We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A nice and cosy riad in the middle of the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Iaazane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Iaazane
Save
You added Riad Dar Iaazane to your Saves list
Ranked #925 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Deventer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“A nice and cosy riad in the middle of the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We booked the riad on the internet about two weeks in advance. It was tough to find the riad the first time. after arrival the owner was really kind, he pointed out everything we asked him about the city. It was easy to book some extra nights after our trips through the country.

The rooms are ok, clean and cosy.even as the two bathrooms.
A nice spot on the roof to have a drink and a great view over Marrakesh
and only a 5 minutes walk to the main square.
In my opinion the ambiance is really nice! It's a real good backpackers spot.
if you want a nice place for a good price I would sent you to this riad! .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Arrived there from a desert trip, and first experiences were good...the owner came out on his motor scooter to meet us at the gate of the Medina closest to the hostel (the part of the Medina in which it is located is closed to cars), and gave us a warm welcome. He gave us good advice about the city, and was generally helpful. The rooms were alright...my bed was hideously uncomfortable, but the other three friends in the dorm seemed to have much more comfortable ones, and some of the wiring looked about to explode, but it was what you'd expect for the very modest price. Bathrooms were in fact quite good.

The problem came after our second night. We had originally only booked to stay two nights, since one of our friends was only staying that amount of time. Upon arrival, I had immediately told the owner the other three of us wanted to stay an extra night, which he suggested should be no problem. Just before going to sleep on the second night, I reiterated this, a little more firmly to be sure, and he said there was no problem. Then the next evening at 6 o'clock, while we were out and about exploring the Medina, we got a phone call telling us we needed to get back to the hostel right away because they had to give away our room.

The story was, the owner hadn't forgotten our verbal booking of the extra night, he had simply taken no action about it, so it still appeared as available online. Some other tourists had booked at midnight of the previous day, apparently after we had gone to sleep; then when we left at 10 am the next morning, when he still hadn't woken up and hence couldn't tell us. Bizarrely, he hadn't thought to phone us in the morning, but instead waited until an hour after the people who had booked our room arrived. To his credit, he didn't let them into our room, which still had our locked suitcases, and non-valuable items strewn over our beds...but that would have annoyed the new arrivals who couldn't get into their room until 7 by the time we came back and packed up. What sort of hostel has 7pm check-in time!

Ultimately bizarre all round. Why the owner didn't bother booking us in; and why he didn't contact us earlier, or leave us a note, or something (for all he knew, why might have been on another day trip...we didn't get back to Marra until 10pm the day before) is a question I can't answer.

He was honest about his stuff-up and wasn't a crook, or a rip-off merchant, just not very competent at all. At least he helped us to find alternate accomodation nearby, albeit twice the price (but probably twice the quality too).

If you do stay here...just make allowances for this incompetency!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroldo_Cameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Charming little spot down an impossible to find path in the medina. The rooms are decent and the bathrooms are nicely renovated. But everything is at least slightly crappy and mostly dirty. Clean sheets, operational lights, and a cozier hang-out spot would appeal more to the backpacker crowd than the "let's just get stoned and party in Marrakesh" crowd. A bit more gross than other places I've stayed at the same price. You can do better.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfSmitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

We needed a place to stay when coming back from Essauira and just before leaving from Marrakesh we found this Ryad. It looked liked modest but we were planing to arrive late from Essauira and wake up early the day after so it suited our needs. The room we reserved costed 37€. We payed 40€ and Ali, the owner, told us he would give us the change back when we left. We told them it was alright and that we would arrive late from Essauira as we were coming back by bus. He told us not to be worried as the room had been payed.

What was our surprise when we arrived from Essauira, very tired after the trip, and he told us that he had delivered our room to a couple of guys because we had arrived late. We were very disapointed, and even more when he told to a girl who works to him to leave her room so we could stay there sleeping in a matress on the floor. Lots of noise coming from the TV in his room during the night and the day after a semi-breakfast which was served in a very dirty table. The toilet very dirty as well with his personal things everywhere.

We had to insist to get the change back and he told us that the room we had slept (a matress on the floor) had the same prize that the initial room we had reserved because we had to pay a bottle of water he had offered to us the night before.

At any moment he asked us for our passports in order to fulfil the official sheet so I'm not sure if the place has the required permision to host guests.

In summary, please, avoid this place or, if you decide to go, make sure you defend your rights as we insisted Ali not to do what he had done to us to anybody else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagabondMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
1.3 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#146 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#150 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#101 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#54 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Iaazane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Iaazane

Property: Riad Dar Iaazane
Address: 57 Derb El Hammam Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #925 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing