We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing riad with professional service!”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #52 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing riad with professional service!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This riad with excellent location in the Medina is highly recommended by us! The staff is very helpful and we will always remember their hospitality. We had a nice dinner in the patio and relaxed on the nice terrace on sunny afternoons. The riad offers a hammam which is good value for your money.

We stayed there for a week and will defintely be back when we visit Marrakech again'

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letterman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    146
    21
    7
    2
See reviews for
135
301
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The riad was a quiet oasis in a bustling area. Despite the approach down tiny lanes, the city felt quite safe. The cartman managed to squeeze a tip out of me, but it seems he is indeed paid by the riad, so be aware of that. Our initial welcome over mint tea was more or less all in French, which I am fine with, but the manager is around most late afternoons, and has extremely good English.

My daughter had a hammam one day and massage the next, which were enjoyed. We also went for the dinner on one evening, which was lovely, though were pleased we were not dining alone that evening. We were recommended the Dar Es Salam very close by for another meal - very ornate, lively with some entertainment, and a 250dh menu plus wine. Breakfast varied each day and was simple but fine for anyone used to Continental breakfasts. We got the riad to arrange a lovely private driver for a half day around the parks and the Palmeries, with a fixed price set in advance, as was also the case for the airport taxis.

The building is traditional, so it isn't really possible to compare rooms to a 5 star hotel, but all was clean and comfortable. All staff could not have done more to make us feel at home.

Room Tip: We had 2 double rooms on the ground floor and first floor off the balcony. The ground floor room op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived on 23rd February for a seven night stay, booked through Travel Republic, so already paid for. We stayed one night, moving to a decent hotel outside the city walls on day 2 and our complaints are as follows:
1) We were put in an annex around the corner, not actually in the Riad. Although the pictures posted online of Riad Diana are actually very artistically done. Please do not expect the reality to come up to that standard. The 'pool' is actually a cold bath in the main entrace hall. Our room in the annex was small and dark, but adequate. However:
2) We had no hot water for a shower. Despite asking twice for this to be put right, it was at best lukewarm for a few seconds, then back to cold. I think the water heater was broken as it kept starting up and cutting out.
3) The sheets were smelly. They had not been aired properly and were slightly damp.
4) We requested an extra pillow for my husband (only one each is provided). The request was ignored.
5) I had emailed a week before to inform the owner that my husband is diabetic and cannot eat sweet breakfast goods. It was agreed we could have eggs, fruit and unsweeetened yoghurt. We were provided with bread, pancakes and cake with two types of jam.
6) The sunbeds on the roof terrace are rusty metal and all were broken in our Riad.

Visitors should be aware that there are no safe facilities and you have to carry your valuables and passport with you at all times. The staff seemed quite able to speak English when trying to sell us trips out but when we had a request or complaint, were unable to understand us. I asked for a refund when leaving, but of course, they couldn't understand me. As our daughter had just died and we were tired and in need of relaxation, we just left. I have since asked the owner by email for a refund. I'm sure the world at large will be interested in the reply.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Diana, Inhaber at Riad Diana, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

I don’t understand why you wrote this review for Riad Diana when you haven’t been there. With your reservation you asked for an extremely quiet and peaceful room away from other guests and therefore we suggested another private Riad around the corner of Raid Diana to you. So all the critiques that you wrote are not for Riad Diana. Riad Diana is always well maintained and in a good condition and we offer the best service to our guests.

Unfortunately Raid Diana was already fully booked so that we haven't been able to give you a room there. We are very soory for your inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrington England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there in July 2009 and loved it so much we had no hesitation in rebooking with Riad Diana this time. Again, it was beautiful. The place is lovely and peaceful inside, 5 mins from the medina depending on the business of the main walkway and shops into the square.

The views are great from the terrace.

The people who work there are very helpful.

The breakfast was good, they even cooked us eggs, which was not offered with the original breakfast. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day.

We stayed in the room on the terrace, which is beautiful to walk straight out onto the sun drenched terrace. I will certainly stay there again.


The price was very reasonable compared to other Riads around, although it had gone up since last time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the Riad Diana in August last year and have meant to write a review since. Very welcoming staff, good food, quiet yet very central. The transfer was spot on, tyhe treatments good and they will even come and find you when you get lost in the Medina! Definintely one to recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were blown away by this Riad. From the welcome cup of mint tea to the staff getting up super early to serve us breakfast before our early departing flight, the experience was phenomenal. Everyone at the riad were very helpful and went out of their way to provide us with any information we needed. The rooftop terrace was a major plus and we really enjoyed relaxing up there after exploring the busy streets and souks. The fresh orange juice at breakfast was a huge treat and we chose to have the chicken tagine the riad serves. All the food was top quality. I can't say enough good things about this place and will be recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnneGirl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently returned from Marrakesh and 4 of us stayed at this lovely place.It was very welcoming and the staff really helpful.The rooms very comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast.I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.0 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#57 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#87 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#99 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#33 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Property: Riad Diana
Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing