We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent retreat in Marrakech.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mansoura

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Mansoura
Ranked #361 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
South England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent retreat in Marrakech.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travelled to Marrakech in April 2012 and really loved this place. It's rustic, charming and very peaceful so was great to come back to after a busy day in the medina. We were greeted by Aziz the owner and Zakia who looked after us very well. We were the only people staying there and having been given a key, it felt like our own Riad in the city. Breakfast is immense and we were served fresh, traditional morrocan food. Zakia certainly made sure we wouldn't go hungry! They were extremely friendly and we are only sorry our french wasn't up to scratch.

The riad is down one of the alleys but is only just off the main street, seemed a little daunting at first but if you greet the locals with a friendly smile and a "hello" you are welcomed. The location was perfect and we were able to walk to all the sites in the Medina, particularly the square and the souks.

The rooms are traditionally styled and the whole building is beautiful, unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there so we couldn't fully enjoy the roof terrace.

We had an amazing stay and would definitely stay in Riad Al Mansoura if we came back to Marrakech. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: All rooms are quite and peaceful..... we just went for the cheapest which was perfect!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandESouthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    37
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
9
46
28
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

It is my first time in Marrakech, at the moment I am still residing at Riad Al Mansoura but I could not wait to write a review because I simply love the Place and the hosts . Mr Aziz is so helpful and the cook Zakia is not only the best cook here in town, she is simply adorable..The location is quite central, in a small narrow corner of the Madina but seems perfecty safe and easy to get to once you get the hang of the Madina ! I am in the Yellow room, simple but clean, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is very very rustic..this is a good place to stay in as a lonely female travler I could have not come across anything better !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlinmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozuelo de Alarcon, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

The location is kind of weird very close to Bahia Palace and in front of the Sinagogue , the street looks kind of scarry the fisrt time ;-) but in our experience is perfectlly safe , the hotel is very clean and well kept ( no noises from the outside), the rooms are comfortable , but the strong point is their service , the guy in charge ( Aziz) is quite nice it is very helpful and tries to make the best of your stay in Marrakech , the cook is very good ( the breakfast is great nad we had dinner there and was a good experience) and the other lady was very nice as well. The service is great and you do not even know they are there . I will go to this riad the next time I go to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mithritate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

DO NOT GO! We were shown to a tiny little room (without even a window) we had been expecting a balcony! The sheet on the bed had a huge rip in it straight on to the mattress which was filthy. The towels were literaly worn out, with holes in them and rough. Our main gripe is that it was very unwelcoming, freezing cold, with no heating. We had paid for half board which obviously came as a shock to the girl to had given us a mint tea on arrival. She said that this would be fine though. However, no food ever materialised. No chef ever materialised. The place was in darkness and freezing cold. We left to find somewhere else to eat and had a nice meal out. When we returned we realised we were the only people staying there, not even the owner showed up. Bearing in mind this Riad was down a filthy dark and long alleyway we felt vulnerable and frightened, not knowing who else may have a key to our room.
We left the next evening, we couldnt officially check out, as again, there was not a sole there.
We have travelled to many differerent countries, including the far east and India and China but have never come across such a terrible, unwelcoming, scary place.
The last reviwer says they were a group of 4 during the time we were there. There were certainly no other guests whilst we were there - beware!
We agree with a previous reviewer that the place looks abandoned and is nothing like the photos. A warm welcoming Morrocan experience it is not.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallydor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This place looks abandoned and already shows signs of deterioration that are not visible in the website photographs. The employees are almost never there. Overnight, guests are left by themselves because there's no one present in the establisment. You need to ask them to change the towels or sheets and they never clean the room. The breakfast is poor and it is always the same. Many times you need to ask them to switch on the hot water. In the common area the air conditioner and television do not work. At night the whole place looks like a fridge, even in the rooms. Altough is just 10 minutes walk from the center, it is located in a filthy alley. The staff is friendly but certainly I do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventure65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

the location of the riad is central to all the attractions in marrakech within walking distance. The riad itself is a home away from home so cosy and above all the ambience of the place is in keeping with the warm embracing morrocan culture. All our needs were seen to and the hospitality was first class along with the quisine. If its your first time dont worry just get here and you will be looked after from food to shopping to sightseeing. My wife and I would definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level Contributor
399 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in early March 2011. The Riad is down a long narrow alley and is very close to the Synagogue. The main square is about a 10-15 amble away and there are some good bars and restaurants nearby. The Tanjia food was particulary good.

The Riad Al Mansoura is best described as a typical traditional Moroccan Riad. If you expect this to be 4 star luxury then think again and stay elsewhere. if you want to experience real marrakech then I would recommend staying at this Riad. The staff are just so helpful. The manager Aziz has been previously described as a "gangster". How ridiculous! Aziz was always the perfect gent and very helpful at all times. His sidekick is Yahya. He makes your stay so pleasurable and is a credit to the Riad.

Breakfast is basic but it does the job. The coffee is so strong it certainly wakes you up.

On a seperate note, dont expect Marrakech to be cheap because its in North Africa, its anything but. On average you can pay between £3 and £6 for a small bottle of beer and about £15 for wine. Food is okay and again expect to pay at least £10 a head eating street food in the main square. Just remember not to look at anybody because there hand will be extended whilst expecting some money!!

Would I go to Marrakech again? Probably not as Im in the been there done that school!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#33 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#313 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#110 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#224 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar 73
Dar 73
#119 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Hcekarram
Riad Hcekarram
#364 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mansoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mansoura

Property: Riad Al Mansoura
Address: Hay Essalam Derb Manchoura 11, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Al Mansoura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Al Mansoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Mansoura Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing