We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Rocmarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Rocmarra
Ranked #93 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Morocco for the first time last month and stayed at Dar Rocmarra 5 days. We couldn't have chosen a more perfect place. It was an oasis of peace after busy days of sight seeing. We were always looking forward to getting back to the riad at the end of each day and have a nice cool beer on the rooftop terrace and of course to Jamila's delicious dinners and then waking up the next day to the yummy breakfasts! Our suite was spacious and elegantly decorated. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom a dream. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuelaB1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
103
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed with my friend for 5 days and it was the highlight of Marrakech! so peaceful and lovely after a busy day out in the medina
we really looked forward to our delicious breakfast on the rooftop terrace every morning and coming back after a busy day to a homemade Moroccan feast made with love by Jamila, the warm and welcoming house keeper. Jamila and her family run this lovey riad and you feel very looked after and in good hands
I highly recommend this riad for a easy access to everything and tranquil/chic ambience...
will definitely stay again

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahón, Islas Baleares, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Dar Rocmarra for Christmas and New year and have just booked to go back in two weeks time. It´s a dream to be there, with such fantastic staff to look after us,we really
did not want to leave !
The rooms are beautiful and the sheets are the best we have ever been accustomed to,lovely soft fluffy towels and sleepers waiting for us and my favourite drink chilled, all make this place very special.
I must mention the bed in the Johara room (so comfortable,that we are now getting the same tempura mattress for our home )
We travel a lot and are very particular about where we stay,,When we found out through friends that had stayed,how great it was, ,we just had to try it. The food is better then ANY restaurant in the medina and Jamila buys daily with such care and it´s just a joy to look forward to her meals at lunch or dinner.
The music in the courtyard is wonderful, we bought the cd to take home,just to relax to.
The location could not be better,near one of the royal residences ,so very respectable and clean and just 7 mins walk to the main square and 2 mins to the souks.
There is wifi througout the riad which was great for me,as I had to catch up on emails on a daily basis.
we asked for the riad driver to pick us up from the airport and was pleasantly surprised to find him waiting for us ,what a nice chap he was too.
This will not be the last time we stay ,as we are going to bring the family and hire the whole place for my brothers birthday.
All I can say is ,"This IS the best " We are so looking forward to going back !!

Room Tip: We loved the Johara room ,because the bed was SO comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 10 friends have just returned from our stay at Dar Rocmarra for my Hen Do and we had the most perfect time! I knew the Riad was beautiful from the photos but I was still overwhelmed when I arrived as the photos, although great, don't do the Riad justice. It is so beautiful and each room has so much character. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Jamila, who is so helpful throughout the whole stay, and some delicious mint tea. We had dinner in on the first night which was cooked by Jamila and her staff and was just delicious!!! Perfect for us as we'd had a long day and didn't fancy going out.

Throughout our time at the Riad we were given the best possible service, taxis arranged, camel treks booked and plenty of wine was supplied!

We all felt very safe here, the Riad is constantly manned, day and night so no matter what time, there was someone there.

The terrace was a perfect place to sit in the sun and relax, also a gorgeous place to sit in the evening whilst enjoying some wine and nibbles :)

One of the lady's that owns the Riad, Helen, made the booking process very easy and provided me with some fantastic tips and advice for our stay in Marrakech.

I shall definitely return to show my husband to be the perfection that is Dar Rocmarra. I want to book my stay and flights already!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed @ Dar Rocmarra a year ago and was so entranced by the place, Jamila`s amazing food , Jaleel`s smiling face and ``nothing too much trouble `` attitude that I couln`t wait to go back.
We returned for 4 days in March and took over the whole Riyad. What an unforgettable experience ! The food was as fabulous as last year, so much so that we had dinner there every night - to quote Paul Newman ``if you have steak at home , why go out for a burger?``
The service, the attention to detail, the decor, the sun roof and those fabulous breakfasts , what is not to love ? (dont be put off by the walk down the derb, it is worth the wait)
Jamila and Jaleel are a delight , friendly, helpful and most welcoming and never tired of us talking , drinking copious amounts of wine and keeping them up into the small hours as we put the world to rights over the courtyard dinner table or on the terrace under the stars.
It is a true oasis , as memorable as any 5 star hotel - can`t wait to return !

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful and unique. The bathrooms are sublime and wanted to take everything h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 61ChrisM61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Dar Rocmarra for 3 nights. We were not sure if staying in a riad would have been a Suitable option for us but soon found it was the perfect place to stay. It is definitely a calm away from the hustle and bustle of Medina. We were given 5 star treatment as soon as we got to Riad. The service and advice we received from jamila and her team was extremely helpful. The breakfast each day was varied and very good we truly felt spoilt. The riad is easy to find and immaculate past reviews are a true reflection - the beds are super comfortable. Outside of the riad, you soon get used to the darting mopeds, donkey and horse carriages all sharing the same street! All in all I would most definitely recommend dar rocmarra for a visit to the wonderful city of Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arts_and_Khils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed in Dar Rocmarra for five days in February and enjoyed it immensely. The attention to detail in the rooms was as good, if not better than a luxury 5 star hotel. You are treated so well, you do not want to leave the Riyad, so I stayed and enjoyed the home cooking and good wine! Only when you go out into the madness of Marrakech, do you appreciate the tranquility of this superb Riyad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnemahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#52 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#97 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Rocmarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Rocmarra

Property: Dar Rocmarra
Address: Derb el Halfaoui, 29, Bab Doukkala | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Rocmarra 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Dar Rocmarra takes you away from the bustling alleyways and street markets that surround, and is located in one of the most prestigious neighbourhoods in the Medina, a world of historic beauty, simplicity and tranquillity. The riad is noted for it's excellent food and is conveniently situated near the Dar el Bacha taxi drop off point, and the Dar Moha / Dar Marjana restaurants, and only minutes from the Souks and the Jemaa el Fna square.Airport collection,Desert trips and excursions can all be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Rocmarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Rocmarra Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing