We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad in great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Lorsya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Lorsya
Ranked #292 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

Had a lovely 7 night stay at the Riad Lorsya from 1st to 8th April. Abdul, Mustafa and the rest of the staff were the perfect hosts for our holiday by making it seem like a genuine home from home. The Riad is reached via a warren of tunnels near the Moussaine Mosque so I would recommend paying the 20 Euros for the Riad to arrange a taxi to collect guests from the airport. When we reached the Medina our luggage was transported by wheelbarrow to the Riad. All in all a very slick operation. Our room (Perle d'Orient) was not huge but beautifully decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast was a tasty selection of fresh orange juice, flat breads, fruit and yoghurt. A real highlight was also the rooftop terrace where we sat in the sun with our friends away from the hustle and bustle of the souks. We also found some really nice restaurants within 10 min walk of the Riad - Villa Flore, Cafe Arabe and Dar Donab. Le Marrikchi on the main square was also very nice. In each case Abdul from the Riad called ahead and made reservations for us. Also nearby was the Bouganvillea Cafe which was a nice lunch stop.

The Riad also arranged a couple of day trips for us. They were very reasonably priced at 35 Euros pp for the trip to Essaouiria and 25 Euros pp for the trip to Ourika Valley. Both trips were great fun and went like clockwork with our driver Mustafa.

Only one minor quibble. When we made our reservation via Booking.com we were advised that we could pay our bill with a Visa card. However on arrival at the hotel Abdul advised us that we must settle our bill in Euros or Dirhams. This meant a bit of juggling to pay our bill and still leave some spending money. Paying cash was not a problem but we should have been advised in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iankeith1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    48
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
285
14
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This Riad is amazing. I actually stayed here last August but going by some of the more recent reviews it hasn't changed. The rooms were very clean and very spacious. The particular room we stayed in was very luxurious and the whole place was authentically Morrocan. The breakfasts were great and we stayed in one night for dinner which was close to the best meal we had in Marrakech. It was too hot for me at the time but the roof terrace is very beautiful. I would have to give a special thanks to the staff, you will definitely not meet more helpful and friendly people in the whole of Morocco, i can guarentee that! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

If you are bewildered trying to choose a Riad for your Marrakech break then look no further!
I traveled to Marrakech in January 2012 with my wife for a 4-night stay and having spent endless hours trying to decide where to stay we opted for the Riad Lorsya and were not disappointed

This beautiful Riad, located in the Medina is an honest 5-7 minute walk from the Jem el Fna (directions provided but you quickly get the hang of it). From the moment we arrived the staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly, particularly when our pre-arranged Atlas Mountain trip fell-through. The included evening meal on the day of arrival was most welcome and removed any hassle of having to find somewhere to eat after arrival and whilst trying to get our bearings. We stayed in the Samsara Suite which was excellent and had no problems with hot water as some have mentioned and the bed was very comfortable. The free WiFi was a useful bonus. Our one minor negative comment concerns the lighting in the room - it is not very bright which makes reading a book in the evening a little difficult.

The roof terrace is a delightful place, unfortunately the January mornings were a touch cold to enjoy breakfast up there, although our last morning was warmer and we did finally manage it. Breakfasts were simple but tasty and perfectly adequate to set yourself up for a day in the souks

We thoroughly recommend this well located Riad, beautiful, peaceful, clean, with outstanding staff and an endless supply of mint tea. The acid test of any accommodation is would you go back and stay again - in the case of the Riad Lorsya, our answer is an unhesitating YES!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire, england
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a very quaint Riad in the middle of the Medina. It’s hellishly difficult to find, but once you do, it’s a doddle.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. It really is a home from home experience. With only four rooms, it’s never going to be crowded.
Our room (suite) was lovely, but beware there are very steep stairs leading up the room – and the bathroom is in the main sitting area!!!
All in all lovely, a perfect retreat, attentive staff and a wonderful night sleep in a very comfy bed.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lulujack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Many thanks for your review, and we hope see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I booked this Riad after reading the recommendation of other members, and after being in all other top rated Riads in all other imperial cities. Lorsya by far topped all other Riads I stayed in.

Upon arrival, Abdul served me welcome mint tea, carried my bags to my room, checked me in painlessly and brought me a map of Medina, showing me all points of interest and what to do and were to go.

The room is magnificent (check out my pictures). All that I needed, like soap, shampoo, towels, hair dryer, safe, etc was there. The breakfast was freshly made, when I was ready to have it, like fresh OJ, bread, omelet, Moroccan pancake and fried bread was all prepared while I seated to have breakfast (not before) and they all tasted yummy.

Another employee, named Mustafa, is a yes man. Offering me to walk me were I wanna go, checking train scheduled, helping to setup meeting, etc. he is just eager to do it with a big smile.

The manger Mr. Zahid is a total gentleman, who has made his mission to make sure you will have a happy stay.

The check-out was painless and no surprises.

Here of couple of spot things could be improved:

1) I had weak or sometimes no WiFi signal in my room (outside of room the signal was fine)
2) The location is hard to find for a first timer, so I wish some map of how to get to this Riad, from Jamea Al fana and from Derb El Hammam to be available on their web site. Also, if possible, some wall marking showing direction in allies around the Riad.

I would certainly use this Riad in my future visits.

Just couple pointers:

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rad_Cyrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Thank you very much for this review, we had the pleasure to have you stayed with us and we hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

Myself and friend have just returned from this Riad in Marrakesh and can strongly recommend it. In the hear of the Madina, it is a peaceful haven away from the hustle and bustle of the centre.Upon arrival we were given a lovely meal, which was a nice surprise and meant we did not have to venture out on our first night. Abdul was a wonderful host, who could't do enough for us, from constantly making us tea and coffee on demand , booking restaurants for us amongst many things, It was spotlessly clean, and cool in the rooms courtesy of the air con.The roof terrace was a welcome delight at the end of the evening.If you want to stay in the heart of the Medina,I highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lorsya, Manager at Riad Lorsya, responded to this review, January 28, 2012
Many thanks for your review, it was a pleasure to have you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

his exceptional Riad provided a beautiful, relaxing home away from home for our family during a 4 day visit to Marrakech. I can't say enough about the outstanding service, the comfortable beds, and the warm hospitality of Riad Lorsya. From the moment you arrive, it feels like you have stepped into paradise. This Riad is a restful, calm oasis in the midst of the bustle of the Medina. The staff go above and beyond to accomodate your every wish, from arranging day trips to restaurant reservations, spa appointments, and general information about places to visit in Marrakech. Laundry service was available on site, which was a blessing after 10 days. We were a 5 minute walk from the main square but yet so quiet and peaceful. The girls provided our family a very nice breakfast every morning. Mustapha took my daughters on a moped ride through the alleyways (which they loved). First class accomodation!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airtraffic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#162 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#222 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Elizabeth
Riad Elizabeth
#118 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#95 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#88 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#114 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lorsya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lorsya

Property: Riad Lorsya
Address: 61, Derb El Hammam, Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#152 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#167 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Lorsya 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lorsya is situated 5 minutes walk from the Jamaa El Fna square, in the heart of the antiques market souk. It has been renovated with care in the pure Morrocan tradition and retains all the charm of the old Marrakech riads. Our professional team invites you to discover the serenity, the comfortable lifestyle and the quality services offered to you in this wonderful riad. A free dinner is offered for any booking of 7 nights and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Lorsya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Lorsya Marrakech
Riad Lorsya Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing