We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...FABULOUS...”
Review of Riad Oumaima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Oumaima
Ranked #477 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2011

We stayed here in February and enjoyed it so much that we returned last week with eight of our family & friends that joined us from the USA..
The owners do a fabulous job with such calm & ease . The service and organization is impeccabilmente flawless.
I recommend pre- booking airport taxi pick up & return transportation and dinner reservations directly with the riad.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTVB4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 179 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

We completely rented this Riad for the weekend for a group of 10 friends. Its right in the heart of the Medina, in the middle of everything with easy access to the Souks. The decor is lovely, a lot of craftsmanship went into the fixtures, the painted ceilings, the rennovations. We had very hot weather for mid November. Jean-Marc and Chantal are wonderful hosts who can organize anything you need. We had a traditional Moroccan dinner birthday celebration on Saturday night and the pastilla and couscous cooked by their chef for the was outstanding, and very copious - more than we could ever finish. Excellent quality for a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again with friends, with family or with children as well. Once one learns how to navigate the little street to get there (takes a few tries!) - one has excellent rooftop views. The little pool in the court is refreshing and the night time ambiance with all the candles and lanterns magic.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShazParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

i don't advise anyone to visite it .and to lost his moeny .ther's no security in the naiberhood and no light and far from jamaa lafna 30 min .and you have to take with you a GPS to now the way .ther's no clim.verry expainsive .

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank king021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2009

I don't normally leave reviews, but having read the last two negative ones I thought I'd share my experience.
I took my wife and two year old son here for a 5 night break. The owners organised a taxi to pick us up from the airport and for someone to wheel our luggage through the labyrinth (aka souks) to the riad. We would not have found it otherwise. The location is great though, just a 10 minute stroll to the main square.
The modest doorway leads you into a beautiful courtyard with a small plunge pool with candles and fresh flowers. We had the room leading off the courtyard which was just perfect (and also the cheapest.) Quiet and comfy, plus the owners provided a cot for our son.
There is also a roof terrace with sun loungers, the weather was varied so we didn't use it much. But we did go up and stare at the Mountains as the sun was setting.
What we loved most about the Riad was the food and the staff. We opted to eat in most evenings and were glad we did. The food was amazing, plus the catered for my wife's dietary whims. What's more when my son was playing up the staff were more than happy to keep him entertained whilst we ate in peace. Priceless.
On to the owners, yes it's true that they don't speak very good English, but we speak a little French and we all understood each other. You are going to a foreign country so criticising them for not speaking your language is a little cheap! They couldn't do enough for us. Plus they served us beer and wine in the evening after a long days sight seeing. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pet1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2009

It is badly managed riad, with the owners (living in the riad, so you are always under control and there is no privacy at all) mainly interested in charging you all the extras they can. The rooms are ok but (I don't know why) they smell badly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aynrand69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

First of all, if you are not fluent in french, DO NOT go this Riad. Its management dont speak english (or they didn´t want to, we´ll never know it). Needless to say, communications problems were a common issue. Thanks god, one of us was fluent in french,but sometimes we had very weird and unneccessary situations. It´s quite difficult to assume a Riad where English is not spoken by the management, where in contrast ,in the street any native can speak French, English, Spanish or even Italian.

Although we were close to the desert, at night the temperatures decrease and it´s very cold at night actually.
The main problem was that the "Riad" IS NOT WELL ISOLATED, but what it´s more, the heating system only worked properly in one room, so let´s imagine the extreme cold in the other rooms. Sleep and have a rest after a hard day was a difficult task. The management try to fix it but for reasons why don´t know they couldn´t. However, they charged us the same fees (and some more for extra things...). We all had flue the days after due to cold we suffered there.

The location of the riad was also bad. A taxi or car is not able to reach the place - you need to walk for about five minutes across dark streets without light (imagine at night) while the rubbish and the mess complicated the path.

In conclusion, try to find another place, with more skilled management and in-room equipment (to avoid cold during winter or extreme heat at summer). E.g: There weren´t any separation between toilets/WC and the room.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kidd_dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank glauco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.8 mi away
Iberostar Club Palmeraie Marrakech
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#270 of 500 in Marrakech
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Oumaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Oumaima

Address: 30 derb Ouayhah | Sidi ABDELAZIZ, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #477 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $53 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Oumaima 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will appreciate the relaxed rhythm of life, the peace and the conviviality which reigns in this house. Chantal and Jean Marc will welcome you all year long with their team which will try hard to satisfy your desires. Typically lounge, dining room and 5 guest houses. Warmed swimming pool, smalls lounges in the patio and in passageways. On the terrace, pergola and transats for the idleness. Seen of the mountains of the Atlas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riad Oumaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Oumaima Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing