We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Samos, Greece
Level Contributor
77 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

was here just for the bussınes.food delıcious.realy loved .moroocon food realy nıce.servıce was good.werry frıendly.hıgly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ayasofya293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    92
    16
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
79 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“"Not just an amazing dinner, but a true Moroccan experience"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I usually don't write reviews about meals alone, I much prefer to write about accommodations, but I enjoyed the meal at Riad kniza so much, I decided to make an exception. We read about the food at riad kniza on tripadvisior, and at the time of our visit to Marrakech, it was the number 1 rated Moroccan food in Marrakech. We were staying at a neighboring riad in the neighborhood of Bab Doukkala, and we had our host at our riad book for us at riad kniza for dinner. We were so glad we did.

I will be the first to admit that the riad might be a bit hard to find if you are not staying in the neighborhood, as the streets are notoriously confusing in the medina. We found it quite charming to be in a residential neighborhood, but at night it is a bit intimidating on your own--no cars allowed on the small streets, so you must have a guide. A member of the staff from our riad (which out of respect for our riad I won't mention, except to say that it was exceptional as well) walked us to the Riad kniza and we were warmly welcomed by the staff there. We were instantly struck by the sweet fragrance of jasmine--how I wish my home could smell that good! We were taken on a small tour of the gorgeous riad, which has belonged to the family for literally centuries, but recently underwent a beautiful restoration, preserving the old charm. We were shown pictures of all of the celebrities who had been there, then taken to a private room just for the two of us to have dinner, and the table was covered with rose petals. We've heard the view on the rooftop terrace is fantastic, but given the heat, it was nice to sit in an airconditioned room.

We were each given a delicious appetizer which was a pastry with chicken and sprinkled with cinnamon--it sounds like it shouldn't work, but it was incredible. We were then served no fewer than 8 meze--carrots, potatoes, fava beans, beets, eggplant salad, squash, turnips and several assorted fried pastry appetizers--much like samosas. The carrots I will dream about--seriously, I never knew carrots could be so flavorful. They very graciously offered us more of whatever we wanted. We then got our main meals, we had pre-ordered lamb tajine and lamb couscous (they have you pre-order, because they take all day to prepare). They were fantastic--my only regret is that we didn't leave enough room after all of the mezze. The dessert was good, served with obligatory (and delicious) mint tea, but by this time we had stuffed ourselves so much, we didn't have much room. To drink, we had a bottle of moroccan rose, which was surprisingly good.

Given the feast, we expected a huge tab, but were surprised that the total came to just over 100 Euro! I would highly recommend this experience to anyone who wants to know more about Moroccan culture. Much has been said that you learn about cultures through dining and cuisine and I feel that this was especially true in this case. It felt as though we had been invited to dine at a wealthy Moroccan friend's house, who spared no expense to impress his guests. I am so glad we chose to eat here over one of the larger Moroccan restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelrabbit2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Riad Kniza over my birthday and my fiance asked the Riad to set up a special dinner for me. They did not disappoint! They set up a beautiful table on the roof and made sure there were no other tables seated around us. The first course was HUGE, the bastillas were amazing and the dips were truly delicious. For the second course I had the chicken and my fiance had the lamb, both of which were great. The Riad also brought out a huge chocolate cake and candle. Great service, attention to detail, and great food!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful elegance and charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here on the first and last night of a quick Moroccan tour in which the hotel arranged for a two night desert trip. We were amazed by the opulence and luxury of the Royal Bahia suite, enjoyed our city tour and cooking classes and hamam sessions and feasted on an incredible multi-course meal. The small dining rooms and pool area as well as the roof deck are all stunning and the staff is incredible.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“top marks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

food, service, riad, everything perfect. we were staying at the riad and the food there was among the best we tasted in Marrakech. the surroundings were without question the best

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eskillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing