We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, clean and welcoming Riad”
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Alwachma
Ranked #73 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here at the beginning of March 2014 for 4 nights. The Riad is beautiful with a wonderful courtyard containing a water feature. The rooms are all lovely and so clean. We stayed in the room called Chebba and it was lovely and the bed was so comfortable a real home from home. The bathroom had a shower, again really clean and well maintained.
The staff and the owners were also great, nothing was too much trouble and they were friendly and efficient.
We were made to feel so welcome and I would recommend the dinner, we prebooked for the night we arrived and the food was amazing and such good value for money. Breakfast on the roof terrace was something different every day and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The photos on the website make the rooms look smaller than they are, they are generous and well furn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SamEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalwachma, Gérant at Riad Alwachma, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Sam,
Tout le plaisir était pour nous revenez quand vous voulez,merci pour ce message.
Cordialement Jérôme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 437 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

A fantastic gem. The staff here are so welcoming and make you feel relaxed. They are full of good advice and nothing is too much trouble. The Riad is very comfortable and the meal we had on our first night was thoroughly enjoyable. It is an easy 10 minute walk into the main square with all it's restaurants and markets. I would recommend the airport transfer as it could be hard to find without knowing where you are going. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalwachma, Gérant at Riad Alwachma, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014
Google Translation

Bonjour Karin,
Merci pour ce message et votre conseil pour la navette,effectivement arriver dans une ville que l'on ne connait pas est pas facile et d'autant plus a Marrakech même si le riad est trés bien placé avec son acces voiture.
Cordialement Jérôme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed at this charming traditional riad at the end of February. The staff were soo helpful and friendly. They provided a great service to make our stay memorable. They were very accommodating, even when I emailed with questions/requests in advance. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely and had a variety every day. My friend had a hammam and massage at the riad and said it was one of the best she had and was incredibly relaxing. The riad is in a good location to get around marrakech, and excellent value for money. Had no problems with the wifi in the room, connection was amazing. Stayed on a room on the ground floor, which means you can hear a few comings and goings but nothing that lasted too long and not too late either.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatnickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at this lovely riad as part of a week in Morocco. Really friendly helpful staff provide great service. When we arrived we were offered mint tea on the roof terrace and talked through a map of marrakech - with the route to the main square highlighted and a chat about places to see etc. Beautiful courtyard and nicely decorated rooms (we were in Farida) with comfortable beds, large shower area/bathroom - more a wet room, and heater, which was nice as it's cool at night in Feb. Had a hammam/massage on site which was wonderfully relaxing. Easy to walk into main square - 10 mins max, so good location too. Really can't fault it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walnutgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I can't fault the Riad Alwachma. Truly an oasis in the centre of the crazy city of Marrakech. The staff are wonderfully helpful, the room was SO comfortable and it just felt like a home-from-home. If I ever came back to Marrakech again (although I would be more likely to stay in the lovely little town of Essaouira) I would stay no-where else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva_2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Loved this Riad - we stayed here for only one night (due to availibilty, our own fault for not booking ahead of time) on our first night in Marrakech. We were welcomed with mint tea and yummy cookies by Driss - great service. The owners are a charming young french couple. It was an ideal location with nice amenities. I wish we could have stayed longer..... we took the recommendation of the owners to stay at another Riad close by for the remaining two nights of our trip because they were fully booked. (This one not so nice....) I would definately stay at Alwachma again :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyecala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Lovely room, lovely place, lovely food, lovely people. We had a superb dinner in front of a real fire - hard to beat anywhere. Attention to detail excellent - the owners are hands-on and it shows. If it's in your price range, stay here. Note that it isn't deep 'inside' the souks like many riads but a few minutes walk - which means you can get there by car. We were on the 'street' or alley side, above the entrance, so there was a bit of noise (mainly when people knocked to come in!) but absolutely no complaints - we really, really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plenipotentiary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#58 of 1,170 in Marrakech
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,170 in Marrakech
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bindoo
Riad Bindoo
#59 of 1,170 in Marrakech
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Alnadine
Riad Alnadine
#4 of 1,170 in Marrakech
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#49 of 1,170 in Marrakech
382 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#120 of 1,170 in Marrakech
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Alwachma 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing