We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful home from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #292 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Woodford Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful home from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Marrakech to celebrate our engagement which my new fiance booked as a surprise for me. Not only did we love Marrakech, we both loved staying at Riad Lorsya. We recieved such a lovely welcome to "our home is your home" by Mustapha who offered us some delicious Mint tea on arrival (something we drank plenty of during our stay). Abdul spent some time with us explaining key areas on a map and arranging our tour of the Atlas Mountains the next day. Both Mustapha and Abdul were the most wonderfully attentive, without being intrusive, managers who made our stay very pleasant and relaxing. The Riad itself is stunning and so peaceful despite being so close to the main square. We stayed in the Sherazade suite and I have to say one of my favourite places I have stayed in a long while. Very clean, comfortable, authentic and like the rest of the Riad peaceful, relaxing and gorgeous! We decided to eat at the Riad on our first night as we knew it would be the end of a long day of travelling and exploring the city. The meal was delicious and very filling as were the continental style breakfasts each morning. It was wonderful to have the flexibility to have our meals or mint teas/coffees wherever suited us, be it on the suntrap roof terrace, the courtyard or one of the lounge areas.

Without a shadow of a doubt should we visit Marrakech again we will most definately be staying at Riad Lorsya and we will be (and already have) recommending this jewel in the Medina to all our friends and family.

Our thanks are extended to Abdul, Mustapha and the other staff at the Riad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mangua83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    48
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
285
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

This Riad was beautifully furnished and the service was exemplary. The two managers Ahmed (day time) and Mustafa (night time) were so welcoming and kind and served us generously and always with a smile. We were greeted with some mint tea when we arrived and had our bags taken up to our room. The breakfast was lovely and Ahmed showed us the way to the main square in the town. He also gave us some useful tips on how much to pay for things in the souks... definitely worth asking! When we got back from our camel-trekking we realised we had failed to get some bus tickets to go to Essaouira. Ahmed went and got some first thing the following morning for us and managed to get the last two on the 10.30am bus which was so kind of him and well beyond the call of duty. The decoration of the riad was beautiful, although our room was a little dim on the lighting front (I think that's quite common though). We also stayed one night in their sister Riad just around the corner which was equally lovely. I'd definitely recommend these guys.

Room Tip: Probably ask for one of the rooms over reception as they're a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights over the Easter period in Samsara Suite. The Riad has a great location in the central Medina area (the tagged Google map on the hotel website shows the location wrongly - the Riad is MUCH more central, near Mosque Mouassine, and within 10mins walk of the main square). This is one place where I would definitely recommend a transfer booked via the hotel unless you're very confident of the city - if you take a taxi from the airport it will drop you some distance away and leave you to make your own way through the pedestrian alleyways with your luggage. The Riad only has 4 rooms, so it always has a relaxed feel, with the chance to socilaise with other guests or spend quiet time alone. Samsara suite has a sitting area & bathroom on one level, and a staircase up to a mezzanine level with the bed, offering plenty of space. Abdul, Zahidi and other staff were perfect hosts and always on hand to help. A dinner was provided on our first night which was the best tagine we ate on the trip! Marrakech is a busy place, and the Riad offers a tranquil retreat from the crazyiness. Payment was required in cash (Euros/Dirhams), so make sure you can withdraw fairly large sums of cash while you're staying away (plenty of ATMs in the city), or take a bundle of notes with you.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Many thanks for your comment and for this review, and we hope see you another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a lovely 7 night stay at the Riad Lorsya from 1st to 8th April. Abdul, Mustafa and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts for our holiday by making it seem like a genuine home from home. The Riad is reached via a warren of tunnels near the Moussaine Mosque so I would recommend paying the 20 Euros for the Riad to arrange a taxi to collect guests from the airport. When we reached the Medina our luggage was transported by wheelbarrow to the Riad. All in all a very slick operation. Our room (Perle d'Orient) was not huge but beautifully decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast was a tasty selection of fresh orange juice, flat breads, fruit and yoghurt. A real highlight was also the rooftop terrace where we sat in the sun with our friends away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. We also found some really nice restaurants within 10 min walk of the Riad - Villa Flore, Cafe Arabe and Dar Donab. Le Marrikchi on the main square was also very nice. In each case Abdul from the Riad called ahead and made reservations for us. Also nearby was the Bouganvillea Cafe which was a nice lunch stop.

The Riad also arranged a couple of day trips for us. They were very reasonably priced at 35 Euros pp for the trip to Essaouiria and 25 Euros pp for the trip to Ourika Valley. Both trips were great fun and went like clockwork with our driver Mustafa.

Only one minor quibble. When we made our reservation via Booking.com we were advised that we could pay our bill with a Visa card. However on arrival at the hotel Abdul advised us that we must settle our bill in Euros or Dirhams. This meant a bit of juggling to pay our bill and still leave some spending money. Paying cash was not a problem but we should have been advised in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iankeith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This Riad is amazing. I actually stayed here last August but going by some of the more recent reviews it hasn't changed. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. The particular room we stayed in was very luxurious and the whole place was authentically Morrocan. The breakfasts were great and we stayed in one night for dinner which was close to the best meal we had in Marrakech. It was too hot for me at the time but the roof terrace is very beautiful. I would have to give a special thanks to the staff, you will definitely not meet more helpful and friendly people in the whole of Morocco, i can guarentee that! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you are bewildered trying to choose a Riad for your Marrakech break then look no further!
I traveled to Marrakech in January 2012 with my wife for a 4-night stay and having spent endless hours trying to decide where to stay we opted for the Riad Lorsya and were not disappointed

This beautiful Riad, located in the Medina is an honest 5-7 minute walk from the Jem el Fna (directions provided but you quickly get the hang of it). From the moment we arrived the staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly, particularly when our pre-arranged Atlas Mountain trip fell-through. The included evening meal on the day of arrival was most welcome and removed any hassle of having to find somewhere to eat after arrival and whilst trying to get our bearings. We stayed in the Samsara Suite which was excellent and had no problems with hot water as some have mentioned and the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi was a useful bonus. Our one minor negative comment concerns the lighting in the room - it is not very bright which makes reading a book in the evening a little difficult.

The roof terrace is a delightful place, unfortunately the January mornings were a touch cold to enjoy breakfast up there, although our last morning was warmer and we did finally manage it. Breakfasts were simple but tasty and perfectly adequate to set yourself up for a day in the souks

We thoroughly recommend this well located Riad, beautiful, peaceful, clean, with outstanding staff and an endless supply of mint tea. The acid test of any accommodation is would you go back and stay again - in the case of the Riad Lorsya, our answer is an unhesitating YES!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire, england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a very quaint Riad in the middle of the Medina. It’s hellishly difficult to find, but once you do, it’s a doddle.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. It really is a home from home experience. With only four rooms, it’s never going to be crowded.
Our room (suite) was lovely, but beware there are very steep stairs leading up the room – and the bathroom is in the main sitting area!!!
All in all lovely, a perfect retreat, attentive staff and a wonderful night sleep in a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review, and we hope see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#162 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#222 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#118 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#95 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#88 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#114 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Property: Riad Lorsya
Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing