We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming place, great rooms, very friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Alwachma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Alwachma
Ranked #43 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charming place, great rooms, very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a really nice little Riad in a great location in the medina. After a day out seeing the city, the pretty interior courtyard and friendly staff make you feel like you're coming home. The rooms are very well decorated, and also comfy and spacious, with lovely bathrooms. We ate dinner twice in the dining room. You order your meal in the morning, the tajines were very good, and they had the best harira soup that I tried in Morocco. The wine was also nice. Parts of the medina can be really hectic, but there are some neat streets near the Riad with nicer little stores than the crowed area of booths behind the Jemaa el-Fnaa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    59
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
51
203
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a very welcoming Riad in the heart of the Medina. The staff were all very attentive and could not do enough for us to make our stay an enjoyable one. The courtyard and terrace were lovely and breakfast was excellent, setting s up well for the day ahead. The owners were charming and have done a great job to create a veritable oasis of peace and calm amidst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. It's about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main square where everything seems to happen in Marrakech. If you've never been there before, be prepared for a a lot of pushy locals trying to get you to part with your money. Once you get over that and become immune to it then you will enjoy your time in the city. However, do get the Raid to arrange a trip into the Atlas Mountains. It's not far and very reasonably priced. We had a great driver who was very informative and helpful. If you're thinking of Marrakech then you can't go far wrong if you stay at Riad Alwachma.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rhodri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I wanted to thank everyone at Riad Alwachma for a truly wonderful holiday. The Riad is beautiful, with comfortable bedrooms, a delightful terrace, excellent breakfasts, but most importantly, exceptionally friendly and welcoming service. All the staff worked hard to help us have a memorable stay, which we did, and I will certainly recommend it to everyone. Thank you so much. Au revoir.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
177 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Liked the location.
Really like the rooms.
Great common sitting area with fireplace.
Best Reception.
Location was perfect for me but might turn off those used to chic neighbourhoods. For us, it was a perfect place as we walked to most places recommended by friends and by guide books.

Room Tip: See 6 rooms in total with my friends and all of them are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwin Dumagat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here as a goup in February and the service was great. We really enjoyed the food and would reccomend booking the aiport transfers. The rooms were lovely with everything you could want. The roof terrace has some sunbeds which you can use and a lovely shaded area. I would definatley stay here again.
I would also reccomend the cooking lessons in the Maison Arabe which is just next door - a highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the upper floor as I would imagine the ground floor rooms could get a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I was a solo traveller staying here in January 2013. Overall I was very happy with my stay. The Riad is well located - about a 10 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa. Close, but far enough away to be peaceful. The inside of the Riad was very peaceful, clean and tastefully decorated. It was a pleasure to return here after hectic days in the markets. Staff were very friendly, attentive and did a goof job of looking after guests and the property. Rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. I slept very well every night. The hotel has a hammam and massage room. A hammam scrub really is a wonderful treatment and is a unique experience. Breakfasts were adequate (tea, coffee, orange juice, pastries, yogurt, fruit) and were enjoyed on the tranquil roof top terrace the Riad has. The terrace has a nice mix of sunny and shaded areas, with a number of couches and deck chairs. If I had one gripe, it would be that the tours the hotel uses are fairly contrived and you will see at least five other tour busses at each stop. I was hoping for more unique, less touristy tour options. One would probably need to look to other tour companies for this. Overall, excellent and highly recommended Riad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StenicCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algiers, Algeria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My children, my wife and myself enjoyed the time passed in Riad Al-Wachma. the personal was friendly and helpful.

We really appreciated the decoration, the quietness...it takes us back centuries.

Also, it's in the middle of the town of Marakeche and near to the typical square of Jamaa El-Fna (10 minutes walking).

P.S: if you want to stay more then a night, you have to book earlier, you may find your own room booked the day after.

Bon séjour,


Thank you to Al-Wachma staff, Inshallah we'll comeback :)

Nassim

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nassim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#55 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#58 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#10 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#31 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Youssoufi
Riad El Youssoufi
#48 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Alwachma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Alwachma

Property: Riad Alwachma
Address: 21 derb Sebh | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the ground floor of the riad built around a large patio with columns a Moroccan living room, steam room, a lounge and two bedrooms. Upstairs, they offer six rooms / suites. All rooms in the riad are coated with tadelakt and zelliges, they also have heating and air conditioning, satellite TV and wi-fi. Finally, to eat or just enjoy in peace the views of the Koutoubia and the High Atlas mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Alwachma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Alwachma Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing