We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad centrally located.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Oumaima

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Oumaima to your Saves list
Riad Oumaima
30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #611 of 1,149 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad centrally located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with friends. It was our first time in a Riad and it was gorgeous. The rooms were all different and lovely. The terraces was a nice cool place to hang out in the evening with a nice view of the city at night.

As a side note the place is found down an alley/road called Derb Ouayhah. You will make the first two right handed turns. The road is narrow and makes a lot of turns, it is also not lit in someplaces. The Riad is not marked with a sign like some of the others but is marked with #16. I hope this saves you some trouble/worry the first time you try to find it :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The tiny maze-like streets that lead you to the Riad are incredibly deceptive of the hotel's size, beauty and charm. As soon as the front door opened, we were stunned. Beautifully decorated, all details tended to by a warm staff (need I mention our various "towel art" on our bed each day?!), and super comfortable room with tip-top amenities (the best sleep and shower I had in my 3-week travel in Morocco!!), Riad Oumaima was a real gem.

The riad is located near the old Medina and Djemaa el Fna (short 5 to 10-minute walk), and is situated on a quiet street away from the main hustle and bustle. If you want a night cap on the way back from a day's adventures, you can always stop by Cafe Arabe (definitely a travelers' haunt rather than a local's) which is only a 2-minute walk away. The breakfast was delicious and plenty (huge cups of coffee), the service was warm but not intrusive, and if you wish for connection to the world, wi-fi was consistent and strong. At night time, when the inside of the riad was lit up with candles, sometimes we just sat at the table right in front of our room and enjoyed the peace and quiet.

Stay here. You won't find a more beautiful, comfortable, gracious, and warm place for the price in Marrakesh! I cannot recommend this place more!!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor (or higher) - it'll offer you more privacy; plus, you'll get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodegraven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We have already experienced quite a lot of great accommodations but Riad Oumaima is a class apart. Hidden in a dark alley in the middle of the medina of Marrakech lies behind a heavy wooden door, a tantalizing environment, straight out of a fairy tale it seems. Beautiful original interior. Magnificent rooms and relaxation areas, a romantic pool and a fantastic roof terrace. That a lot of care and attention is paid to this Riad is clearly a fact.

On top of this they have an amazing staff. We have never before been treated so truly friendly and polite. We felt like the royal couple during our 4 nights stay (we actually pronlongued our vistit to Marrakech at the expense of a day shorter in Casblanca).

Also highly recommended are the meals prepared by the cook of the Riad. Totally against our principles, we are not fans of the food offered in hotels and guest houses, we tried the dinner at the Riad and were completely surprised. By far the best food we ate during our stay in Morocco.

Excellent is for Riad Oumaima actually an understatement. We can't wait to return to Oumaima!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasper v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We stayed here in March with our two young children and loved it! You enter via alleyways and then through a wooden door into a peaceful hidden gem. The service was good. The riad has been decorated traditionally and is not justified from the pictures. There is a lovely sun terrace and the breakfast was good too. Our family room had two seperate bedrooms, bathroom and lounge area overlooking the centre of the riad. I would recommend that you arrange for the riad to pick you up from the airport-you would never find it yourself!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoetalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Great traditional Riad out of the madness of the Medina area, you wouldn't know it was all just outside the door a short stroll away. Great rooms, great terrace, great traditional decor and great service. Lovely breakfast and lovely people. You really don't need to look anywhere else.

Room Tip: All pretty quiet and rooms inward facing of course, as in all Riads. I think they may get larger as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sids60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here in February and enjoyed it so much that we returned last week with eight of our family & friends that joined us from the USA..
The owners do a fabulous job with such calm & ease . The service and organization is impeccabilmente flawless.
I recommend pre- booking airport taxi pick up & return transportation and dinner reservations directly with the riad.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OTVB4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We completely rented this Riad for the weekend for a group of 10 friends. Its right in the heart of the Medina, in the middle of everything with easy access to the Souks. The decor is lovely, a lot of craftsmanship went into the fixtures, the painted ceilings, the rennovations. We had very hot weather for mid November. Jean-Marc and Chantal are wonderful hosts who can organize anything you need. We had a traditional Moroccan dinner birthday celebration on Saturday night and the pastilla and couscous cooked by their chef for the was outstanding, and very copious - more than we could ever finish. Excellent quality for a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again with friends, with family or with children as well. Once one learns how to navigate the little street to get there (takes a few tries!) - one has excellent rooftop views. The little pool in the court is refreshing and the night time ambiance with all the candles and lanterns magic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#148 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#273 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Oumaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Oumaima

Address: 30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 1,149 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will appreciate the relaxed rhythm of life, the peace and the conviviality which reigns in this house. Chantal and Jean Marc will welcome you all year long with their team which will try hard to satisfy your desires. Typically lounge, dining room and 5 guest houses. Warmed swimming pool, smalls lounges in the patio and in passageways. On the terrace, pergola and transats for the idleness. Seen of the mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Oumaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Oumaima Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing