We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little Riad and best service! Makes me feel at home!”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #61 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Marrakech not long after my fiance proposed to me so when we came to this Riad it felt like we were on our honeymoon. We arrived late at night and took a taxi to the riad, the taxi takes you to a certain point after which you have to walk because the streets are too narrow. You will be swarmed by shifty looking men offering to show you the way to your hotel. Our friends warned us about this so we mapped out the walking route to the hotel, somehow we got it wrong and we got lost. Anyway I highly advise you contact the hotel to organise pickup, in saying this I did email them before our trip and they didn't respond. Eventually we gave up and let a guy take us down a dark narrow alleyway and sure enough there was our riad. We gave him some small change for tips. Basically you need to be aware that in Marrakech nothing is free, everything that people do for you requires a fee for their service.

When we arrived we were greeted by Boujemman (I hope I spelt his name correctly) with some mint tea, he honestly made us feel like we were king and queen. A very warm and friendly gentleman with great service, he gave us a free taxi to the airport after our stay. I must add that even after we arrived back in London after our trip he even called us to make sure we got back ok and asked us to post this review. The other staff struggled to speak english we had difficulty communicating with them.

We got the room on the terrace level, it felt like we had a private suite because they also have sunbaking chairs and lounge area on the terrace. The riad also has a indoor pool, massage services and hammam as well. We decided to have a massage and hammam at the riad, it was definitely an interesting experience but I'm not sure if I would do it again. You can see the Atlas mountains from the terrace but its not the most amazing view.

The room had a very rustic feel to it, some people may want to bring slippers as the floors are concrete and your shoes get pretty dirty walking through Marrakech. Breakfast was included and consisted of bread and pancakes with honey and assorted jams. We never had any meat products for breakfast but to be honest in Marrakech you will surely get sick of all the meat tagines and kebabs after a while. Orange juice and coffee was provided. The riad can also organise dinners for you but you need to book in advance. We chose to eat out instead and they recommended good restaurants for us. We also booked a tour to Ait Ben Haddou bypassing the Atlas mountains through the riad, their prices are very competitive.

The location is very convenient, we walked to all the main attractions using a map. It is just a 5 minute walk to the main square and further on to the souks. I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would stay there again. 5 stars for service from Boujemman, he is a genuinely nice man.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franger28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
There are newer reviews for Riad Diana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 685 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed March 2013.
The riad is in a great location 5-10 minutes walk away from Djemaa el-Fna. It's amazing how quiet and relaxing the atmosphere is compared to the main square and busy souks both inside the riad and on the lovely roof terrace. We stayed 2 nights in the Arba room before going to the desert and then 2 nights in the Wahid room. Both rooms were great, but it's worth the extra for the size and comfort of the Arba room! The staff made us feel like part of the family and were very accommodating, always willing to make incredible mint tea, answer any questions we had and get up to make us breakfast at 6am when we had an early start.
The only slight downside was that one of the riad's neighbours was doing some work on the outside of his property just outside for the last 2 days of our stay, which started quite early in the morning. This was obviously no fault of their own and could happen anywhere in such a busy and compact city, but the staff were very apologetic nonetheless.
Would thoroughly recommend Riad Diana to anyone looking at going to Marrakech!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamB645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for three nights on a weekend trip to Marrakech. We stayed in the Riad Diana and had a fantastic time. Everything was spotless clean and was decorated very tastfully. Staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and professional. The service was excellent from the minute we arrived, it couldn't have been better. Due to the Riad's small size it was a really personal experience like 'a home away from home'. Also the location was beneficial, as the main square was literally around the corner and I if any questions regarding sightseeing or dining out came up, we were always very good adviced on what to do and where to go. We are definitively going to visit Marrakech again and stay at the Riad Diana.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad with excellent location in the Medina is highly recommended by us! The staff is very helpful and we will always remember their hospitality. We had a nice dinner in the patio and relaxed on the nice terrace on sunny afternoons. The riad offers a hammam which is good value for your money.

We stayed there for a week and will defintely be back when we visit Marrakech again'

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Letterman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The riad was a quiet oasis in a bustling area. Despite the approach down tiny lanes, the city felt quite safe. The cartman managed to squeeze a tip out of me, but it seems he is indeed paid by the riad, so be aware of that. Our initial welcome over mint tea was more or less all in French, which I am fine with, but the manager is around most late afternoons, and has extremely good English.

My daughter had a hammam one day and massage the next, which were enjoyed. We also went for the dinner on one evening, which was lovely, though were pleased we were not dining alone that evening. We were recommended the Dar Es Salam very close by for another meal - very ornate, lively with some entertainment, and a 250dh menu plus wine. Breakfast varied each day and was simple but fine for anyone used to Continental breakfasts. We got the riad to arrange a lovely private driver for a half day around the parks and the Palmeries, with a fixed price set in advance, as was also the case for the airport taxis.

The building is traditional, so it isn't really possible to compare rooms to a 5 star hotel, but all was clean and comfortable. All staff could not have done more to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: We had 2 double rooms on the ground floor and first floor off the balcony. The ground floor room op...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived on 23rd February for a seven night stay, booked through Travel Republic, so already paid for. We stayed one night, moving to a decent hotel outside the city walls on day 2 and our complaints are as follows:
1) We were put in an annex around the corner, not actually in the Riad. Although the pictures posted online of Riad Diana are actually very artistically done. Please do not expect the reality to come up to that standard. The 'pool' is actually a cold bath in the main entrace hall. Our room in the annex was small and dark, but adequate. However:
2) We had no hot water for a shower. Despite asking twice for this to be put right, it was at best lukewarm for a few seconds, then back to cold. I think the water heater was broken as it kept starting up and cutting out.
3) The sheets were smelly. They had not been aired properly and were slightly damp.
4) We requested an extra pillow for my husband (only one each is provided). The request was ignored.
5) I had emailed a week before to inform the owner that my husband is diabetic and cannot eat sweet breakfast goods. It was agreed we could have eggs, fruit and unsweeetened yoghurt. We were provided with bread, pancakes and cake with two types of jam.
6) The sunbeds on the roof terrace are rusty metal and all were broken in our Riad.

Visitors should be aware that there are no safe facilities and you have to carry your valuables and passport with you at all times. The staff seemed quite able to speak English when trying to sell us trips out but when we had a request or complaint, were unable to understand us. I asked for a refund when leaving, but of course, they couldn't understand me. As our daughter had just died and we were tired and in need of relaxation, we just left. I have since asked the owner by email for a refund. I'm sure the world at large will be interested in the reply.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Diana, Inhaber at Riad Diana, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,

I don’t understand why you wrote this review for Riad Diana when you haven’t been there. With your reservation you asked for an extremely quiet and peaceful room away from other guests and therefore we suggested another private Riad around the corner of Raid Diana to you. So all the critiques that you wrote are not for Riad Diana. Riad Diana is always well maintained and in a good condition and we offer the best service to our guests.

Unfortunately Raid Diana was already fully booked so that we haven't been able to give you a room there. We are very soory for your inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there in July 2009 and loved it so much we had no hesitation in rebooking with Riad Diana this time. Again, it was beautiful. The place is lovely and peaceful inside, 5 mins from the medina depending on the business of the main walkway and shops into the square.

The views are great from the terrace.

The people who work there are very helpful.

The breakfast was good, they even cooked us eggs, which was not offered with the original breakfast. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day.

We stayed in the room on the terrace, which is beautiful to walk straight out onto the sun drenched terrace. I will certainly stay there again.


The price was very reasonable compared to other Riads around, although it had gone up since last time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 502 in Marrakech
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 502 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#77 of 502 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#85 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
880 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#57 of 502 in Marrakech
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $57 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing