We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money!”
Review of Riad Oumaima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Oumaima
Ranked #465 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not the most luxurious riad, but not the most expensive either.
Plus points - traditional Moroccan style & décor, EXCELLENT traditional dinners cooked by Zenab & served by(English-speaking) Abdulla, both of whom are friendly& welcoming, plus helpful French owners Jean-Marc & Chantal.
Minus points - it is NOT easy to find, even with a street plan & having negotiated our way through the maze of tiny alleys several times, we got lost! A few arrows with the name of the Riad would help.
Our shower water was unreliable, temperature-wise & due to the small screen sprayed water all over, soaking the bath mat. There was nowhere to hang it to dry - we had to ask for replacements as it wasn't changed daily.
As all the rooms look onto the courtyard (the main eating & relaxing area) they could be noisy, due to the TV, CD player, children running about or people chatting late into the night.
We were warned by the owner that the feral cats could be a nuisance, & the only time I used a lounger-bed on the roof terrace I gave up after 5 minutes because of the smell of cats' pee.

Room Tip: Our room was a Duplex with the bed on a kind of shelf - avoid this if you have to make frequent trip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobblenoseWarwicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    40
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
29
92
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castricum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay in this beautiful Riad. We are a family with 3 children and we stayed in the family suite with two bedrooms and a living room.
The staff is very friendly. The location is perfect for wandering around the medina. In the Riad it is very peacefull and quiet. We woud definitely recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

First a tip: go by bus from the airport to the nearby busstation of Sidi Abdelaziz. You pay 30 dirham for a single trip. Round is 50 dirham pro person. We went by taxi and got ripped off for 220 dirham single trip. So beware for the taxi drivers, you can get it much cheaper and dont go to the first taxi you see, keep walking.
Also, if boys show you the way they ask 50 dirham each for just showing the road. Give them a small tip and beware of their tactics.
Riad Oumaima is small and cosy. Very nice atmosphere. If we go again to Marrakesh, we will visit this riad again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjolijn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

At first we were anxious about ever finding our way in and out of here. But we were given detailed maps and one of the guys working here even walked with us the first time. After our first day, we had no problems navigating our way around. The riad is absolutely beautiful and is a peaceful haven considering its location. Its the most tranquil place we have had the pleasure of staying at our entire trip thus far. The people who work here really go out of their way to ensure one is well looked after. They are warm and welcoming and are able to organise many excursions out of marrakech city. I absolutely loved my time here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed two nights in July with our three kids (8, 5 and 3) and could not have been more happy with our choice of riad. Riad Oumaima is absolutely gorgeous, with a lovely heart-shaped plunge pool, lots of fine details in the furnishings, and a great terrace on top.
Having the pool was a great help for us to make sure our kids felt okay with the challenges of Marrakech in the summertime. The location of the riad is ideal for exploring the souks, strolling down to the Place (10 minute walk), and wandering about the old heart of the medina.
Final words have to go to the staff and the food - breakfasts were luxurious with fruit, pancakes, yoghurt, bread, and more. We had some of the best tajines of our whole three-week stay in Morocco here. All in all, the best choice you can make for a riad in the medina, if you ask me!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with friends. It was our first time in a Riad and it was gorgeous. The rooms were all different and lovely. The terraces was a nice cool place to hang out in the evening with a nice view of the city at night.

As a side note the place is found down an alley/road called Derb Ouayhah. You will make the first two right handed turns. The road is narrow and makes a lot of turns, it is also not lit in someplaces. The Riad is not marked with a sign like some of the others but is marked with #16. I hope this saves you some trouble/worry the first time you try to find it :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The tiny maze-like streets that lead you to the Riad are incredibly deceptive of the hotel's size, beauty and charm. As soon as the front door opened, we were stunned. Beautifully decorated, all details tended to by a warm staff (need I mention our various "towel art" on our bed each day?!), and super comfortable room with tip-top amenities (the best sleep and shower I had in my 3-week travel in Morocco!!), Riad Oumaima was a real gem.

The riad is located near the old Medina and Djemaa el Fna (short 5 to 10-minute walk), and is situated on a quiet street away from the main hustle and bustle. If you want a night cap on the way back from a day's adventures, you can always stop by Cafe Arabe (definitely a travelers' haunt rather than a local's) which is only a 2-minute walk away. The breakfast was delicious and plenty (huge cups of coffee), the service was warm but not intrusive, and if you wish for connection to the world, wi-fi was consistent and strong. At night time, when the inside of the riad was lit up with candles, sometimes we just sat at the table right in front of our room and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Stay here. You won't find a more beautiful, comfortable, gracious, and warm place for the price in Marrakesh! I cannot recommend this place more!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor (or higher) - it'll offer you more privacy; plus, you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#81 of 499 in Marrakech
396 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
Riad Ksar Saad Hotel & Spa
#240 of 499 in Marrakech
91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,237 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#107 of 499 in Marrakech
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Oumaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Oumaima

Property: Riad Oumaima
Address: 30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Oumaima 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will appreciate the relaxed rhythm of life, the peace and the conviviality which reigns in this house. Chantal and Jean Marc will welcome you all year long with their team which will try hard to satisfy your desires. Typically lounge, dining room and 5 guest houses. Warmed swimming pool, smalls lounges in the patio and in passageways. On the terrace, pergola and transats for the idleness. Seen of the mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Oumaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Oumaima Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing