We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet Escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Balthazar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Balthazar
Ranked #245 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet Escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A very pleasant Riad. Although very central being about 5mins from the main square, it was very nice and quiet. A great little escape in the bustle of Marrakech!

The Riad was kept nice and clean, a very pleasant and spacious room, and the staff always helpful. the only problem was that the WiFi was a little difficult to pick up and involved standing outside an office door in a corridor and trying to get a connection. Okay until more than one wanted to try then it got a bit crowded.

One word of warning about Marrakech in general. If you get to the souk instead of the square by accident, and someone offers to direct you. Just say no! A couple of circuits later, you are 'just around the corner from the square, but actually back where you were and they have run away with a 'tip' for showing you the way! Very cheeky, slightly amusing for getting conned, but also a bit irritating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    43
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
131
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

we arrived late at night and luckly we ordered a transfer. we stayed for two nights at the riad and we were welcomed by nouredine the guardian during the night and mouna during the day who were two perfect host. you really felt like you were their guest and that they really cared about you.all of the staff i should say they were amazing . i could not recommend this riad highly enough . it was really nice the breakfast and the dinner. if we go back to marrakech and probably will as we love it. i would must definitely arrange my stay around this riad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taryn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very atmospheric. A warm welcome from Badr, made us feel special. Beautiful place, very clean and with a feeling of luxury. Lovely breakfasts on the roof terrace. Easy to find equipped with a map, just a right and a right from the taxi stop, though we walked from the railway station with no trouble. Highly recommended, and a very good price! Well located for the square and souks.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a great long weekend at Dar Balthazat. The riad is beautiful, the room spacious and romantic, the service one of the best we ever had. Just ensure you get a map before arrival or you will get lost in the small streets (its just a cople min walking from the taxi, but not easy to find withou a map).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mario015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Dar Balthazar is such a beautiful and cosy riad to send a perfect vacation in Marrakech. We stayed there 7 nights and felt very comfortable. The stuff is always very friendly and helpful and makes your stay as pleasant as possible.
I would highly recommend this place and would go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieMarielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The riad has been beautifully restored and is a comfortable, quiet and very relaxing place to stay in Marrakesh. It is located a 10 minute walk to the central square and souks and a 15 minute walk to the central bus station. The rooms are furnished nicely and comfortable. The courtyard is great to enjoy breakfast and dinner and to relax. The staff is very kind and always eager to help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister_Don_Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dar Balthazar is located in the Dar El Bacha area of Marrakech a 10 minute walk to the main square or the souks. We strongly recommend that you use the airport transfer service as the riad is a short but winding walk from where a taxi will be able to drop you (as are most of the riads I believe). The transfer service means that someone will lead you on foot from the taxi to the riad's front door. The route is not at all complicated once you work it out yourself, but the first time would be crazy without the help! Their transfer service collected us at the arrivals lounge and got us to the hotel easily.

We were in the cheapest room in the riad which was small but clean, airy and comfortable with an en suite bathroom. The room was on the ground floor so at times there was noise from the central courtyard when other guests arrived back later or breakfasted earlier than us. In general though the riad was a relaxing and restful haven from the bustle of Marrakech.

The members of staff at Dar Balthazar were unfailingly welcoming, courteous and helpful assisting us with airport transfers and translation of emails from the hamman we booked.

We breakfasted at the riad each morning on bread, pastries, delicious Moroccan pancakes, orange juice and coffee. The only detraction from the riad's overall rating is that the bread and pastries, maybe due to the weather or delivery schedule, were not always very fresh.

Overall we would heartily recommend Dar Balthazar; it's a lovely little place and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baan_fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.5 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#107 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#137 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#50 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Property: Dar Balthazar
Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing