We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Prefect for Marrakech great location from centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Alwachma
Ranked #46 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Prefect for Marrakech great location from centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in August 2013 and we couldn't be happier the staff were great we asked them numerous questions and each time they answered and the location is 10 min walk from the centre of the market and the raid was so traditional and relaxing world recommend to anyone..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    66
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
56
212
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Nice riad in Marrakesh Medina but nothing special. Quiter area but close to Djemaa el-fna with free parking in the nearby. The room was clean and confortable with air conditioned. Good breakfasts in beautiful moroccan courtyards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newsgrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at riad alwachma as a couple in the first week of July for a few days of experiencing the city before we went off to a large hotel complex outside the city. Riad alwachma was the perfect choice of riad as it is close to the road so easy to get a taxi but we heard no traffic noise whilst there. We had the chance to stay in two rooms, both were lovely although we found the larger room too be a little too warm and quite dark. The first night we dined at the riad and it was probably the best meal we had in Marrakech. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. We would definitely love to stay again on a future trip to Marrakech.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I highly suggest anyone going to Marrakech to stay at this riad. I've never had better service. The staff were very welcoming and were always there to help you. The room was small but clean and cozy (Chebba). The dinner they served to us was very good. Always freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast. The location was perfect. It was about 10 min walk to Jemaa el-Fnaa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melrose9099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This riad is perfect. It is beautiful and relaxing, a great escape from the hustle and bustle.
We ate at the riad on our first night, it was lovely, great first morrocan meal and introduction to marrakech. The riad is a short walk to the main square (approx 5-10 mins) and very easy to find.
The room (amal) was perfect. Great size and nice and cool despite the heat outside.
Breakfast varied slightly each day and set us up well for the day.
The staff at this riad are very friendly and attentive, they made us feel right at home.
If i was going back to marrakech i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbourko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've stayed in Marrakech many times and had the chance to try many riads and other larger hotels in the "Hivernage" and "Palmeraie" areas. Our conclusion is that Riad Alwachma probably offers one of the best value for money in Marrakech and it has become our home whenever we visit the city. The riad offers the traditional Moroccan architecture and deco which visitors typically want to experience in Marrakech. The rooms are large enough, clean and comfortable. You can rest on the quiet terrace and benefit from a view of the Koutoubia minaret. The owners and the staff are very nice, welcoming and helpful. But the biggest appeal of riad Alwachma in our opinion is its location, just a few minutes walk away from the main tourist attractions such as the Place Jemaa el Fnaa and the souks, yet very easy to find (next to Maison Arabe which most taxi drivers know) since it is located on the edge of the madina. You don't have to get lost in the narrow streets of the madinah and deal with touts to go back to your room after a late dinner, which is a luxury compared to most other riads, especially for first time visitors (but also for people who know Marrakech well). Finally, it's really easy to park safely a few minutes away form the riad, which is not so common in Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurelien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Did a tour through this riad today to the high Atlas Mountains and were bone tired after the trip. Luckily we're booked in for a Hammam which is what I want to review here. Walked in with the bathrobes provided. A woman took our robes and we were left in our underwear. She started with my wife. Was a massage and an exfoliation of the skin and cleansing. It was a fantastic experience. After about 1hr we moved into the massage room were waiting for us. Best massage I've ever had. We paid 100 euro and were so happy we paid another 20 MAD to each of the women. Were told it would take 1hr 45 mins but were there for over 2 hrs. We both felt wonderful afterwards.

Helpful?
Thank Frank1958490907
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#33 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#56 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#18 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
10.5 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#57 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Property: Riad Alwachma
Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing