We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to experience Marrakesh”
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #67 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Zamzam Riad is a little off the beaten track , not too easy to find and accessed through a tiny unmarked passage way. And that's what makes it great. Zamzam is to Marrakesh what speakeasys were to prohibition: hidden from view but stocked full of exactly what you want.

At the North end of the Medina you wont see many, if any, other tourists but the tiny streets and passages are bustling with life and everyone one has a broad smile and a "bonjour!" as you pass.

Inside Zamzam British owners Marcus and Emma have taken great care and effort to make it both very comfortable and entirely authentic. Everything from glassware to beautiful beaten bronze lampshades are chosen with care. The central courtyard is cool ( the heat outside was 35 degrees on the days we visited) and a fountain plays in a plunge pool strewn with rose petals. Our room - the Palm Suite - was comfortable and well-equipped with a large, firm bed, high quality linen and towels and a powerful walk-in shower and air con.

There is a full Hammam and massage service ( we didnt try but heard from others that it was great) and a great roof-terrace for sunbathing with comfortable loungers and even straw hats for guests.

The staff led by Imane and brilliantly supported by Faysal are unendingly helpful - pointing you in the right direction on adventures in to the Souks or to great local restaurants and helping with taxis, trips and great advice on how to extract the maximum fun and interest during your stay.

The food is prepared by two lovely women in their small kitchen and is both entirely authentic and as good as anything we ate in the city. The Zamzam zamwich with Kefte ( meatballs) is a new contender for Last Meal.

If you like pool-side service and five star luxury chain hotels then this isn't for you. If you want an authentic and immersive experience of the true Marrakesh then I STRONGLY advise you to stay here.

Room Tip: The Palm Suite was heavenly
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demi-Cod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
There are newer reviews for Zamzam Riad
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 549 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

In the heart of the medina, a splendid riad. as an oasis in the desert.
Great atmosphere, beautiful rooms, beautiful place. The owner, Marcus and the guy who helps him, Faysal offer a spectacular hospitality,they are very kind and very nice.
Excellent home-made breakfast, delicious dinner.
Definitely to come back and recommend to all
anna lisa

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Booked to stay 4 nights and extended to a week. Riad is located 15-20 min walk from main square but great as its away from hustle and bustle.

Staff were great; led by Imane who was always approachable and was able to help organize day trips, suggestions on food and shopping, chefs cooked great food (no tagine in Marrakech was better) and Aziz was always around to help out especially when we got lost in the mazy walks. Don't think Marcus and Emma will be able to find a replacement for the team they have put together at the Riad!

We were upgraded to the biggest room, nicely decorated and very traditional feel to the rooms with a nice terrace to have dinner on and enjoy the atmosphere of Marrakech in the evenings.

If you don't mind a little hike from the busy souks, Riad Zamzam is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerozNikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Riad Zam Zam is a real find; it's absolutely beautiful, secluded, peaceful, luxurious, yet very friendly. I was working in Marrakech for a week. The staff were incredibly helpful with things like local phone cards and cars, the food was lovely, served at all hours as we needed it, so it felt like coming home to a little haven to relax after the hectic work. I too loved my marble bathroom with vaulted ceiling and lanterns from the souk, the gorgeous bedspreads and the beautiful carpets, and the little pool sprinkled with rose petals.

Room Tip: If you're not muslim and want to sleep through the muezzin, maybe pick a room downstairs
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Many thanks to the team at the Riad Zam Zam for making our weekend break perfect. The riad is truly beautiful and the team there couldn't do enough to ensure we had a lovely stay. The room was lovely, and we can't wait to come back and try a different one. We couldn't have asked for more, a little piece of paradise inside the medina.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at the Zamzam for a week recently on a very busy business trip. Place is beautiful, staff incredible, and we really couldn't have asked for more. It really was like staying with family, except that it was so luxorious and comfortable. I had a room with a special Moroccan marble rainshower ... divine!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Zamzam Riad with two young children after Easter holidays. As many reviewers have said, the property is beautiful and the connected rooms on the second floor were perfect for our family. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful in arranging tours and anticipating our needs. The first night, they prepared a delicious dinner for us in the courtyard which helped to ease us in to the hustle and bustle of the trip. The riad is a bit hard to find and we did encounter the young boys trying to guide us for money, which was a bit intimidating for our children. We really appreciated coming back to the hotel after a long day in the hot, hot sun. One thing is that I may have misread the riad information, but I thought it was advertised as having a pool. While there is a pool in the main courtyard, it is freezing cold, tiny, and filled with flowers, so not ideal for our children.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABurnsThomas73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#65 of 502 in Marrakech
225 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#85 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#33 of 502 in Marrakech
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#57 of 502 in Marrakech
456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $86 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing