We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just read the reviews. Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Menzeh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Menzeh
Ranked #32 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just read the reviews. Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our first port of call on our Morocco holiday. Could scarely imagine nicer people to stay with. They just couldn't do enough to help you, always smiling or appearing with mint tea and cakes for you. I smile every time I think of the place. Lovely, cool spacious rooms, nice communal areas with lots of friendly folk to chat to, nice breakfasts and a nice rooftop terrace too relax on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    34
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
241
36
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights in total. We originally requested it for 3 nights during one week but we required the dates to be flexible due to us awaiting confirmation of a desert tour. Bernard was very understanding and accommodating and he even organised us a quote from a company he knows. We ended up staying 2 nights initially and then coming back for a single night after 3 days. Our experice at the riad was wonderful. All the staff were amazing, the decor and cleanliness was top notch and the breakfasts were fantastic - we were even lucky enough to have the chef cook us up a treat of traditional pancakes on ourr last day...yum! Bernard went out of his way to make us feel comfortable and well looked after - he kindly walked us to the square so we knew how to get there and he was attentive and helpful throughout our stay.

The location of this riad is amazing - it's on an extremely calm and quiet street but only 10 mins walk from the main square. I cannot emphasise enough how much we enjoyed and appreciated our stay here. If we are ever in Marrakech again, this would be the only place that we stay at!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had spent only 1 night there because I booked 5 nights in another Riad in advance.Great perfectly reliable pick-up service in the night, very nice welcome, great clean room, wonderful breakfast and transfer with Bernard to the next Riad.GREAT.Thx Bernard

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

After 5 weeks of backpacking through Europe my daughter and I came to Marrakech for the last leg of our adventure and was met by Bernard in the busy square next to the Riad. We were made to feel at home immediately and enjoyed the oasis that Riad Menzeh is amongst the heat, hustle & bustle of Marrakech. Bernard and Jamal are both wonderful hosts and very helpful with their advice on getting around in Marrakech and what to see (& what to pay for trinkets & souvenirs!) Bernard helped organise a lovely day's hiking in the Atlas Mountains and also a day spent cooking (& eating) a 3 course traditional meal at a nearby Riad... especially memorable was the arrival of 2 very soft pillows purchased especially for us following our 'complaint' over breakfast that the pillows were a bit hard. OK we admit to being Princesses!! I found booking a Riad very confusing due to the number available to choose from but can say that I couldn't fault Riad Menzeh and Bernard & Jamal!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Thanks Bernard! My husband and I had the Menzeh suite and our son was next door. Great service, food, location. He hooked us up with Paracours Quad for a buggy raid that was a blast, and an Atlas Mountain tour with Nouradine who really clicked with our son; Facebook friends. Construction outside was noisy but looked pretty temporary. Wish we would have had Bernard recommend a hammam, since Mythic Oriental was overrated and expensive. Next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank giuiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was our first visit to Marrakech and thanks to Bernard and Jamal it will not be our last. Initially, Marrakech is a shock to your senses....the congestion, the crowds, the poverty but once you meander through the alleyways and come to Riad Menzeh's simple wooden door you walk into an oasis, a home away from home. A place where you feel energized each morning to begin your adventures and a welcome relief to come home to after an exhausting day! The Riad is centered around an open courtyard and tree, hence the term Riad, and the gleaming tile floors and whitewashed walls make this a perfect setting for breakfast, afternoon tea, drinks and even dinner. The rooms are located upstairs surrounding the open courtyard below. Our oversized room was lovely, with a small sofa covered in Moroccan cloth, washed sienna colored walls, firm bed, a huge bathroom with double sinks and an inviting tub, with shower, plus heavenly bath products, made in Marrakech.
Bernard was born to be a host. This is his home. You never feel like a paying guest but more of a friend coming to visit. He's thoughtful, knowledgable and interesting, and will always point you in the right direction when you get lost...which, if you don't lose your way you haven't taken full advantage of visiting this city!
Jamal is a huge part of the Riad Menzeh family too. He's always present, asking after you, offering tea, advice and help. He helped us buy spices near the Riad and always answered our silly questions in regard to bargaining in the Medina, shopping, etc. If Bernard doesn't have the answer, Jamal always does!
We were fortunate enough to eat dinner at the Riad on 2 evenings and these dinners were by far the best we had in Marrakech. All local, traditional dishes made with outstanding flavors and spices. Breakfast is simple...good Moroccan coffee and tea, local breads, homemade jam and cake! A perfect way to start the day.
Riad Menzeh also has a small hamman which we took full advantage of. I felt like a child being scrubbed, bathed and massaged. The hamman has heated walls and floors which add to the enchanting ambiance.
I can't imagine a better introduction to Marrakech than Riad Menzeh, Bernard and Jamal. The Riad is a true gem with fantastic hosts. Our memories of Marrakech will always revolve around our stay there. Remember this is old Marrakech and part of the experience is staying in the local environment. If you're expecting a big sterile hotel, with all the extras and endless options then a Riad is not for you. Stay in new Marrakech, about 20 minutes outside the Medina area, with its golf courses, shopping centers and casino and you'll be one of those travelers who say they've been to Morocco yet just never experienced it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theWanderingPetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I spent just 2 nights (unfortunately too few) in Marrakech recently, and were lucky enough to get a last minute booking at Riad Menzeh due to another booking being cancelled on us. From the moment we met Bernard at the front door, when he rescued us from the unwelcome and overwhelming attention of an "unofficial" guide, we knew we had found an oasis in a city that we were totally unfamiliar with. He has to be described as the "quintessential host", so welcoming, so friendly in a totally natural way, so charming and so helpful. Thank you sincerely Bernard, we will be back, and if we have anything to do with it, so will many of our family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RonandGayeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#19 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#60 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Menzeh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Menzeh

Property: Riad Menzeh
Address: 34 derb El Arsa | Sidi Ayoub, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Menzeh is located in a small and peaceful street in the heart of Marrakech old city. 10 Minutes walk from the well known Marrakech main square of Jemaa el Fna, Riad Menzeh is the perfect place to enjoy this amazing city. Bernard and his staff will be happy to help you discover Marrakech the Red City of mysteries, sounds, smells and flavors. Activate your senses in this unique part of the world. Above all, we'€™d like to share with you our passion for this stunning and colorful city and its people, incredibly nice and friendly. Indulge yourself in a traditional spa massage over a steam bath and warm pore cleansing with scented black soap and ghassul (clay) in our private Hammam. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Menzeh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing