We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice riad in a terrible setting”
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #247 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The riad is OK but a little basic. The riad location is terrible. It is in the middle of dank smelly small narrow alleyways. Leaving the riad and coming back was a struggle as you need compass. the food on the riad was basic but fine. friendly staff. the shower was faulty as was the toilet cistern.

Room Tip: Try another riad, lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 469 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Riad is placed a short walk from the main square, so position is great.
Decor inside is wonderful, roof terrace is great.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, management were really helpful, organised everything we needed.
I would recommend this to anyone

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

First of all make sure you know about this city before you go, it's not for the faint hearted, scared the life out of me! As far as the Riad is concerned we absolutely loved it, Abdul who runs the place is very nice and very helpful, the food, especially breakfast is great and when you walk through the front door you leave the crazy medina behind and can relax in absolute peace and quiet.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dpstreeservices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a really good time on this riad. The staff and the manager couldn’t be more friendly and helpful. My husband and I went with our 2,5, year old daughter, so we always have special requests which were promptly attended we had fresh soup every day, wash the thermos, storage the yogurts. We couldn’t ask for a better service! We ate at the riad several days and the food is fabulous! The best we ate in Marrakesh, so don’t miss it. We also strongly advise you to book the transportation from the airport with the riad. It costs 15€ and saves you a lot of work in trying to find the riad in the very streets of the medina.
The wi-fi is not very strong in the rooms but you can use it in common areas. The bathroom is inside the room (no door), but it seems that is very usual in all the riads, anyway, it didn’t influence the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Abdul, Moustafa and their team are lovely hosts. They offered us a yummy complimentary dinner on our first night, lovely breakfasts every morning, and mint tea at any time of day or night, in our rooms, in the cozy main room, or on the roof terrace. We really felt we were coming "home" at the end of each long, hectic day in Marrakesh. Abdul went above and beyond by going to the bus station outside the Medina to purchase our bus tickets to Essaouira for an early departure the following morning--no other riad proprietor offered to assist us in this manner. Riad Lorsya is also wonderfully appointed: great location in the center of the Old Medina, and the rooms are lavish, spacious, and quiet. The beds were very comfortable, which is rare in Moroccan riads and dars. Even though there were other guests staying at the same time as us, we felt it was our private riad since it was so quiet and spacious. The roof terrace is a great place to relax and escape. I'd definitely stay at Lorsya again if ever back in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mithra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have just returned from the Riad Lorsya after a trip with my two daughters and we had a great time in Morocco, partly due to the helpfulness of Abdul and the staff at the Riad Lorsya. The Riad has a nice relaxing feel after a busy day out in the city and Abdul makes sure that all the information, bookings and directions you need are at hand. His calm and helpful manner made our days easy to organize and we were able to feel comfortable going out as three women on our own. One night Moustaffa, the night manager, offered to organize someone to take us to the taxis in the square as we were dressed to go up to the new part of the city to an upmarket hotel for dinner. We accepted this offer and tipped the guide for his help although it would have probably been fine to go on our own in retrospect. We were just more dressed up than on usual outings. At all other times we were out and about day and night in the city feeling safe.
We had the ground floor suite which was lovely and traditional and we did not really find it very noisy as most people were not out late and respectful of noise when they came in. This may be different however if you have a child and want to remain in the room more at night when people are coming and going so it might be better to go for one of the upstairs rooms if that is the case. One reservation was that we were three adults and the second bed was a put you up bed more suitable to a child than an adult but my daughter managed okay. However a more suitable sized bed would have been better for her.
We enjoyed the breakfasts and the food was lovely. We had yogurts, fruit, bread and jams, and pancakes of two different traditional types, with fresh orange juice and coffee and tea. We could choose to eat on the ground floor dining area or up on the Terrace rooftop. The Riad was cleaned regularly and we were offered towels whenever we wanted to sunbathe. We ate dinner there on the first night as we had been on an early flight and again, this was well prepared and presented and very tasty.
We ate out twice in the new town but did not go there during the daytime as we preferred the old town and visited the square at night for the local storytelling and other activities. We were not harassed about the monkeys or snakes by the vendors and were left alone most of the time which was reassuring as I have been to other North African countries and found it much worse on going out during the day/night. We shopped in the souks and again bargained for our purchases but were treated with respect and felt comfortable most of the time.
We ate at Comptoir Darna Marrakech one night as it seemed to be one of the highlights in most trip books and found it to be exactly what we expected - more touristy with women, both local and foreign, in more glamourous dresses as well as those casually dressed for the night. It was a nice evening and the food was okay but it did feel that we had stepped into the tourist route. There is a bar on the top floor and people were drinking alcohol as well as eating as diners so I think it works as a bar and restaurant. The atmosphere seemed fun and relaxed.
We arranged a hammam through Abdul but had the choice of several, so the choice was entirely our own. We took a taxi as it was a little way from the Square and I was a bit disappointed at the grubby gowns and slippers but the massage was good and the pedicures were great. It was very busy with tourists so is well known and used. I think the price reflected the area and the facilities - probably should have paid more but It was fun for us as the girls in the family to go together and again, staff were polite and friendly.
We bought dresses from the pop up shop by Norya Ayron which were lovely - more than you would pay in the souks but we liked the syles and material - its worth a visit and you can check it out on Facebook. She has dresses in a variety of fabrics but only stocks a couple of each. The shop is located above Restaurant le Jardin, which is nice place for lunch if you are in the souks. We also had lunch at the Cafe Arabe which is on the top floor of a building in the souk and has nice views. Both restaurants also serve alcohol if you want to purchase drinks with lunch.
So a huge thank you to Abdul, Moustafa and all the staff at the Riad Lorsya. We had a great Marrakech trip and would not hesitate to enjoy their hospitality again.

Room Tip: A room not on the ground floor would be quieter, especially if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JaniceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in August in Rose Room. A little tricky to find 1st time we went out, but just our luck the paths around were getting dug up to re-pave the day we went out so we didn't recognize them when we came back. After that it was fine, just pay attention to the turns 1st time you head out ! - re-paving should be done by now. Location was ideal, on edge of the Souk and only 5-10 mins from the main square.

Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and really made it like a home from home, nothing was too much for them. We got them to arrange airport pick-up which we'd recommend as its door to door service, with luggage, which is really important to arrive totally stress-free.

The place was spotless clean, room was nice with AC which was important in August especially. Shower was great. Pool was a bit chilly but if you wanted a quick refresh fine, and would probably get used to it.

There is a roof terrace with loungers and sunshades.

Breakfast was typical Moroccan, good selection of bread/pancakes, yogurt, fruit (and eggs if you asked).

A very pleasant stay, well located and really nothing could fault.

Final tip for an easy stay in Marrakech, watch your pockets and stuff in the main square in the evening especially, had a guy try mine for me - he wasn't slick enough that time but it was the slightest of brush by, so they are good. Also pleading to taxi drivers, just go where you're asked and leave it at that, or people just won't bother with you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCworldyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#147 of 502 in Marrakech
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#153 of 502 in Marrakech
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#148 of 502 in Marrakech
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#59 of 502 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#166 of 502 in Marrakech
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $61 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing