We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry, i was disappointed ..room was not air conditioned, i had to pay extra!”
Review of Dar Balthazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Balthazar
Ranked #273 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I can not recommend this Riad and it does for sure not deserve the superb rating. Just after booking i got an email asking for cash payment on arrival, a lot of text in big printed letters, what can be expected and what not *as there is no cheese in Morocco&* for example. Not very inviting and not also not corresponding to the text< book now, you will be charged by booking out.
I pay the invoice and got only a hand written invoice, not even the name of the Riad Balthazar was printed. The usual cards with a map of the place are not existing, even if the place is not easy to be found, especially not in the night, as a portal door is closed after dinner. It happend also more then once to me as well as to other guests that we had to wait at least 10 minutes in the night until the young man who should stay in the Riad to open the door finally heard the repeatedly ringing of the door bell, as he was in a house next door.
The very positive point in Riad Balthazar, apart of the lovely building as it self, is the manager, Nadja, who gave her best to make up for the disappointing fact, that not all room are air conditioned, despite the description on hotels.com. and with a temperature of 48Celsius in July this is a serious issue. After consulting per telephone the owners, two sisters living in Paris, i was offered an other room but had to pay extra 5 Euros per day. I was guest in the Riad Carina and the Riad Diana as well and can not understand the rating in relation to these other two Riads. The difference is huge.
I made some suggestions before leaving, that for example a welcome tea would be nice, as it is usual all over Marrakech. I would not get back to this Riad again and think that the text of all rooms are air conditioned is a serious offence and should be corrected.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank the_freestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 228 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2012

That's incredible find a so calm place in the middle of cahotic moroccan medina. Riad is amazing, fresh and very clean. Rooms, beds, toilets and showers are confortable and calm. Air conditioning system works good. Room staff re-set the room every morning very well. Breakfast is enough and natural (no supermarket products or instant food). What is really wanderful and excellent is riad staff that make guest feel like in a morocccan family. The can speak several languages and are able to host different kind of tourists. They also gives to guest detailed touristic information maps and can arrange tours all around Marrakech area and also out of it! Manager is a young moroccan boy really kind and open minded. he can also cook very well moroccan cousine. We tried it and it was deliciouse and arranged in a romantic atmosphere room! Table set was romantic for a couple! I can recommend to try at least one time a dinner in riad. Finally considering prices are very competitive considering the quality of the service I can say that are not expensive at all.
If I have a good friend that ask me a place to stay in Morocco I can recommend Riad Dar Balthazar and I am sure I do good figure with him!
I am sure I will return to this riad in future!
Honestly, Luca(from Italy) and Maki(from Japan).

Room Tip: Excellent breakfast, lunch and dinner. Quiet place. Very well organized riad's staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GLM1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

of the three riads we stayed in Morocco this was our favourite. Despite it s unassuming outside appearance inside was stylishly decorated in a European / morocco fusion with huge rooms and courtyard. The staff is kind and genuinely interested in making sure you had the best stay possible nothing was too much trouble Breakfasts were amazing with a wide spread available and something different every day We have dinner at the riad it was delicious I d have no hesitation recommending riad Balthazar to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Dar Balthazar is an oasis in the middle of the busy souks. The riad is beautifully done, with lovely rooms and wonderful common spaces to enjoy the weather, a cup of tea and a good book. The location is perfect - just steps from the souks and from a key pick-up point for those of you doing any kind of tours. Staff is highly attentive and we loved the tasty breakfast and maroccan pancake
The exotic and fast paced nature of Marrakech was balanced by the calm and serene surroundings of the riad. Verry spacious room, and very clean
 

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pritsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Safe, quiet and discreet Riad. Rooms are comfortable and very well fournished. Good breakfast served individually from 7am to 12am (no buffet). Great service, friendly and smart but professional. The neighbourhood is safe and the way to Jeema El Fnaa (15min by walk) is safe (police station every 500mt).
Great value for money! You can reserve excursions and SPA treatment directly from the Riad.
Good for couples,small group of friends (6 rooms available).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalisarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

While this hotel had nothing to make it stand out from the many others in Marrakesh, it made up for this with wonderful presonal service from a very friendly and helpful staff. The pictures flatter the hotel and while there is nothing wrong with it, in the cold light of day it is a different picture.

The hotel is just a little tired and run down but I suspect that his is the case of the majority of places in a city like Marrakesh.

The breakfast was excellent, although could do with a little variety after 4 days.

The rooms were comfortable, however the cleanliness, particularly in the bathroom was somewhat below standards we expect in the Northern Europe.

All of this was perfectly bearable, just don't go there thinking a 4 star Riad is the same as 4 star hotel you might be accustomed to.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PegoRafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had an amazing time at Dar Balthazar.
Riad is only 10 mins walk from the main square, and the walk is well-lit at night.
The first thing that struck us was how quiet and calm it was compared to the chaos of the main square and surrounding streets.
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and added to the excellence of the Riad, especially the member of staff, Rachid, who served breakfast.
Our room was excellent. As we were there in February it got quite cold at night, however the heater provided sorted this out. Bed was very comfortable and clean. Bathroom was very spacious.
The breakfast provided on the terrace was fantastic and set us up brilliantly for the day ahead.
An added bonus of the Riad was the free wifi provided which was extremely helpful.
The transfers arranged to and from the airport worked perfectly. Must easier than getting ripped off by the taxi drivers.
Overall a fantastic place, and a must stay in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbell285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#55 of 501 in Marrakech
947 reviews
2.8 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 501 in Marrakech
1,011 reviews
2.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#204 of 501 in Marrakech
774 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#244 of 501 in Marrakech
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Balthazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Balthazar

Address: 32, Derb El Halfaoui | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $50 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Balthazar 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Bab Doukkala in the Marrakech medina, Dar Balthazar is an elegant riad with personal service. It is a 10-minute walk from the souks and Jemaa El Fna square.There is a bathroom with traditional Moroccan tiles in every guest room. There are 2 rooms and 3 suites. The suites also feature air conditioning and a balcony that looks over the courtyard and fountain.Guests are invited to relax in the lounge with satellite TV, or around the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Dar Balthazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Balthazar Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing