We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Luxury and Amazing Design”
Review of Riad Camilia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Camilia
Ranked #3 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True Luxury and Amazing Design”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We just returned home from 5 nights at the luxurious Riad Camilia. So many hotels over promise and under deliver but at Riad Camilia we got much more than expected. The attention to detail in every guest room and public room is beyond imagination. We had the good fortune to select Room #4, the largest, which we knew would be nice but the photos on the web site do not do it justice. It is 70 sqm and filled with the most beautiful furnishings, artwork and decorations. The shower is really amazing with a rainhead shower with great water pressure. There are 2 outdoor seating areas, one facing into the courtyard and one private area next to the private stairs up to the roof. It opens into the courtyard but yet feels very private and quiet -- we had the AC on at night with the windows closed and did not hear any noise at all. The only complaint about the room is the teeny tiny closet that the toilet is in, barely enough space to sit without your knees hitting the opposite wall.

We had the chance to see a few other guest rooms and they were all perfect. Even the smallest room was thoughtfully designed and used the space in a very functional way. The public rooms -- the lounge, dining room, roof terrace, courtyard, library -- were all beautiful and impeccably designed. And best of all, the seating is not just nice to look at, it is actually comfortable.

Nicolas the manager was always available to help with arranging guides, restaurant suggestions, shopping tips and advice on how to navigate the medina. The breakfasts were great (make sure to request the omelette if you want one) and the dinners we had there were also delicious. The entire staff was so friendly, helpful and always smiling. They made it like a true oasis to retreat into after a day in the craziness of the medina.

When originally considering Marrakech riads I had picked Riad Farnatchi where the rates are quite a bit higher than Camilia. I'm so glad one of my friends found Camilia and convinced me to change my mind. I'm sure Farnatchi is nice but I really feel like Camilia is such a great value for the money. You get true luxury and great service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bniemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
182
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Riad Camilia just recently. We were there with 3 other couples and our daughter and the daughter of one of the other couples. the rooms are all tastefully and beautifully decorated and really give one the feeling of living in a luxurious private home. i would just love to have a bathroom like the one we had in our room...We arrived rather late at night and our manager, Nicolas came out at midnight to lead us back to the Riad through the myriad of small streets. impossible to do it by yourself the first time but Nicolas will gladly come and fetch you. The terrace where we had breakfast and dinners if we wanted to was wonderful and the small pools just deep enough to cool you down on a hot day or evening after walking around Marrakesch. The staff at Camilia is friendly and helpful and very professional and I can only say thanks for making our Marrakesch visit such a wonderful experience. And don't forget to ask Nicolas about restaurants as he knows all the good ones!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the back and we go good breezes coming down from the roof terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We booked the Riad for our whole family in September this year. It was an oasis of beauty, combining beautiful French and Moroccan furnishings, 3 pools etc. The manager Nicolas, is a charming French gentleman who couldn't do enough to help. He was there when we needed him and was on our side, leading us around the alley ways and suggesting really excellent restaurants, places to buy rugs and day trips etc. So glad we booked Riad Camilia. Thanks to Nicolas and his kind staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 7 nights at Riad Camilia in September 2013.
Our time there was memorable and fabulous, thanks largely to the wonderful staff who attended to our ever whim with grace and style.
The Riad itself is gorgeous! No photos can ever do justice to the amazing detail of the rooms and lounge areas. Staying at Camilia is an exercise in pure luxury.
The bedrooms are large and sumptuous.
The three swimming pools each provide a great location to relax and cool down in the Marrakech heat.
The Riad staff includes a cook who can prepare meals to match and exceed anything available in the city.
I highly recommend Riad Camilia for your next stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of spending 4 days and nights with 4 friends in June 2013. We were five Australian ladies on a great adventure. It was my birthday on the second night we were there and I could not have spent it anywhere better! Our host, Nicholas was most charming, helpful and accommodating during our stay and his staff were also delightful. The breakfasts and dinners were delicious and the decor and tastefulness of our surroundings just beautiful! We were especially fortunate to meet Camilia, the owner and creator of this lovely Riad who arrived on our second day there, and it was interesting to hear how she sourced the fascinating items throughout the house. All in all, I would heartily recommend a stay in this haven in the ancient medina. It was 45 degrees when we were there and yet to come home to the peace and cool of Camilia was just wonderful!!

Room Tip: The rooms were lovely and really more suites, spacious and well appointed. The air con was quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Riad Camilia and I could neverhave imagined such luxury. Nothing was any trouble. It was peaceful and spacious and tastefully decorated. We where in room 4 which was very spacious. Nicholas and the rest of the staff are absolutely wonderful. Nicholas even took us out to the square through the sucks and we where not sure of the way. He makes sure everything is right for you he is a gem. The hammam and massage where excellent and not to be missed. We will be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thelma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked the riad through Villa Novo where it was just listed as Riad 37. It was only the week before the trip that i was put directly in touch with Nicolas, the wonderful riad manager, discovered the real name of this charming riad and saw all of the incredible reviews.
I hired the whole riad for my 40th birthday. It officially has 6 double bedrooms, but there are actually 7 if you don't mind sharing a huge interconnecting lounge. The riad is beautiful. When you first arrive it seems huge and a bit of a labyrinth but you quickly feel at home, and the staff make you feel at home with nothing too much trouble. A request for an iron and ironing board was swiftly rebuffed with a "we'll send your shirt out to be pressed for you, no problem". The rooms have home baked biscuits in them. No request is too much trouble.
All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and unique. No one drew the short straw. Several have outside space or stairs to the toof. The roof terrace is huge, giving you the opportunity to sit togther as a group or to separate and have privacy in the various sections which offer plenty of beautiful shrubbery, flowers and umbrellas. Special mention for the wonderful personal touches like sun hats, sun cream and towels which are all laid out for you to use. And for the home made lemomgrass infusions and bowls of fruit they served us as we sat around the pool.
The roof terrace is a great party venue and nicholas and his team know how to throw one. The whole riad was beautifully lit with hundreds of lanterns and Fatima, the wonderful cook made us a delicious morrocan banquet, with all sorts of fussy food requests taken in to account (wheat free, vegan, pescatorians). On the first night Nicholas and his team set up a separate area for pre dinner drinks, olives and delicious morrocan snacks, and we then moved across the terrace to a beautifully laid table for dinner. On the second night, they rearranged the seating so that we were in a different area with poofs, and low iron tables for drinks. The attention to detail and desire to make everything perfect for us was wonderful.
Whilst the riad is undoubtably stunning and in a great location, ten mins from the main square, the thing that was most impressive was Nicholas, the riad manager, and his staff. Nothing was too much trouble: sorting numerous airport pick ups, booking spa treatments, escorting us to various places in case we got lost, sorting all of the complicated catering arrangements. And the staff were so sweet and attentive and lovely.
This was incredible value for money and without doubt the most amazing place to have held my 40th. I'll be back for my next 40th birthday in a few years time...

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated. We stayed in room 5, decorated in tranquil cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilmaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#4 of 500 in Marrakech
1,648 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 500 in Marrakech
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#1 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Idra
Riad Idra
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Camilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Camilia

Property: Riad Camilia
Address: Derb El Ouali 9, Kaat Benahid | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Camilia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a sumptuous and authentic ryad with intact oriental and moorish atmosphere. The owners have invested time and passion to decorate this little palace of the Marrakech medina with wonderful objects and paintings found in local flea markets and antique shops around the world.

 The patio (courtyard) is an area of calm and relaxation where you find a small pool. There are two bedrooms on the ground floor and one bedroom and a suite overlooking the courtyard from the first floor. The master suite is absolutely gorgeous and we strongly advise you to spend a few nights there with your loved one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Camilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Camilia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing