We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Intimate and special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kniza Restaurant

Riad Kniza Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 790 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $70
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Intimate and special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate at the Riad on our first night in Marrakech - it was a pretty cold and rainy evening so it was lovely to be shown into a small, cosy and intimate room with a roaring fire. We were residents so may have had a slightly different menu to other diners, but we had a delicious selection of starters, followed by a tagine and a lovely crispy "pastila" dessert. Great service, cosy ambience and a special Riad.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellsterism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    94
    16
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So tasty and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We ate every evening there. It always was tasty and very special. I normally never eat in the hotel where I stay but I felt this is the best you can get in the Medina. We loved the privacy at the fireplace.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alandauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very disappointed !!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The restaurant asked me to choose in the morning between tajine chicken lemon & olives or tajine lamb with apricot/prune or tajine fish & vegetables that means ONE SINGLE course menu ! (no opportunity to taste a couscous for instance or any other maroccan specialities)
We got 5 different plates : a soup (good) , a pastilla (too dry), the main plate (chicken : very disappointing because the meat was very dry, too little sauce and no couscous served with), 6 vegetables accommodations (not very interesting taste) and a dessert "brick with cream" (no big deal)
I must confess that my 2 daughters tasted the lamb and it was good even if my remarks concerning the sauce and the absence of couscous are still worth
So I would say that for the price we paid (50 Euros each) I will definitely not recommend this restaurant.
Nevertheless, the Riad is gorgeous, the dinning room is very nice with a fireplace, the service is professional. The owner's son welcomed us showing us the nice pictures of Bill Gates and Brad Pitt who visited the Riad but he disappeared then and did not come back. The owner joined us at the end of the dinner and was very charming.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andreaparis27122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step from one world to another”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a superbly appointed and sumptuous Riad just a step away from an intense Marrakech market street. We had dinner there in a dining room with three other couples at generous tables and served with accurate attention an excellent dinner. It is a must go location for dinner, if you cant afford to be resident. The Derb (alley) that the riad is in is off the south side of rue Bab Doukkala and not (as Google maps would suggest) off Rue El Gza.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were enthralled by Riad Kniza's restaurant! The service was smiling and attentive from beginning to end! The problem is everything is so great! You must pace your dinner so you can enjoy everything! Many dine here though staying at other riads and hotels and I understand why! The food and the amazing decor of Riad Kniza transport you to an unforgettable exotic place! Loved it! Very romantic!

Helpful?
Thank DenverD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Kniza Restaurant also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Kniza Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing