We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”
Review of Riad Diana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Diana
Ranked #62 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived on 23rd February for a seven night stay, booked through Travel Republic, so already paid for. We stayed one night, moving to a decent hotel outside the city walls on day 2 and our complaints are as follows:
1) We were put in an annex around the corner, not actually in the Riad. Although the pictures posted online of Riad Diana are actually very artistically done. Please do not expect the reality to come up to that standard. The 'pool' is actually a cold bath in the main entrace hall. Our room in the annex was small and dark, but adequate. However:
2) We had no hot water for a shower. Despite asking twice for this to be put right, it was at best lukewarm for a few seconds, then back to cold. I think the water heater was broken as it kept starting up and cutting out.
3) The sheets were smelly. They had not been aired properly and were slightly damp.
4) We requested an extra pillow for my husband (only one each is provided). The request was ignored.
5) I had emailed a week before to inform the owner that my husband is diabetic and cannot eat sweet breakfast goods. It was agreed we could have eggs, fruit and unsweeetened yoghurt. We were provided with bread, pancakes and cake with two types of jam.
6) The sunbeds on the roof terrace are rusty metal and all were broken in our Riad.

Visitors should be aware that there are no safe facilities and you have to carry your valuables and passport with you at all times. The staff seemed quite able to speak English when trying to sell us trips out but when we had a request or complaint, were unable to understand us. I asked for a refund when leaving, but of course, they couldn't understand me. As our daughter had just died and we were tired and in need of relaxation, we just left. I have since asked the owner by email for a refund. I'm sure the world at large will be interested in the reply.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieWSandhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad_Diana, Inhaber at Riad Diana, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Dear Sir and Madam,

I don’t understand why you wrote this review for Riad Diana when you haven’t been there. With your reservation you asked for an extremely quiet and peaceful room away from other guests and therefore we suggested another private Riad around the corner of Raid Diana to you. So all the critiques that you wrote are not for Riad Diana. Riad Diana is always well maintained and in a good condition and we offer the best service to our guests.

Unfortunately Raid Diana was already fully booked so that we haven't been able to give you a room there. We are very soory for your inconveniences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 697 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there in July 2009 and loved it so much we had no hesitation in rebooking with Riad Diana this time. Again, it was beautiful. The place is lovely and peaceful inside, 5 mins from the medina depending on the business of the main walkway and shops into the square.

The views are great from the terrace.

The people who work there are very helpful.

The breakfast was good, they even cooked us eggs, which was not offered with the original breakfast. The breakfast certainly sets you up for the day.

We stayed in the room on the terrace, which is beautiful to walk straight out onto the sun drenched terrace. I will certainly stay there again.


The price was very reasonable compared to other Riads around, although it had gone up since last time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed in the Riad Diana in August last year and have meant to write a review since. Very welcoming staff, good food, quiet yet very central. The transfer was spot on, tyhe treatments good and they will even come and find you when you get lost in the Medina! Definintely one to recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pippa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were blown away by this Riad. From the welcome cup of mint tea to the staff getting up super early to serve us breakfast before our early departing flight, the experience was phenomenal. Everyone at the riad were very helpful and went out of their way to provide us with any information we needed. The rooftop terrace was a major plus and we really enjoyed relaxing up there after exploring the busy streets and souks. The fresh orange juice at breakfast was a huge treat and we chose to have the chicken tagine the riad serves. All the food was top quality. I can't say enough good things about this place and will be recommending it to everyone!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnneGirl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I recently returned from Marrakesh and 4 of us stayed at this lovely place.It was very welcoming and the staff really helpful.The rooms very comfortable and we had a lovely breakfast.I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Riad Diana for three nights in beginning of February. Had reserved the Arba Suite in advance via booking.com and additionally arranged the airport pick up (all without credit card details-impressive trustworthiness).

Landed an hour early and our transfer was already waiting for us which was a great start to the holiday! We got out as others have said at the bottom of the road and a guide led us to the Riad whilst wheeling all our luggage.

The Riad itself is off one of the major streets to the main square and easier to find than I expected from other reviews! A beautiful door opens up a tranquil riad, seemingly far away from the hussle and hussle of the souks. We were greeted by Boujemaa, who throughout the whole stay was a perfect host, with Mint Tea and Pastries. The hosts recommendations for dinner were perfect and taxi orders all went above an beyond the call of duty and far better service than any concierge I've ever used!

Our room was luxurious but simple and clean-the Arba suite has a large double bedroom, bathroom, dressing area and living room (also acts as 2nd bedroom when full capacity of 4 people). Our bed was massively and rose petals were scattered all over which added to the romance of the riad.

Breakfast everyday was different and plenty to keep everyone happy. Our favourite was the pancakes and crusty bread with jams and honey! Orange and Coffee on tap made mornings bearable for even the worse morning person.

We also organised a full day tour with the Riad and would definitely recommend, great value, completely tailor made your and for three girls travelling a great comfort to be guided around!

Also enjoyed the Oriental Dinner with candles on the last night and thoroughly enjoyed this. Delicious food, great service and an amazing atmosphere! Well worth the 200dhm.

Overall-an oasis in a crazy city. Located walking distance from all attractions. A host who treats every guest like family. Bargain prices and great extra services. Would recommend to all my friends!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bxy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I chose this riad based on all the wonderful reviews I read about the staff. I was not dissapointed, the people are so friendly and willing to do anything necessary to make your stay a great one. The riad is beautiful and an excellent example of the riad structure with the open courtyard. The room was a little small, but that was expected, and it was kept very nice. My friend and I took the cooking class with Sapriya which was really fun, even though we had quite the language barrier to get through. Sapriya is the sweetest, we were huge fans of her cookies and she packed us up a bunch to take with us on the plane! The hammam was a wonderful experience. Got scrubbed from head to toe and came out seriously baby soft. Boujamaa and Bader were so friendly and welcoming. Thank you Riad Diana for a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MezzoHYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#74 of 502 in Marrakech
556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#40 of 502 in Marrakech
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#70 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#50 of 502 in Marrakech
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#36 of 502 in Marrakech
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Diana

Address: 85 Derb Jdid | Quartier Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#56 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#78 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $69 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Diana 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come in and enjoy the spirit and the friendly service of Marrakech! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Diana Marrakech
Riad Diana Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing