We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #72 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Wow. I don't know if a review is going to be able to sum up our first time experience in Marrakech. Firstly arriving at a local area my boyfriend was quite hesitant at where I had booked, but after a few short turns into alley ways... We arrived and entering through the door of Riad Menzeh.... It was breath-takingly beautiful! We were overjoyed- it's about a 10min walk to the main square and the locals were very friendly! Jemaal and Yaseen were perfect hosts, along with the other staff that helped cook and clean! Jemaal booked us a day trek to the Atlas Mountains and organised everything it was just a fabulous day to see different scenery. The meals were beyond Devine and the best tangines we had there, traditional flavoursome cooking! The Hamam massage is a must! The scrub is intense but you are surprised at how much dead skin comes off and your left glowing afterwards! Overall we spent 6days there- we had great advice and tips from both Jemaal and Yaseen and they made our stay very comfortable and welcoming- for a real Marrakech experience we would recommend this Riad to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talitha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    39
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
86
247
36
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Already before we arrived, everything was taken care off by the Menzeh Team: Bernard, Jamal and Yacine. Hints to prepare for the unusual heat-wave during which we arrived, a driver at the airport waiting for us and refreshments upon our arrival at the Riad, hidden in Marrakesh's most authentic area, The impeccable service and friendliness continued all the way through our one week stay. During this period we had every day tasty and generous breakfasts, a brilliant dinner prepared by the Riad's own 'chef' as well as a relaxing hammam and massage in the in-house facilities. Any touristy question we had was right away addressed in a friendly manner and solved professionally by the team. We would definitely like to go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tocsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Bernard, Jamal and the rest of the team really make this riad what it is! From the minute you arrive (actually from the minute you send your reservation inquiry form) you know that the people managing this riad are caring and are devoted to what they do. They recommended I use a taxi service with a driver they knew because he could easily find the riad and I figured out why upon arrival. The driver went through a maze of buildings clustered on both sides of the alley ways and almost all looked identical- forget clear street signals! ... yet is this not also part of the charm of Marrakech? Bernard was outside when we arrived and he helped with the bag. Immediately he showed me the room and offered (delicious) tea and cookies since I had not eaten since the early morning and it was the late afternoon.
He upgraded my room to a suite although I had reserved the most basic room and that was because his riad was fully occupied. I followed his advice on food and what to see- and I am happy I did so! The restaurants were far from the all style and mediocre food quality that you may fall upon in this city. Somehow you are part of his family when you are at the riad and this is reassuring in Marrakech because the city may be intimidating by its chaos, which makes it interesting too.
My room was spacious as I mentioned and gave to the courtyard. The bathroom was very stylish in traditionally Moroccan. Despite the surroundings, the riad is calm although every once and a while you hear people talk as they walk by, which was rare and charming considering that the riad was in the old medina.
Breakfast was fine, there was always a fresh bowl of fruits and coffee or tea with traditional bread and the usual breakfast components. I did not eat other meals at the riad, although the one day there were preparing dinner as I was going out it smelled very inviting!
The location of the riad, probably like anything outside the immediate Place El-Fena, is tricky. The first time I went to the Place, Bernard accompanied me to show me the way since maps are at best sketchy. Funny enough, that night walking back I got lost! I had the number of the riad and I called not knowing what I could do to find my way back... and Jamal was so generous to actually come and pick me up from a restaurant in the Place. Thanks!
I would certainly return here and recommend this riad.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had a great 4 day stay at the Riad Menzeh in Marrakesh. Bernard and his staff are great. The rooms are clean and the breakfast was excellent. We also had a dinner was excellent. Bernard is very helpful in assisting you in your stay in Marrakesh recommending sites to visit and restaurants. I would highly recommend the Riad Menzeh during your visit to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our second visit to Marrakesh, and with Bernard as our host in the Riad Menzeh. This time my sister-in-law and husband joined us for the experience, and they weren't disappointed. Bernard is such an excellent host and since our last trip has added some additional efficient and very friendly staff, that made our stay magical. If you want the experience of the real Medina it is here, and you can get it at great value. Don't miss out on that trip to Amizmiz, and enjoy the hospitality of the Berbers in the foothills of the Atlas mountains, only an hour away from the city.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have stayed with my wife and two children in this Riad for just one night on the way for a trip in the desert, and we enjoyed it very much. The location is quite convenient and the staff very helpful: Bernard, the owner, booked for us an excellent dinner in a nearby restaurant and gave us many interesting hints for exploring the city. The general atmosphere is very homey and we definitely recommend it; a very good wi-fi system working also in the rooms is a plus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Lovely little place, lovely rooms, lovely staff. And pretty affordable too. Could not recommend more highly.
The guys really couldn't do enough for us, and the recommendation to visit the Photography Museum was a great one!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doobsie139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#15 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Property: Riad Menzeh
Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing