We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Habiba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Habiba
Ranked #350 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've been back from marrakesh for just over a week now and I still can't get over what a fantastic place it is ... I had some reservations about a group of 40 something women travelling to that sort of country but it far exceeded my expectations. Dar Habiba from the outside looks fairly uninspiring, however the minute you walk through the door your senses are awakened. We were hit with the beautiful smell if jasmine oil and rose petals strewn over the riad courtyard. All the rooms are beautifully ornate with lovely linen, artwork, objects d'art etc. the decor from the polished copper sinks to the gilt and fretwork is stunning. There's even a resident pair of tortoises!!!!!
So as a riad hotel I couldn't quite workout the set up. We had the whole use of the riad which was luxury. We had two lovely ladies who catered to our every need - food delicious. We had a traditional haman on site and also the use of Moustafa - who's presence was very reassuring and we greatly appreciated his advice and usefulness when booking Cabs, carriages and restaurants. NOTHING WAS A PROBLEM.
We couldnt fault the accomadation - am not sure what one of the previous reviewers expected for silly money each night but we all thought was awesome and between us all we've stayed in some nice places. I'd give it 50 stars!!

Room Tip: All were lovely the "suite room" is the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    25
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belchford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just returned to UK from our first trip to Morocco. It will not be our last.

Stayed for only two nights at Dar Habiba, which is located close to the main square and the souks of Marrakech. Despite being close to all the hustle and bustle of the city, Dar Habiba was an oasis of calm. We stayed in a really comfortable room and were very well looked after by the very pleasant and helpful staff.

Mostapha welcomed us from our taxi and guided us through the narrow streets to the riad. He was very helpful throughout our stay. The other staff were just as pleasant and we really felt that we could treat the place like our own home.

The food, both at breakfast and in the evening was delicious and plentiful.

Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the first floor rooms, but all the rooms looked very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

My 26yr old daughter and I stayed here from 6-10 Sept and had a lovely time. We weren't bowled over on first sight - the plunge pool didn't look fresh, our room was small and dark and the terrace was not breathtaking: the photographs we had seen had led us to expect more. BUT Mustapha surprised us by offering breakfast though it was quite late; the location is fantastic - very close to the Jama el Fna; some of the best wares can be found on the alleys leading to the main square; the Riad is very old and retains a lot of it's antiquity; the toiletries provided are lovely; beds are very comfortable though narrow; food is tasty & plentiful (if expensive); mint tea is on tap, but the most important factor was the willingness of Mustapha, the manager, to help, including accompanying my daughter at night to buy some water because she was worried about going alone. He is also very knowledgeable about history and knows the area like the back of his hand...he can regale tales till the mint tea runs out....
Excursions: best to book your own tickets from the bus station otherwise return journeys are not guaranteed. Even though we paid Premier price for our tickets to and from Essouria which entitled us to an air conditioned comfy coach, we had to return in a beaten up 7 seater with no air con.
Taxis: haggle with the petite taxis and insist they don't stop to pick up other passengers on the route; even if one declines, another will accept. The agencies the Riad uses are very expensive- we paid 20Dh each to drive to the bus depot but on the return journey, we paid only 12.50Dh each for a petite taxi.
Water: buy your own - 6Dh outside, but 15Dh in the Riad
Breakfast: expected more but the orange juice is absolutely delicious!!!

Room Tip: The Nomade is on the West side so gets the setting sun; choose the one opposite which is brighter (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir, Morocco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Marakech is an inspiring city, with plenty to do and see. This wasn't our first trip to Marakech, it was our third and my husband is Moroccan - which makes everything a little easier. However, had this not been the case, Dar Habiba would have made sure we visited and did all the right things!
This visit was part of our honeymoon and the first time we've stayed in a Riad - it was stunning. Moustapha collected us from the centre and walked us to the Riad, giving us tips en route and once in Dar Habiba, nothing was too much trouble.
Seemingly run by a European couple, Dar Habiba still has all the Moroccan charm and grace that we expected. Beautiful ambiance, fabulous food and a prime location;
Thank you Dar Habiba for looking after us, welcoming us and being generally fabulous. We will be recommending the socks off you!

Room Tip: We had the "Berber Room" and even though it was on the ground floor, near the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilySmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

As a group of 17 year olds experiencing our first holiday without parents, Marrakech had the potential to be a bit daunting. However, as soon as we arrived at Dar Habiba our concerns were forgotten. Absolutely beautiful riad, with all of the western comforts subtly incorporated into a truly authentic Moroccan riad. Perfectly sized rooms with incredible ceilings, beautiful roof terrace, brilliant complementary breakfast with mint tea. The staff were incredible, offering us brilliant service and great advice about our time in the city. Couldn't fault it at all!

Room Tip: Every room is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

On June 15th 2013 7 females new to Marrakech stayed at this Riad for a week. The property exceeded all our expectations and as all the reviews show it is the perfect place to stay to explore this cultural city. Mostly however the devotion of the team of staff are what makes this place. Mustafa is a gem a true gentleman who caters to your very need in such a friendly and obliging way nothing is to much trouble, even us fussy crowd!!! There are aspects of Marrakech that are concerning and by no means does this reflect on this property as it is well located well kept and truly fabulous. I have no hesitation returning and would welcome the staff into my home any time as they became friends,Thank you so much for making the first taste of Morocco so good, it will not be the last.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayestoneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The riad staff were unbelievably friendly, giving us advice on anything we asked and this was one of the very best things about the whole trip. Rooms are clean and very attractive, ensure you take a good look at the ceiling in the rooms (sounds odd but you'll understand when you get there!). Relaxed atmosphere and great location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#185 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#81 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#130 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#73 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#177 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Cinnamon
Riad Cinnamon
#253 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Habiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Habiba

Property: Dar Habiba
Address: Rue Riad Zituon LkDim | Derb Jdid No. 18, Marrakech 400000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #350 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Habiba 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tranquil English speaking Riad in the perfect location for exploring the Medina and Palaces. Search for Dar Habiba on the web and you’ll see everything we have to offer, including a beautiful candlelit hammam, a roof top terrace garden, spacious courtyard and atmospheric rooms. Our hammam experience, traditional food and personal service are genuinely second to none. We really look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Habiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing