We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful, authentic, relaxing and comforting place that captures the Moroccan spirit perfectly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #70 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Beautiful, authentic, relaxing and comforting place that captures the Moroccan spirit perfectly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I spent four days at the Riad on a retreat and couldn't fault the service or accommodation. The people were warm and welcoming and created a warm and safe environment for the guests on the retreat - especially as women, several travelling alone. All the food is prepared fresh every day by the kitchen and offers a fresh but authentic and delicious taste of Morocco. We had a guide to take us into the Medina - who was both entertaining and knowledgeable - taking us to some of the best places in the souks and teaching us a little of the history, as well as keeping us out of trouble. Thoroughly recommend Zam Zam for couples or singles looking for an inspirational, relaxing and/or stimulating break.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissiBucklan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    35
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
86
200
33
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Zam Zam riad is a heavenly place of calm set amidst the most stunning scenery in the heart of the medina. The rooms are not simply beautiful but every care is taken to enhance your personal experience. The food at the riad is simply stunning using organic local foods and presented with every care. A place to reflect in our busy society, a place to nourish your soul as well as your body.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barefootabundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The riad is hidden in a maze in the north of the medina, so it can be tricky to find! Worth it though - a beautiful oasis, well organised, great food, helpful staff. Hope to go again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We stayed, as a young couple, at Zam Zam Riad from 15-19th December 2010.

The Riad itself is amazing, with a lovely sun terrace. Our room was beautiful and we were lucky enough to be the only guests at the time! The Riad is quiet and removed from the noisy centre of Marrakech allowing you to relax. We are quite an adventurous couple and so were not fazed walking the streets to and from the central square, however if you do not like the sensation of constantly feeling lost you may find a taxi from Zam Zam your best option, as the walk takes about 20mins on a good run! Although we feel that being lost is part of the experience! The staff provide you with maps and phone numbers should you get lost, so we suggest you give it a go!

The staff were all lovely, speaking English and tending to our every need! They were also very good at advising us about routes to the main sites and helping us plan out our days. The Riad organised a half day tour around the Medina, which was not only very interesting but gave us the confidence to try and find our own way around the maze of streets! We would most definitely suggest that other guests take the tour, even if solely for the purpose of reaching the central square!

We used the Riad taxi service to both pick us up from the airport and take us back; we found the service to be very good and also took the stress out of travel! The prices are also reasonable.

To sum up the food in one word would be difficult, but if we had to try, we can only come up with "AMAZING". We ate at the Riad almost every day of our stay. The breakfasts were filling and tasty, but also varied; we did not eat the same thing every single day! We were both impressed with the standard of the cooking and thought that the food was delicious. We did eat out at the square one lunch time but this only compounded how lovely the food at the Riad truly was.

We had planned to only stay 2 nights at the Riad as a pre-Christmas treat. However, very bad snow in England caused our flight to be cancelled. The Riad were more than accommodating, allowing us to stay an extra night and also keeping us updated on any news about airports and flights. The owners were also very kind, inviting us to their own personal Christmas party that was being held in the Riad that night; we were welcomed by all and had a wonderful evening.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for a wonderful stay; we both had an amazing time and would definitely recommend this Riad to anybody!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieandJeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Zamzam is a lovely place to stay - especially if you're looking for something authentically Moroccan, with high standards of service and comfort. It's beautifuly decorated - a lot of effort went into restoring it; the staff are excellent and helpful, the owners very friendly, and the place is so quiet, which is great if you're looking to escape from the hustle and bustle of the medina. It's a fair walk from the central square, but no more than 20 minutes away. If you haven't got the energy go out looking for a place to eat, you can do a lot worse than dining in-house. I had a very tasty lamb tajine at Zamzam and there were many other tempting things on the menu. The breakfast is very nice, too, and an ideal way to start the day. Helps you fuel up before a day of exploring the souks and gardens that give Marrakech its character. And it's nice to know you have a great place to bed down in afterwards....the rooms are luxurious and very comfortable; and the roof terrace is a fine spot for soaking up some sun and enjoying views over the medina. All in all, Zamzam's a highly recommended place to stay...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

We (couple + 2 year old) spent 5 nights in January at the Riad Zamzam. Airport pick-up was arranged by the Riad; this was on-time and in a decent vehicle. Most riads are tucked away in a narrow side street, hence a staff member escorted us to the Riad from the dropoff point, and helped carry our luggage. On arrival, we were upgraded (complimentary) to the Rose room, on the ground floor. As with any riad, the stone stairs to the upper levels are narrow. We highly recommend that you specifically book the Rose room if you have small children. The room itself was good-sized, well-furnished, immaculate, and with an effective AC/heater. There was a beautiful "Moroccan" feel to the room, due to good use of local craftwork. Clean bathroom/shower, and we always had hot water. The staff were all very friendly and incredibly helpful throughout. The dining and relaxation areas were lovely.
We had all breakfasts, one lunch and 3 dinners at the Riad. The food was authentically Moroccan, and of very high standard. However, you can eat splendidly for much less in the Djemaa (evening meals only) and its adjacent restaurants. The two meals we had at the Djemaa were well-cooked, piping-hot, delicious and cheap.
The Riad organised a guide for a half-day orientation and walking tour of the Medina, which we highly recommend. The guide showed us the 'hidden-away' depths of the souks where the artisans crafted their goods, with some real gems to buy. He also took us via the various sights and historical landmarks en-route from the Riad to the Djemaa.
We visited (and recommend) the Bahia/El Badi palaces, Saadian tombs, Majorelle gardens and the Medersa ben Youssef. We also enjoyed caleche (horse-cart) rides, which we haggled down from 900 Dhms to 120 Dhms for an hour-long ride.
The Riad Zamzam is located in the north of the Medina, a fair walk away from the Djemaa. However, you get to see local life around you, which I consider an advantage. We walked out to the Djemaa/Majorelle Gardens and took a petit taxi back in the late evening. It always felt safe, although it was very easy to get disorientated. The half-day had guide suggested we ask taxis to drop us off at the "Pharmacie Zaouia El Abbassia", which was very close to the Riad. However, we seemed to be dropped off near a different pharmacy each time, all in Zaouia El Abbassia. By the last days, we asked to be dropped off near the Shrine/Mosque of Sidi Abbas. Although this was a much longer walk, at least we were orientated. When asking for directions, we found the children very keen to misdirect us initially, so that they could guide us back for a subsequent small charge. We never needed their help; rather we asked shopkeepers and local women. If all else fails, phone the Riad and they will send someone to rescue you.
All-in-all, a great Riad. We recommend it and would certainly stay here again because of the charm & beauty of the Riad, the excellent food and, most of all, the fantastic staff at the Riad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MohFaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of trip in Morocco and tremendously enjoyed our stay. We were welcomed with the traditional Moroccan hospitality and a glass of hot mint tea, which we drank while we relaxed next to the fireplace in the Riad's little lounge.

The Riad is beautiful - everywhere it is adorned with custom-made exquisite brass lamps, and a little pool near the entrance creates a feeling of an oases well-sheltered from the busy streets just outside. Our room was small but lovely and little details (fresh fruit and cookies in our room, soaps and lotions in the bathroom, stacks of books next to the bed, etc.) made the stay very comfortable.

We had dinner right in the riad both evenings we stayed and especially the first night, the food was delicious (we had a "Royal Tagine" with lamb, couscous, a tomato soup, chocolate cake for dessert). The second evening, the eggplant salad was so good I asked for the recipe to take home. (And got it! :-) Thank you, Iman).

In the morning, the weather was lovely, so the staff served us breakfast on the rooftop terrace that overlooks the nearby area of the medina. Fresh coffee, juice, breads, eggs, yogurt and home-made jams were welcome and delicious before we spent a long day walking around the souks.

The riad is not in central Marrakesh, but is still an easy walk to the souks - perhaps 20 minutes away. What's nice is that one can get away from the tourist crowds and walk through an area that feels more like the "real Marrakesh."

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#41 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Malika
Riad Malika
#67 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#31 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Adika
Riad Adika
#30 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#77 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Property: Zamzam Riad
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing