We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beyond Expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zamzam Riad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zamzam Riad
Ranked #52 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

From the efficient pickup at the airport, to the great personalised service at Zamzam we couldn't have asked for more. The room was funky and had everything one could need for a relaxing vacation. Imane and Faysal were the perfect hosts and struck the proper balance of knowing when to stay, chat and linger and when to leave your party to its own devices. The cooking class is highly recommended. My husband and I would forsake hotel changes anytime for this kind of personal service. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFleischers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    37
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
89
205
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 nights staying at the Riad Zamzam with our 7 month old daughter. The staff could not have been more helpful with regard to our daughter, ensuring that we had a constant source of boiled water for formula, a high chair for meals and everyone made a real fuss of her. The staff were very helpful suggesting places to go and visit and what to do with our days. The riad is beautiful and the room was spotless. We had a great time and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peculiar5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

I honestly was so surprised, as one often is with riads in Morocco, with what was hidden behind the closed door at Zamzam . Despite its funky, somewhat out of the way location, it truly is a gem of a place. Wonderful staff and owners, comfortable room, excellent hammam and delicious food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stuff60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My birthday experience this year was perfect at Zamzam Riad .
My husband and i were met by Faisal at the Airport and he looked after us during the next 6 days escorting us to taxis ,restaurants ,and providing for all our needs ,etc nothing was too much trouble
.Imane, the manageress organised all the restaurant bookings and interesting trips we wanted, providing great input of her own. i had a wonderful Haman and massage at the ZamZam - highly recommended. .
The owners Emma and Marcus have restored this old building to a very high standard with great attention to Morroccan style .
We very much enjoyed our breakfasts on the roof terrace and our evening meals in the dining area .The chef is excellent .
Marrakech and particularly the Medina are very special and exciting and we will certainly return again to the Riad Zamzam to explore them further.

Room Tip: We had a large Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Part of the joy of Marrakech is discovering oases of tranquility in the middle of the bustle and clamour of this most boisterously human of cities. Riad Zamzam nestles in what appears to be a relatively run-down part of the city but, once inside, the atmosphere of calm, the cool spaces and luxurious rooms, and - most of all - the attentiveness, cheerfulness and thoughtfulness of the staff, makes the pulse rate drop. We had our best meal of our whole trip at the Riad, delicious and fragrant lamb and chicken tagines. The breakfasts were generous. The hamman and massage treatments we had on-site were blissful. The owner, Marcus, and his staff are very well informed and connected and everything ran like clockwork. Another reviewer has commented on Zamzam's comparative remoteness from the centre of the old town but it's really no distance (let's face it, the entire old town can be covered north to south in half an hour) and, not being stuck slapbang in the middle of the medina is one of its many charms. We never felt uncomfortable, no matter how late we returned from our trips. We will be going again - using the Riad as a base for expeditions into the Atlas mountains and further afield into the Sahara.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nemeton125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have stayed in at least a dozen riads in Marrakech and Zamzam is one of the very best. Faisal and Imane ran the establishment really well and everything was perfect down to the last detail. The location is a little out of the way but the staff were really good at walking you to the main gates, taxis etc. On the whole an outstanding riad.

Room Tip: The Master Suite is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at this riad for 3 nights and what caught my attention is that location is not mentioned by many of the reviews below. Frankly speaking the riad is amazing: rooms are big and clean, breakfast is delicious, the food is one of the best I ate in Morocco. Also, the staff is above any expectations, very helpful, gentle. They used to wait for us at night when we were back from Jeema el Fna Square, helped to book us an awesome tour to Ait Benhaddou. However, the location is a downside...my friend and I got to Marrakesh from Fes late at night. There was a taxi waiting for us, but I cannot describe our sensation when the taxi driver sttoped. The neighborhood is quite scaring and we needed to walk 10 minutes from the place the taxi stopped to the riad. As I said, someone of the riad needed to be waiting for us at night and it bothered me a little, not only because we depending on someone else but also I feel bad for the staff who needed to be there every night we were out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maprest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamzamRiad, Owner at Zamzam Riad, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your response and praise of our hard working team. Just to respond to your concerns about the area Zamzam is situated in: The riad is positioned in a wonderful quiet residential area of the Medina. Arriving at midnight into a quiet fairly dark place is always daunting where ever you may be. I remember that you arrived two days early because your partner was ill in Fez, Im sure that must have made you feela little insecure already. Other areas of the Medina are rife with scooters and crowds, this can feel very overpowering when you first arrive which is why we chose this area of the Medina for our hotel. We always have a Guardien to meet guests when they first arrive whether it is the the day or night. This is not because the area is dangerous but because we believe in looking after our guests so that they may explore the unfamiliar surroundings of the Medina with confidence. We have excellent access to Zamzam unlike some other establishments and the walk from the drop off point to the front door is 3-5 minutes. Thank you again for your visit and holiday with us at Zamzam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#64 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#70 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#88 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.5 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamzam Riad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamzam Riad

Property: Zamzam Riad
Address: 107, Rue Kaa El Machraa, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Marrakech
#21 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamzam Riad 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamzam Riad is a luxury boutique hotel and spa with concierge service, hosting 7 bedrooms and suites over the ground and first floor. A number of stylish French and Moroccan antiques furnish the bedrooms together with hand woven Moroccan carpets and artifacts sourced locally and globally. Come and taste our superb Moroccan and International fusion cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Zamzam Riad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zamzam Riad Hotel Marrakech
Zamzam Riad Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing