We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely riad great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Mansoura
Ranked #382 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely riad great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2010

The Riad is in the Jewish area of the old town, initially quite daunting when trying to find it, however once through the doors it is completely calm and felt very safe. Marrakech is incredibly busy and quite dirty in places but has a lot of charm and character, don’t expect luxury, the towels were not changed throughout the stay but I am sure if requested would not be a problem, one member in staff in particular provided an outstanding service Yahya, was happy to assist in finding areas in Marrakech to visit, arrange trips and run errands without demanding payment. He cooked us a lovely meal and breakfast was served pretty much any time requested. The rooms are well presented and felt authentically Moroccan, I would highly recommend the riad to people who want to get a real taste of Marrakech, it is modestly priced and to a very high standard relative to Marrakech. If visiting again would definitely consider staying at this riad again. Yahya was a wonderful host and couldn’t be faulted on his service and care taken making sure all guests were happy and catered for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_elle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    38
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
46
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

Riad al Mansoura is the best choice for great location and atmosphere. The service was more that we were expecting, They surely make us feel at home, They helped us all the way making sure we were being treated nicely every where we wanted to go.

It's more than just a hotel, it became like a home where we were happy to come back to, the evenings at the riad were fantastic to chill out enjoying Yahya's music (a team member). Which he became a good friend we will never forget... He also prepare a tajine for us, which I think was the best!

I can't wait to came back...

Thank you all so much for making us feel so special.

Paulina

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luly86da
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissEMissE,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We had a lovely time in Marrakesh and a relaxing stay at this hotel.
The Cream room was nice- good air con and good bathroom -might have been useful to have some kind of shower curtin as the shower head did have a mind of its own!

Breakfast was different types of bread with jam and marmalade but when I asked about fruit - Yaya did get a lovely melon for me.

My partner was ill on our last day and Aziz was fantastic! he got us a doctor and made sure we were ok and nothing was a problem.

Highly recomend his taxi driver friend for a airport pick up and also if you want to go anywhere - he did our transfer to Agadir which was great.

Overall a really good stay and I would recomend this hotel to most people!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissEMissE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with mint tea and entered in to a very pretty riad. However, soon the troubles started... Firstly, the manager informed us we would have to pay in either euros or pounds but we changed our currency to dirhams at the airport so this was a problem. When we asked if we could use a card to pay he replied saying 'I prefer cash'... this was a bit rich considering it stated on the website you could pay by card.

Secondly, we were given the wrong room. The 'Ore' (orange) room was not as nice as the Rouge (red) room which I paid for on the website. It also had bugs on the sheets which was very unpleasant! Whilst it is only a little more expensive, I still felt I was cheated being given the wrong room. After complaining, they informed us 'it was the same really' but regardless, we would be given the Rouge room tomorrow.

The rouge room was very pretty. It was on the terrace and it had a bidet and was more spacious. Only downside of that room is that the showers take longer to warm up. There is also a very low wifi signal but this may have just been because we were using our Blackberrys.

The breakfast was the same every day we were there (we stayed for 4 nights) assorted breads, orange juice and jam, marmalade and butter. We would have preferred some variety and it wasn't cooked fresh but it was enough to keep us going throughout the day. Keep in mind THERE IS NO POOL. There is a very small and shallow water thing with a water fountain but this looks like decoration and it would feel very stupid going for a swim in.

We found Yaya to be very nice. He went out of his way to help us find a shisha/hookah place (be warned, Marrakech isn't as keen on shisha as other countries) and he helped us organize taxis to Gueliz.

Marrakech itself was an interesting country but the people seem to dislike tourists. Particularity if you're from England. We were lucky as my boyfriend spoke French and people thought I was Moroccan so we didn't get disgustingly ripped off. The men are also VERY leachy so be careful with what you wear. The location of the riad is decent but it is easy to get lost and spend hours looking for the souks or your hotel. There is also a lot of beggars near the riad so be careful with your bags.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenerally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Myself and my two friends found this hotel to be very warm and welcoming, a real haven in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We found the Riad to be in walking distance of pretty much everything we wanted to see in Marrakech, and more importantly for me (I have no sense of direction) it was really easy to find, even though it was hidden away. To my friends delight they also had WIFI (though slightly sporadic, but when you're on holiday do you really need to be glued to the internet?). The rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels and if you ever needed more they were more than happy to provide.

Aziz (the manager) was always smiling and nothing was ever too much trouble for him. If you wanted, Aziz could arrange trips for you, sometimes taking you himself to show you a bit of the real Morocco. Though there was never any pressure to do this with him, as we also hired a private guide to see the sights through someone elses eyes too. When we did take a trip with Aziz we found him to be delightful company, giving you space to be on your own, or acting as guide. The staff themselves wouldnt have been out of place in an English 5*. As with Aziz, they were always ready to provide whatever you wanted with a smile, speaking a selection of languages (far more perfectly than I speak French) and somebody would always help you find what you wanted.

Having not stayed in Morocco before I have no idea if this is the kind of service that is provided in all Riads or if it is special to Riad Al Mansoura, but when I go again (which I will as there is always more to see) I know I won't be staying anywhere else. I cannot recommend this Riad enough if you want to be treated like royalty without having to blow your whole holiday budget on you accomodation alone. As with all Riads / Hotels in Morocco, there is a goverment set tax that has to be paid (it is set by the government and not the Riad) but at only 1 euro a day it isnt much.

The only tip I would give anyone who isnt used to the amount of people begging money is avoid those that chase you for cash as they hand their money over to their big boss at the end of the day. Instead, look out for the people that the shops, cafes etc give food to ,or to the old men and women who are still working past 70 ish. These don't ask for money but gratefully receive it (a tip our guide gave us as a way for him to decide who to give his change to). When we did give money we also found ways to give it as subtly so as not to be descended on by everyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flossytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

I stayed at this riad for 7 days an all i can say is excellent the staff are very helpful, the place is beautiful and very clean, what i love is you feel like your in Morocco with the style it has been decorated and the markets are just outside...amazining place to stay if you like to relax...tthe roof is amazing for sunbathing and great views of the city ***** its like a five star villa...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyC095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen Wales
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

We stayed for 2 weeks in the riad, and found it clean and peaceful, with lovely staff - they were more like a family than employees. The riad is fairly well situated in the old jewish quarter of the medina, and is only a couple of minutes walk away from both palaces and the main square. It would be a good idea to get a taxi or arrange a pick up with the riad owner when first arriving, otherwise I doubt you'd find it, as it's situated in a warren of small streets that criss-cross the Mellah quarter. The riad's food is home-cooked, and very good, and the rooms are nice. Best point has to be the sun terrace where you can sit in full sun and look at the Atlas mountains covered in snow. The city roofscape is pretty interesting - a mixture of mosque towers with storks' nests perched on top, riad roof gardens, and a jumble of washing and carpets hung out to dry. Oh, and loads of satellite dishes!! You can book trips to the Sahara/ Essaouira etc through the riad, but I'd advise shopping around for prices, as you'll probably find cheaper from the tour operators' stalls in the street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonja2362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#71 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#156 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#30 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#109 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Schanez
Riad Schanez
#805 of 1,130 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#505 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Property: Riad Al Mansoura
Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #382 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Mansoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing