We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, shuts the world away”
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #250 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Went in Jan 2012, stunning Riad best by far in Marrakech, staff couldn't do enough for you so helpful super friendly.

Book a suite the normal rooms nice but the suites gorgeous, wouldn't stay anywhere else in Marrakech thats for sure

One tip though if going to the Souks don't tell the stall holders that you stay at the Lorsya when they ask where you are staying as the price rockets

Room Tip: All rooms amazing but suites extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batespcm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 469 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were incredibly impressed. The Riad is well located about 5 mins walk from the main square. I would definitely recommend organising a transfer with the Riad as it is not accessible by car. They will organise a car to collect you form the airport and bring you to a point 5 min walk from the Riad. A porter will meet you to carry your luggage. It is a bit daunting the first time you do this walk but you very soon remember the main routes.

From the minute you arrive the service is excellent. Mustafa and Abdul looked after us incredibly well. Nothing was too much trouble and they organised everything we needed. The complimentary dinner on the first night was absolutely delicious! It was my birthday when we were there and Abdul helped my wife organise a delicious surprise cake. Special mention must be made of the breakfasts! They are fantastic and will tide you over until at least mid afternoon! The ladies who do the cooking are really friendly and do a great job, making the breakfasts a little different each day for variety. They will also provide a cooking lesson for a modest charge.

In terms of accommodation the Riad is comfortable. Our suite was quite dark but from experience this is not unusual for Riads. The facilities in the room are good though you need to accept that it is a Riad and not what you'd get in a 4 star European hotel.There was an AC unit in the room that does an effective job of providing heating when needed.

In summary I would totally recommend this Riad for the great service, delicious food and wonderful service! A big thank you to Abdul and the team!

Room Tip: I did not see the regular rooms but I think they may have more light than the suites. I would avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mrahman247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Lovely riad very close to the medina and easy to find once shown the way! The biggest plus point is the staff - very welcoming and could not do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. The only slight negative was that our beautiful suite was a little too dark for us - we were glad of the torch we brought with us to find our way round the wardrobe/safe! That said, there were plenty of public places to sit outside.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely - but the suites are the darkest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen_thorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We really found again riad Lorsya a magical home to stay with our friends in the heart of Marrakech medina, it is a beautiful riad, brilliantly decorated, spacious and cozy, with a great view from the rooftop terrace.
On our arrival we were very impressed by the warm welcome, and the excellent service, the staff were professional, helpful and friendly, nothing it's too much trouble, information about restaurants hammam and excursions, breakfast and dinner on terrace.
Furthermore, with its ideal location at the medina, we were able to visit all the historical sites, gardens and the souks.
It was our second time staying with our friends at Lorsya, we loved everything about it, and certainly we will be back and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Samsara suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Riad Lorsya was an excellent place to stay in the heart of the souks. Abdul was a great host, doing everything possible to make our visit comfortable. He made arrangements for our day tour of Ourika, one on the highlights of our trip, with another Abdul, who had the most warm and inviting personality, despite our language difficulties. Abdul personally walked us to different destinations, made a trip to the supermarket to pick up supplies for us, and made great recommendations to insure that we had a great time.

Mustafa was also a pleasure to meeet. He was so helpful and made us feel that we were in the home of friends. The Riad was both beautiful and soothing. You wouldn't have to leave the riad to feel that you were truly experiencing a wonderful part of the scenes and people of Marrakesh. Great place to stay.

David and Susan, Charleston, SC, USA

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well what can I say about the Riad Lorsya in Marrakech - we have just got back from a brilliant long weekend break where we celebrated our first wedding anniversary and it was simply perfect. The Riad is traditionally Moroccan in design with 2 floors plus a roof terrace and an open internal garden. Our room was the Sherazade suite, which was a split level suite with living room and bathroom on the bottom level and bedroom on a mezzanine floor above. The room was cool to prevent the heat getting in too much and was decorated in lovely colourful silks with local furniture and paintings etc. The location was ideal for a stay in the heart of the Medina and we walked everywhere we wanted to go in the city. We also booked a day trip to the Atlas mountain villages and this was a nice alternative to the hustle and bustle of the city (as was the great spa experience at Les Bains de Morocco).
There was a stand out characteristic of the Riad also - his name is Abdul, who was the daytime concierge I guess you might describe him as. Mustapha was the night time concierge and was also fantastic (including taking us and our bags to the taxi transfer for our return flight when the external porter was late) but I have to say a massive thank you in particular to Abdul who personified all that there is about great traditional hospitality and customer service. Nothing was too much trouble and he patiently explained and highlighted us some of the hotspots on the map, he recommended and booked all of our trips, restaurants, spas, etc. for us, carried an extra table up to the roof terrace so that we could have our breakfast there and he even took us personally to a local market trader to buy spices so that we didn't face the prospect of getting ripped off at tourist rates in the Souks.
Thank you to all at the Riad Lorsya as you ALL helped to make our trip so special and memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite called the Sherazade Suite - a very good option here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garforth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

2 girls in late twenties travelling end of September for 4 nights....

If like us two, your into clean and comfortable with a sprinkle of afforable luxury, right next to the mayhem but far enough to relax and enjoy some down time... then this is the Riad for you - we stayed in the Pearle D'Orient room and it was beautifully decorated - comfy bed, check - gorgeous soft furnishings, check - good wardrobe space with a safe, check - amazing traditionally decorated shower and bathroom, check check check !!

The rest of the rooms (as we had a good nosy round!!) - are all gorgeous too - including the dining area and roof top terrace - which on a sunny day is really nice to relax on (dont be alarmed by the prayer calls though!! you'l see what we mean when you arrive)

Zahidi, Mustapher and Abdul and the ladies who make breakfast and clean the rooms are ALL wonderful hosts - nothing is too much for them, they welcome you so happily and smilley after every outing and will organise anything your interested in - mountain climbs/local knowledge/dinner/spa treatments/religion/mint tea/directions/how much things should cost - literally anything!!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this Riad to anyone looking for a good location within the Medina and afforable luxury - in fact you'd be crazy NOT to book this Riad.

(Special thanks to Abdul - he is a true gentleman !)

Gemma and Lauren from Liverpool

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g_mchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#162 of 499 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#70 of 499 in Marrakech
523 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#171 of 499 in Marrakech
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#170 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#73 of 499 in Marrakech
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#138 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $59 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing