We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent riad”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #87 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent riad”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Very welcoming and helpful mangers who helped us to book restaurang and also escorted us to the place the very first evening - otherwise we would have been completely lost. Since the riad was fully booked the managers helped us to find another riad for the rest of our journey. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessio61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    46
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
89
258
37
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brokind
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Bernard and Jamal really know how to run a riad! They were always there for our questions and discussions about Marrakech and our experiences during the days. We felt like coming home when we stepped through the door in the evenings after exploring Marrakech.
They also arranged a fantastic meal, including fresh oysters, in the riad for us on New Years Eve. You have to try their food if you come here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My parents and us stayed in Riad Menzeh for four nights while visiting Marrakech's Medina.the owner and host, Bernard, welcomed us to his beautiful house making our whole stay unforgettable. Not only he helped us arranging other aspects of out trip but all his recommendations (restaurants and activity) were fantastic. Our two rooms were exquisitly decorated, Clean and comfortable. Bernard's two assistants (one of them called Jamal) were very friendly, helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and abundant and we had train the house every night after a long day in the medina next to the fire enjoying conversations. We also did the tout to the Berber village that Jamal arranged and we had great fun. I recommend this hotel to anyone that ones to feel at home in a different country. best decision I made in my trip to Marrakech

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paella4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

So hard to add more to what has already been written. Bernard & Jamal provide a genuine home from home experience in their lovely Riad. Nothing is too much trouble, their sense of humour is wonderful, it was just like staying with friends. Our room was lovely, as was the whole place, lovingly restored and maintained.

So a few things you must do . . . You must eat there, the food is wonderful! They catered brilliantly for my wife too who is vegetarian. You MUST have a Haman, wonderfully relaxing. Rashida and Hanan were fantastic. We did it on our last night there, and wished we had done it on our first night to relax. Book their taxi service to get picked up from the airport, if you have never been to Marrakech before you will regret it if you don't. The taxi drivers at the airport are ruthless negotiators! Being picked up and driven to within a minute's walk of the Riad, and there met by Jamal was priceless.

The Riad Menzeh is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and humour in a city that takes one or two days to get used too if you have never been before. Bernard & Jamal help you to relax, help you find your bearings and their knowledge and love of the place helps you to realise you are going to be just fine. Go!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Unable to add anything that previous reviewers haven't already commented on, but with a special mention to the quality of sleep. The room was very dark, quiet and cool and the bed was very comfortable. Slept like a log every night.
Great stay and would unreservedly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved my stay at Riad Menzeh. The place is decorated in a gorgeous authentic Moroccan style and the host Bernard is extremely hospitable. He really makes you feel like family and always goes the extra mile to ensure you have the best possible stay. As a first time visitor to Marrakech, I would especially recommend Riad Menzeh to other first time visitors, as I found his expert local advice and directions to be indispensable. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I adored staying at this incredible 16th century riad. Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Bernard. He painstakingly walked us to the enormous square giving us tips so we could get back alone, which we managed to do. My room up on the second floor was cool and comfortable and I loved lying in bed listening to the call to prayer. The pillows were the best I slept on in Morocco. . We enjoyed 2 dinners at the riad which included a fabulous traditional vegetable and chick pea soup. Wifi was great in the salon area. I cannot wait to return to Morocco and when in Marrakech would not think of staying anywhere but Riad Menzeh. Just go and you will love it !!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#73 of 500 in Marrakech
673 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#131 of 500 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
544 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#14 of 500 in Marrakech
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Property: Riad Menzeh
Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing