We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, service and room”
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #266 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

This Riad exceeded our expectations from the first moment. Email communication beforehand was professional and very helpful. Our airport transfer (€15) was waiting for us and the porter wheeled the bags in a trolley (note: aim to have small notes/coins from the airport otherwise you'll end up tipping 100 Dirhams / €9 like we had to!). The Riad is in a very quiet alley, 5 mins from the main square and easy to find once you've learned the way. Abdul and Mustafa looked after everything 24/7 for our whole stay. Nothing was too much trouble, and I would recommend letting them book all your trips, restaurants, massages, etc as we couldn't spot any price increases. Our room was two levels with a lovely rain shower and comfy four poster bed. The room had aircon, too. Mint tea, orange juice, bottled water, etc were all on offer at no extra charge. Wifi was free and consistent. Breakfast was fresh (bread, fruit, yoghurt, pancake) and dinner was very tasty (homemade dips, lemon chicken tagine, orange with cinnamon). They were even happy to serve us at 6.30 am and 10.00 pm to fit around our tour. We had an amazing time in Marrakech and this Riad, its location and even more so, it's people, was a big part of that. Highly recommend!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Its_Small_World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
There are newer reviews for Riad Lorsya
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 461 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at Ryad Lorsya last month for 4 nights. We had a really lovely time: our room was clean and full furnished even if it wasn't one of the 2 suites. The ryad is strategically located in the middle of the medina, and the staff is absolutely helpful if you lost your way back.
We had the first night dinner offered at the ryad and the food was really good, much better than in a lot of restaurants recommented by the Lonley Planet. If I ever get the chance to go back to Marrakech I'll stay at the Ryad Lorsya again!

Room Tip: Perle D'orient Room is the smallest but the brighter room
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in marrakech. At our arrival they organized trhe transfer from airport for 15 eur and the first night the dinner was offered. The staff is very friendly and they organized for you everything you want froma trip to hamam to dinner in the city. The rooms are beautiful, we choose the "pearl d'orient" and it was very clean and every day set up. If you want to relax on the terrace they offers to you a mint tea for free every time you want. I dont know what to say: only thank you!! We felt at home!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea Cissello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Marrakech to celebrate our engagement which my new fiance booked as a surprise for me. Not only did we love Marrakech, we both loved staying at Riad Lorsya. We recieved such a lovely welcome to "our home is your home" by Mustapha who offered us some delicious Mint tea on arrival (something we drank plenty of during our stay). Abdul spent some time with us explaining key areas on a map and arranging our tour of the Atlas Mountains the next day. Both Mustapha and Abdul were the most wonderfully attentive, without being intrusive, managers who made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. The Riad itself is stunning and so peaceful despite being so close to the main square. We stayed in the Sherazade suite and I have to say one of my favourite places I have stayed in a long while. Very clean, comfortable, authentic and like the rest of the Riad peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous! We decided to eat at the Riad on our first night as we knew it would be the end of a long day of travelling and exploring the city. The meal was delicious and very filling as were the continental style breakfasts each morning. It was wonderful to have the flexibility to have our meals or mint teas/coffees wherever suited us, be it on the suntrap roof terrace, the courtyard or one of the lounge areas.

Without a shadow of a doubt should we visit Marrakech again we will most definately be staying at Riad Lorsya and we will be (and already have) recommending this jewel in the Medina to all our friends and family.

Our thanks are extended to Abdul, Mustapha and the other staff at the Riad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mangua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was beautifully furnished and the service was exemplary. The two managers Ahmed (day time) and Mustafa (night time) were so welcoming and kind and served us generously and always with a smile. We were greeted with some mint tea when we arrived and had our bags taken up to our room. The breakfast was lovely and Ahmed showed us the way to the main square in the town. He also gave us some useful tips on how much to pay for things in the souks... definitely worth asking! When we got back from our camel-trekking we realised we had failed to get some bus tickets to go to Essaouira. Ahmed went and got some first thing the following morning for us and managed to get the last two on the 10.30am bus which was so kind of him and well beyond the call of duty. The decoration of the riad was beautiful, although our room was a little dim on the lighting front (I think that's quite common though). We also stayed one night in their sister Riad just around the corner which was equally lovely. I'd definitely recommend these guys.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one of the rooms over reception as they're a little quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter period in Samsara Suite. The Riad has a great location in the central Medina area (the tagged Google map on the hotel website shows the location wrongly - the Riad is MUCH more central, near Mosque Mouassine, and within 10mins walk of the main square). This is one place where I would definitely recommend a transfer booked via the hotel unless you're very confident of the city - if you take a taxi from the airport it will drop you some distance away and leave you to make your own way through the pedestrian alleyways with your luggage. The Riad only has 4 rooms, so it always has a relaxed feel, with the chance to socilaise with other guests or spend quiet time alone. Samsara suite has a sitting area & bathroom on one level, and a staircase up to a mezzanine level with the bed, offering plenty of space. Abdul, Zahidi and other staff were perfect hosts and always on hand to help. A dinner was provided on our first night which was the best tagine we ate on the trip! Marrakech is a busy place, and the Riad offers a tranquil retreat from the crazyiness. Payment was required in cash (Euros/Dirhams), so make sure you can withdraw fairly large sums of cash while you're staying away (plenty of ATMs in the city), or take a bundle of notes with you.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a lovely 7 night stay at the Riad Lorsya from 1st to 8th April. Abdul, Mustafa and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts for our holiday by making it seem like a genuine home from home. The Riad is reached via a warren of tunnels near the Moussaine Mosque so I would recommend paying the 20 Euros for the Riad to arrange a taxi to collect guests from the airport. When we reached the Medina our luggage was transported by wheelbarrow to the Riad. All in all a very slick operation. Our room (Perle d'Orient) was not huge but beautifully decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast was a tasty selection of fresh orange juice, flat breads, fruit and yoghurt. A real highlight was also the rooftop terrace where we sat in the sun with our friends away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. We also found some really nice restaurants within 10 min walk of the Riad - Villa Flore, Cafe Arabe and Dar Donab. Le Marrikchi on the main square was also very nice. In each case Abdul from the Riad called ahead and made reservations for us. Also nearby was the Bouganvillea Cafe which was a nice lunch stop.

The Riad also arranged a couple of day trips for us. They were very reasonably priced at 35 Euros pp for the trip to Essaouiria and 25 Euros pp for the trip to Ourika Valley. Both trips were great fun and went like clockwork with our driver Mustafa.

Only one minor quibble. When we made our reservation via Booking.com we were advised that we could pay our bill with a Visa card. However on arrival at the hotel Abdul advised us that we must settle our bill in Euros or Dirhams. This meant a bit of juggling to pay our bill and still leave some spending money. Paying cash was not a problem but we should have been advised in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iankeith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Fleur d'Orient
Riad Fleur d'Orient
#111 of 502 in Marrakech
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#155 of 502 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#84 of 502 in Marrakech
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#181 of 502 in Marrakech
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#75 of 502 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#143 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#168 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $61 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing