We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A home from home amid the mad Moroccan souks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
Ranked #97 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home from home amid the mad Moroccan souks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

There are loads of riads in Marrakech, you are spoilt for choice. The basic format is the same - an old family home based around an open square, converted into guest rooms. However, the outstanding quality of Dar RocMarra staff and the beautiful interior means this is the only riad you should be considering for your trip! Last week was our first visit to this fascinating country which we absolutely loved, but staying at this riad took our holiday from great to totally brilliant.

We arrived - as many tourists do - being tailed by a local who was expecting payment for 'directions' (which we insisted were not required as we had a map and knew where we were going!). To be honest you come to expect this, but we had just travelled in from the mountains so were at least a little savvy, plus I wasn't feeling well and at this moment had had enough! Jamila opened the door with a big smile and helped sort out the misunderstanding. We were so pleasantly surprised on entering the Riad as it is even more beautiful than the photos on here show, with an olive tree in the centre and calming trickle of water into the petal scattered plunge pool. She sat us down with traditional mint tea and Moroccan cookies and gave us a really warm welcome. Our chat included - and why don't more guest house type places do this?! - a fantastic orientation of Marrakech and souks with a map. It included tips on good quality shops, restaurants and hammams - steam baths. If for no other reason, it was worth booking Dar RocMarra for this thoughtful introduction to this frantic city, it made us feel instantly at home and safe. Jamila even gave us a business card with all of their contact details, and wrote in arabic so we could show it to any taxi driver if we got lost, just brilliant.

Our room was a little one on the ground floor, and it was simply stunning. I ended up taking lots of pictures of little details like the gorgeous shutters and Moroccan lamp shades for my photo book. I found that it is this distinctive style that makes Morocco so visually appealing and exotic to me, for us we liked the traditional style, albeit with lovely new furniture and fittings (my husband had been electrocuted from the plug socket at a previous cheap riad - not worth it!). Rose petals were on the bed and bath mat, the whole place felt homely and incredibly special at the same time.

Unfortunately I was not well the first night, but I also found the bed in this room a little firm and uncomfortable, however I must emphasise that I suspect this is because I was unwell or personal preference. We mentioned this to Jamila before we set out into the souks in the afternoon. Upon our return we found that all of our things had been moved to another room for us that had a different style of mattress (which was better for me). We were so touched and pleased by this level of service.

We decided to eat in that evening as we had heard great things about the food at Dar RocMarra and were not disappointed! My husband had a delicious lamb tagine with rice, I enjoyed a simple harira soup to make me feel better, and we finished with tea and pastries. It was perfect and I swear that this simple soup, of vegetables and pulses, helped me to feel better by the next morning.

Breakfast here is also superb, and varied on the different days but included bagette, omlette, fried eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt and pancakes - yummy! It always comes with freshly squeezed orange juice and tea or coffee. I had also asked for a glass of water the previous morning since I was dehydrated, and Jaleel (Jamila's brother) remembered and brought me some that morning too. Little touches like this are what makes the riad so perfect. Another thing, the tea is proper British tea, none of that lipton rubbish AND is thoughtfully given to you as a tea bag and flask of hot water - for those of you who hate teapots going cold as you leisurely sip your tea during your holiday!

In the evenings we enjoyed the lovely seating on the top floor of the riad, it is so atmospheric to look out above the flat roofs of the city and hear the call to prayers starting up from the various minarets dotted around (don't worry it is not too loud it the rooms). We thought we would venture out more but the riad was so wonderful we didn't want to spend our limited time elsewhere for too long! We saw what we wanted, and had great experiences including those steam baths that Jamila recommended and booked on our behalf. On the final evening we sat and played chess with a beer, it was so lovely. Wifi was handy to book on our extra bag to take home all of our goodies from the souks.

This riad is the stunning oasis of calm you will need to tackle those fascinating, but quite tiring souks and pushy market traders! But for all its beauty it is Dar RocMarra's impeccable staff that make this surely one of the best riads in Marrakech, and they are not all the same! We would not consider staying anywhere else when we next return.

Room Tip: Johari room was the second one we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliaf1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imsMahon, Owner at Dar Rocmarra, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you all for the lovely reviews .We have been closed during July for some maintenance work and re-open 1 August, the whole riad fresh and beautiful! We look forward to welcoming all our clients again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
103
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My Wife and I booked Dar Rocmarra after reading the positive trip advisor reviews.
We were not disappointed and in my opinion it more than lives up to the reviews I have read from other visitors.
Jamila, the Manager, greeted us with a big smile and made us feel at home straight away. She welcomed us with mint tea and the most fantastic home made biscuits. 
Our room was spacious and thoughtfully decorated in the local style. The bed was covered with fresh rose petals and very beautiful.  In the bathroom the towels were soft and fluffy,  there were white slippers and good amenities.
We pre-booked dinner for our first night, the wine was excellent, the lamb the best I've tasted and the chocolate mousse was unforgettable!
We had breakfast on the roof terrace....Fresh orange juice, good coffee, pancakes, flat crumpets, crusty fresh bread, fresh fruit, yogurts, eggs, tomatoes, cheese and an assortment of jams- all delicious!!
The Riad is elegant but unpretentious, the music played softly and was very relaxing and calming. There is a small dipping pool with a waterfall in the central hall which adds to the calm ambience.
The service was excellent and we would definitely recommend Dar Rocmarra to our friends.  It was exceptionally clean, the staff were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them. My wife hopes to return soon to continue shopping for lamps, kaftans and spices....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewrichard2452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, bermuda
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first visit to Marrakech and we are so pleased we stayed at the Dar Rocmarra. We were met at the airport by a driver with a comfortable car arranged by the riad. The driver carried our bags and introduced us to the wonderful manageress Jamila. A refreshing mint tea was served while she explained in perfect English where we were and the best places to go. Dar Rocmarra arranged a very interesting trip into the Atlas mountains with a knowledgeable driver/guide.
First night we had a delicious dinner with wine served on the roof top terrace soaking in the atmosphere. Jamila makes a wonderful breakfast too which we had in the pretty courtyard accompanied by the gentle sound of the waterfall. Jamila and her staff are friendly and efficient.
Dar Rocmarra has a great location for exploring the old town and as the taxi rank is very close it's easy to get out to and back from dinner if you can walk no further after a day exploring! When we returned late from dinner Jamila's brother was there to welcome us and offer us drinks. He is there all night incase a guest needs anything just part of the wonderful service.
The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable. I loved all the Moroccan lanterns and other
decorative items but most of all the timeless peacefulness is something very special. I am looking forward to our next visit and if you are looking for a great location, a peaceful atmosphere, with good food and staff this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fionabalearic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Last week we made what was a first visit for me to Marrakech and a second for my girlfriend - and we both agreed that Dar RocMarra was an outstanding place to base ourselves for a couple of days. A tastefully and practically appointed room, breakfast that is almost worth the trip in itself, either courtyard or rooftop peaceful and lovely to sit and the staff, led by Jamila, most friendly and welcoming. It all felt like a bit of a 'discovery' - and by the way (as with any riad in Marrakech, I guess) you should certainly avail yourselves of the riad's offer to organise a driver to pick you up and take you there. The location a little walk away from the main touristic square is, frankly, a mercy - but that, the souks and the medina as a whole are very easy to access on foot and a taxi stand less than a minute away if you want to venture further afield or don't trust your own navigation. All in all, we'd certainly recommend this place to our friends: it's an excellent base from which to secure historic Marrakech: quiet, efficient, comfortable, secure and we felt very well looked after.

Room Tip: We booked through hipmarrakech.com and found the photos realistic and fair. We liked our first floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We went to Marrakesh last week for 4 nights for the first time with my mum and two aunties. We wholly agree with the other great reviews and we could not have asked for more, the location, the decor, the cleanliness, the breakfast and with a little notice dinner is served and there is a lovely warm Moroccan ambience in this Riad.

As soon as we arrived Jamila greeted us sat us down with mint tea and local biscuits and gave us an overview recommended where to go and places for sightseeing and some great tips. I want to thank Jamila the house keeper who is also an amazing cook, also Jalil for all his help and assistance and not forgetting Latifa. All the staff are incredibly helpful and cannot do more for you.

We shared two rooms the Bijou and Douria Suite they were very comfortable and have no complaints. Julie thank you so much for all your assistance with booking the accommodation
Dar Rocmarra is situated in a good location for visiting the souks and other main sites.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and cannot thank the staff enough in making our first time in Marrakesh a good experience. This was a great introduction to Morocco and would definitely go back and stay at the same place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ntrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Morocco for the first time last month and stayed at Dar Rocmarra 5 days. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. It was an oasis of peace after busy days of sight seeing. We were always looking forward to getting back to the riad at the end of each day and have a nice cool beer on the rooftop terrace and of course to Jamila's delicious dinners and then waking up the next day to the yummy breakfasts! Our suite was spacious and elegantly decorated. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom a dream. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed with my friend for 5 days and it was the highlight of Marrakech! so peaceful and lovely after a busy day out in the medina
we really looked forward to our delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning and coming back after a busy day to a homemade Moroccan feast made with love by Jamila, the warm and welcoming house keeper. Jamila and her family run this lovey riad and you feel very looked after and in good hands
I highly recommend this riad for a easy access to everything and tranquil/chic ambience...
will definitely stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#110 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#114 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#69 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.2 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#112 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Property: Dar Rocmarra
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Budget Places, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing