We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful riad with an excellent kitchen”
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #151 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Bernard and Jamal really know how to run a riad! They were always there for our questions and discussions about Marrakech and our experiences during the days. We felt like coming home when we stepped through the door in the evenings after exploring Marrakech.
They also arranged a fantastic meal, including fresh oysters, in the riad for us on New Years Eve. You have to try their food if you come here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 565 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

My parents and us stayed in Riad Menzeh for four nights while visiting Marrakech's Medina.the owner and host, Bernard, welcomed us to his beautiful house making our whole stay unforgettable. Not only he helped us arranging other aspects of out trip but all his recommendations (restaurants and activity) were fantastic. Our two rooms were exquisitly decorated, Clean and comfortable. Bernard's two assistants (one of them called Jamal) were very friendly, helpful and made our stay even more enjoyable. The breakfast was delicious and abundant and we had train the house every night after a long day in the medina next to the fire enjoying conversations. We also did the tout to the Berber village that Jamal arranged and we had great fun. I recommend this hotel to anyone that ones to feel at home in a different country. best decision I made in my trip to Marrakech

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paella4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

So hard to add more to what has already been written. Bernard & Jamal provide a genuine home from home experience in their lovely Riad. Nothing is too much trouble, their sense of humour is wonderful, it was just like staying with friends. Our room was lovely, as was the whole place, lovingly restored and maintained.

So a few things you must do . . . You must eat there, the food is wonderful! They catered brilliantly for my wife too who is vegetarian. You MUST have a Haman, wonderfully relaxing. Rashida and Hanan were fantastic. We did it on our last night there, and wished we had done it on our first night to relax. Book their taxi service to get picked up from the airport, if you have never been to Marrakech before you will regret it if you don't. The taxi drivers at the airport are ruthless negotiators! Being picked up and driven to within a minute's walk of the Riad, and there met by Jamal was priceless.

The Riad Menzeh is an oasis of tranquility, warmth and humour in a city that takes one or two days to get used too if you have never been before. Bernard & Jamal help you to relax, help you find your bearings and their knowledge and love of the place helps you to realise you are going to be just fine. Go!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Unable to add anything that previous reviewers haven't already commented on, but with a special mention to the quality of sleep. The room was very dark, quiet and cool and the bed was very comfortable. Slept like a log every night.
Great stay and would unreservedly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I loved my stay at Riad Menzeh. The place is decorated in a gorgeous authentic Moroccan style and the host Bernard is extremely hospitable. He really makes you feel like family and always goes the extra mile to ensure you have the best possible stay. As a first time visitor to Marrakech, I would especially recommend Riad Menzeh to other first time visitors, as I found his expert local advice and directions to be indispensable. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I adored staying at this incredible 16th century riad. Nothing was too much trouble for our host, Bernard. He painstakingly walked us to the enormous square giving us tips so we could get back alone, which we managed to do. My room up on the second floor was cool and comfortable and I loved lying in bed listening to the call to prayer. The pillows were the best I slept on in Morocco. . We enjoyed 2 dinners at the riad which included a fabulous traditional vegetable and chick pea soup. Wifi was great in the salon area. I cannot wait to return to Morocco and when in Marrakech would not think of staying anywhere but Riad Menzeh. Just go and you will love it !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Bernard and Jamal made our holiday so much more than it would have been if we had stayed in a bog standard hotel out of town. It was an experience and I agree with all that Christine has said so eloquently. Christine and Sean it was a pleasure to meet you. I hope you made the Gatwick express OK.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 500 in Marrakech
357 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#157 of 500 in Marrakech
556 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#96 of 500 in Marrakech
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 500 in Marrakech
998 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#84 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $53 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Menzeh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. To have an idea about what to do in Marrakech please feel free to have a look here : tripfrommarrakech com ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing