed without a guide. We thought Dar Rocmarra was easy to find once we were there, and only missed the turn once during a five day stay. We walked to both the Jardin Majorelle and the Saadian Tombs, each about 30 minutes from Dar Rocmarra on foot. The souks, Jamaa El F'na, the bus stop and taxi stands are all a very easy walk. There are at least three stalls located at the entrance to the riad's first of three lanes selling bottled water, soft drinks, and snacks.

If TripAdvisor let me give Dar Rocmarra and Jamilla and Jalil one hundred stars, I would do!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuantonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert D, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you so much, the team at Dar Rocmarra say you were a pleasure to have stay with us !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

This was a great Riad located inside the medina. It was a little hard to find at first, but what in the medina isn't. When we got to the door we weren't sure we were at the right place but once inside wow. Beautiful place great staff and really good location. Walked to all the sites and dinner. Never had to use a cab. Really recommend staying here.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#115 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#81 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#106 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#90 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#159 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#116 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Property: Dar Rocmarra
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#109 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing