We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Coziest Spot in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe du Livre

Cafe du Livre
Ranked #161 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Coziest Spot in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I first visited Cafe du Livre a couple of weeks ago and I am well on my way to becoming a regular. The drinks are very reasonably priced and the food is even more so when the quality and portion sizes are taken into account. Add to that a very comfortable and cozy atmosphere and you get the must-visit bar and cafe that is Cafe du Livre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    48
    16
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Come here on Friday or Saturday for easy chats and love music. Or Monday with an actual pub quiz. A nice break from traditional places, with both locals and expats around.
Good food, good drinks, excellent company.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morocco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great Hang out with Fabulous Cocktails, Drinks & Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I come here most Mondays for the Quiz Night, its great fun. Liz (the owner) all ways has a special or two on the blackboard to go along with an international offering on the a la carte menu.

The prices are not inflated (unlike many restaurants in Marrakech) and they have nice cold beer on tap served in proper pint jugs, Nice!

The food is great, I want to give a special mention to the Buffalo Wings, the Mexican Chili and Chocolate and Orange Tart, also the Amaretto Sour Cocktails are really good.

Quiz nights are now none smoking which is fantastic because most places in Morocco don't offer a none smoking policy.

So if your in the mood for good night out with great food and cocktails with like minded people in a friendly neighbor hood restaurant, check out the Café du Livre.

See you there!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrGourmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I spent a month in Marrakech and would come here almost everyday. I love their menu -no tajines here, but excellent sandwiches and cheeseburgers, pastas, chili and AMAZING fresh salads, which you can't seem to get anywhere in Marrakech. Their tapas are also delicious. Their prices are very reasonable for the quality and large portions. They have an excellent happy hour (as cheap as scary dive bars in Marrakech and half the price of some other local places.) They make great cocktails! (Try the Earl Grey Martini -delicious!) The staff are friendly and helpful (they answered all my questions about how to get places or where to go for something in particular). They also have a couple Scrabble boards and chess and a cool puzzle game I've never seen before. I will miss this place since coming home!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Cool hangout with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My friends and I visited the cafe on a Friday night recently and had a great time! We had dinner but stayed well into the night because of the live music and an excellent happy hour.
I had an amazing smoked salmon plate that was very generous and delicious. My partner had the chili, which he raved about so much I stole a bite. It's one of the best chilies I've every had! It had lots of spice but wasn't spicy, really yummy. Our friends had a burger and pasta dish and they both really liked theirs as well.
The cafe had live music, a man playing acoustic guitar. The owner said the musician was new and asked our opinion, which was nice. He was good and we sang along with him, which was a lot of fun.
We would happily come back to this cafe again, especially for the chili!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoeKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe du Livre also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe du Livre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing