We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Moroccan joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 762 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Moroccan joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

had dinner here and from the beginning to the end was it a joy!
The staff were so welcoming and the service excellent. The surroundings are amazing. Richly decorated rooms, but with only a few tables not too busy. the tables are strewn with rose petals.
the food was excellent. you can choose your main course.
excellent place to go for a special romantic meal but also just to enjoy good quality Moroccan food. It is more expensive than some places but about 45 euros per person. If you want cheap, eat in the market square, otherwise just sink into the plush cushions and enjoy.
The owner wlaked round to ask if everything was okay.
The general location is not that hard to find an is walkable from the Medina. It is down a very small alley and the board by the door is so small that you will miss it! as you walk down the alley (which does have a street name sign) the doorway is on the left side just round the first corner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nandgNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    92
    16
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at this riad, so if you read my review of that, you will have read about the food. If you don't stay here, then treat yourself to lunch (or dinner) on the open air roof top. You will not be disappointed. You can even take a cooking class here and go to the local markets to buy your ingredients, then come back and prepare them under the watchful eye of the chef.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Outstanding quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I nearly didn't want to go anywhere else, after our first meal in Marrakech at the Riad Kniza restaurant. We did return for our last night as well, which seemed fitting. The food is of such outstanding quality that it's difficult to describe. The quantity is also insane...almost too much but we weren't going to complain! It's pricier than many other Marrakech restaurants, but worth twice of what we paid. It's a don't-miss place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KAE4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Marrakech Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Food was interesting and great. Food was authentic. Staff was very accommodating. We had breakfast daily during our stay of 4 nights.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal in fantastic surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the restaurant for my husband's 30th birthday. The hotel staff were fantastic and came to meet us at our taxi to personally walk us to the riad.

The food was delicious! Many courses and a real taste of Morrocco. We were just disappointed we couldn't finish it all!

The interior of the riad was beautiful and the restaurant felt cosy and intimate whilst still comfortable.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alexnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing