We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zamzam Riad
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Fenn(Marrakech)
$383
$364
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$593
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$426
$308
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$401
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$250
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,022
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
517
38
7
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
517
38
7
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszam zampalm suiteroof terraceatlas mountainsberber suiteyoga retreatcookery coursecooking classan oasisthe hustle and bustlerelaxing massagelocal guidenarrow streetstucked awaylamb taginemoroccan stylemint tea
Filter
Updating list...
224 - 229 of 568 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've just read this last review of Riad ZamZam by Al P and couldn't disagree more. We booked this Riad after googling " family friendly RIad, Marrakech " and the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.
We were met at the airport by a taxi arranged by the Riad and had a wonderfully warm welcome by Emma, one of the owners. We immediately felt at ease.
The Riad was just what we were after and after a wash and brush up went down for dinner. The food was sublime. I'd thoroughly recommend the Royal Tagine, a wonderful combination of Lamb, Prunes, Apricots, Almonds and Walnuts. In our next 10 days travelling around Morocco the food at Riad ZamZam was never surpassed. They even prepared a special ice cream selection for our 7 year old son.
The rooms are large and naturally open out towards the central courtyard as this is a typical Riad. The decor was amazing and as a keen photographer, a feast for the eyes.
A wonderful nights sleep was followed by a lovely breakfast ( I do love my food ! )
The Riad had organised a car for us to travel over the Atlas Mountains to Ouarzazate, where we were going on a 8 day trip though the Western Sahara and many villages and towns. The drive was spectacular and the driver organised by Emma was first class.
We had an amazing tour but we were tired by the end and really looked forward to going back to ZamZam, our quiet Oasis of calm.
We arrived back and met Marcus, the other owner. Another wonderful welcome and a day of exploring.
Marrakech is a wonderful city although it can be a bit overwhelming at first. All of the streets within the Medina are narrow and twisty and it can be hard to find your way around but I never felt threatened. You do get pestered by the locals but this is Morocco after all. The kids in the neighbourhood of Riad ZamZam were helpful and friendly although they all wanted a few Dirhams !
In short I would thoroughly recommend Riad ZamZam. The decor was wonderful, the food fantastic and the service couldn't be faulted. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review - your feedback is really helpful for the Zamzam Team who work so hard. Our chef is wonderful and I work very closely with her to combine international recipes with her Moroccan cuisine. We are now planning our summer menu of cool light options. The Medina is busy and hectic which is also what makes walking around it such an adventure its full of magic and surprise! We partner with excellent guides and drives to ensure you have the best experience and are well looked after. Thank you for posting your stunning photos of Zamzam! and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The riad is lovely and the service is attentive and authentic . The location is quiet on the north end of the medina . We had a lovely 5 night stay , booking 3 rooms . We would highly recommend this 8 room riad . We enjoyed breakfast , lunch and dinner , Emma arranged a half day guide for us and afterwards , we knew our way @ the medina quite easily . An excellent value and riad for the price !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. It's right inside the Medina, but away from the tourist area. You really get to see the colour of everyday life around you, and getting lost is just part of the fun. Marrakech itself is an amazing city. It's so close to Europe, but feels like another world. There's plenty of historic sites and new attractions, but for us the best part was just wandering around the narrow, dusty streets of the Medina and experiencing the sights and sounds of people's daily life. The night market is a must - what a fascinating experience.

The hotel interior is a perfect blend of Moroccan style and hotel facilities. There are comfy areas to lounge around, a roof for sunbathing and a beautiful little courtyard with birds singing in it. The courtyard is a perfect place for pancakes in the morning or orange juice in the afternoon. The rooms are all a bit different, so check the website to pick your perfect room. Ours was very clean and comfortable. The staff and owners of the hotel go out of their way to make sure you have a fantastic visit to Marrakech. They will recommend activities to suit your tastes and organise city tours, trips to places like the Atlas Mountains and so on. We felt so welcome from the moment we arrived.

We hope to visit Marrakech again, and would definitely stay at Zamzam.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chriodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. The team at Zamzam work so hard to make guests stay enjoyable. Its not easy in the Medina because it is a crazy historic place. You can get lost and spoken to by children who enjoy some random banter but I'm really glad that you understand and enjoyed our location in the Medina. We chose not to be in a noisy tourist area so that clients can return to the calm which is Zamzam after a visit to the hustle and bustle. Realising the Medina is difficult to navigate we employ a lot of staff at Zamzam to ensure you are really looked after. We have not just a day manager but a night one too. This makes sure you get the most out of your visit to Marrakech and are well advised on where to go and what to see. Thank you again and we hope to see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Such a beautiful oasis in the middle of the hussle and bussle of the Medina. Amazing service. Tranquil bedroom. Delicious, fresh, authentic food. Definitely visiting again! Thank you so much for the amazing experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I really did not know what to expect, having never been in a Riad, Marrakech or Morocco for that matter in my life. We were met at the point beyond which the streets are too narrow for cars by Aziz, a lovely, kind, Moroccan man. I admit to feeling a little unsure as he guided us through the dusty streets replete with street kids, old men and motor scooters flying past in all directions. The fact that it was also dark added mystery to the adventure.

We trusted him enough to follow him down a dark and narrow alley, which revealed the huge beautiful wooden front door of the Riad once we turned a corner.

This approach makes the transition into what can only be described as a delightfully sensuous assault on eyes, ears and nose as you emerge like a new born baby into the glorious courtyard at the centre of this oasis.

We were greeted by the owner, Emma, and felt an enormous, genuine welcome that continued throughout the four days of our stay.

The staff were wonderful and could not do enough for you. The food was amazing (they even catered for my off-menu need for a green juice in the mornings). The rooms were spectacular, luxurious, stately, homely and comfortable all at once.

If you do stay here, I highly recommend taking the traditional Hammam shower situated off the fantastic sun deck at the top of the house, followed by a massage and a snooze.

Put simply - we really did not want to leave. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews