We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect pre-wedding dinner....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 768 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $73
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rocklin, CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-wedding dinner....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

There could not be a more perfect venue than Riad Kniza for any occasion. Ours happened to be the introduction of the bride's Moroccan and French family to the groom's American family. The evening began with refreshments on the roof-top terrace with views of the entire city of Marrakech, downstairs the dining room seated our party easily and felt like a beautiful private home. The food was Moroccan at its very best - beautifully presented, amazing flavors - and the service was extraordinary. It's difficult to find enough superlatives to adequately describe our evening. At evening's end some of us were confused as to how to return to our own riads in different areas of the medina - the Riad Kniza owner had his personal driver take us from Bab Doukkala to Bab Ksour. That courtesy and concern for our comfort exemplifies Riad Kniza's approach to serving their clientele. Cannot wait to return to Marrakech just to stay at Riad Kniza and enjoy more of their wonderful hospitality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeniorsTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    92
    16
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Go hungry as the food is lovely and it would be a shame to leave a morsel.
All the staff made us feel welcome.
Our waiter was informative about the food. He was attentive but not intrusive.
The Morrocan red was fine ( there is no list, a choice of colour is offered)
We came away feeling VERY full , still tasting the flavours and talking about the ambience

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Morocco at it's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

My Tunisian and I visited Kniza Riad after reading a few reviews on TA. We both haf a fabulous evening. If you happen to be in Marrakech do not give this place a miss. Food was excellent, service was fabulous, not too intrusive. We where made to feel very special and welcome. This is true moroccan dining at its best. The Riad is owned and run by a Moroccan family. Their charming son spoke perfect English and was kind enough to give us a tour of the Riad even thought we where not staying guests. We shall return and next time not just for dinner but to stay over too. After all a place that's been visited by President Regan and Brad Pit can't be all that bad ;) Thank you for a membrobal evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RashidaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and service. Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had dinner here on our first night in Marrakech. You have to have a build an appetite to enjoy this 5 course meal. From the soup to the salad and the tagine, the food was superbly prepared and tasted delicious. The staff were discreet and served well. Atmosphere was great . A great way to start our trip

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanjpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would definitely go again- Great food! Great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I chose to visit this restaurant with my husband after reading some of the reviews on trip advisor and was definitely not disappointed. This is a family owned restaurant and could tell straight away how proud this family was of their business as they were working extremely hard all night to ensure each table was getting the best service possible. I don't think my glass was ever empty as the waiters were constantly coming round and refilling.

What can I say about the food? AMAZING......the portions were generous and the food was full of flavour. There were 5 courses in total so you need to pace yourself but each dish was timed perfectly giving us enough time to enjoy each one before the next.

When you enter the restaurant there is a little display dedicated to the stars who have eaten at the restaurant such as bill gates and will smith. I can see wh yet his restaurant would attract such names as it was such a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Froso22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing