We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for female tourists!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mogador Express Gueliz
Ranked #387 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here with my sister for two nights with a mixed coach party. We were unable to open the safe (left locked by a previous client, or so we thought). We had to ask three times in reception before anyone came to unlock it. It would appear that it is hotel policy, ie. to wait for client to ask to have it opened (strange policy!). I have travelled quite extensively in muslim countries, but found the reception and dining room staff were more surly to female customers than usual.
The buffet style food was adequate, but several items ran out before everyone was fed and asking for top-ups was met with much disgruntled, negative comments.
The bedrooms were acceptable, beds comfortable and there was sufficient hot water.
I would not stay here again and would not recommend the hotel to other tourists.

Room Tip: I agree with other reviews that a room overlooking the pool would be preferable to a street facing o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
There are newer reviews for Mogador Express Gueliz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 340 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

A group of us used this hotel for 3 nights.

I would have to agree with some of the other comments about this hotel's customer service or lack of it. When we arrived at the hotel our rooms were not made up. When we were eventually given keys to our rooms we were given road facing rooms when we had booked pool facing. One of the rooms still wasn't cleaned properly, shower wasn't working, no towels and door key wasn't working (had to ring reception and go down numerous times before this was sorted)

The breakfast was a joke, very poor choice and tables seemed to take ages to be cleared/cleaned. The Hotel is situated near to the train station and has a supermarket right next door but for anything else location isn't great. I personally wouldn't say this is a 4 star hotel.

On a plus note - If you can, do take a trip to Essaouira for its beach, fresh seafood and media. also tour Atlas mountains/Ourika Valley : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 708anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have used many hotels worldwide, and in morocco, and are very aware of some of the shortfalls and pitfalls of mid range accommodation. You get what you pay for when you pay a cheap price. Well in this case, clearly not. The air conditioning in the room did not work. We were advised it would be fixed. 8 hours later on further enquiry, we were advised it would not be fixed. We were offered a room change " tomorrow" which was a very hollow offer for guests staying only one night. The daytime trmperature was mid 30 s and the night with no ac was hot. The walls are paper thin and we could hear everything from the room next door, which became more of an issue at 2am than it had been during the day. No pool towels - I asked and was advised they would be brought. 14 hours later I am still waiting. Service on check in rude and inefficient. It took over 5 minutes to even find our booking, and we weren't even advised where our room or any of the facilities were. The fitness centre was closed for the duration of our stay with no explanation. There were two umbrellas only at the poolside which both looked as though they had had a hard life. The breakfast was a joke - rude and inefficient service, broken chipped and dirty crockery, poor quality offering and uncleared tables. I'd suggest if you do stay here going to breakfast early when there is - presumably - a full selection of food left. The breakfast staff were not only inefficient but condescending and rude.
The building itself has cracks through it, inside and out, walls, ceilings and floors. Some of these look like structural cracks and are definitely more than superficial. The location us convenient to thd train stationbut otherwise terrible- rough and ready area by s main road and the train tracks. I could go on but my strong recommendation is to avoid this place for all of the reasons outlined above.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankiethe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here for a week. Great hotel but you want to be in a pool facing room as the hotel is situated on a busy road which is quite noisy. We had half board and the food was varied and tasty. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is close to the bus terminal if your planning to travel to Essouira (highly recommended). Also it has a supermarket next door which is convenient for snacks and beverages which are much cheaper than the hotel:)

Room Tip: Facing the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed three nights there over the new year with a group.
Customer service is really poor. My friend was given a card which should be opening the doors of her room, yet it was not working. She had to return to the reception three times (from the top fifth floor!) to report a continuous error. On the fourth attempt she was finally given an escort of two handy men. They then came to the conclusion that the door handle is broken. And guess what? My friend had to return to the reception for the fourth time to get a card for a different room. No apologies, of course, rather the opposite.
Another couple of friends forgot their bag with cameras and some cash in the dinning room during breakfast. They realised that an hour later and when they returned the bag was gone and no one knew anything about it.
Besides these two incidents, lobby is lovely decorated, but rooms are pretty modest. Very disappointed with food - poor choice and often there was a dish missing and was not replaced during the whole time we sat there for dinner.
So overall, not a good experience for our group.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katica035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got a good deal with this hotel and it provided everything we needed. The buffet breakfast and dinner meals were good, although I would suggest for breakfast to go down no earlier than 8am as there isn't much on offer and it's not necessarily the freshest.
Our room was fine with little or no noise, although we didn't have one facing the street so this may have helped. The hot water isn't amazing in the evenings, but this could have just been our room.
The wi-fi in the lobby, pool and dining area was a bit slow, but did the trick. For our final night we had a room overlooking the pool which was considerably better than our original one as the towels were much fluffier and we could pick-up a wi-fi signal which was handy.
Overall, for what we paid it was a good place to stay, although a little further away from Jemaa el Fna than we would've liked. It was about a 45 minute walk which was fine during the day, but a bit far after a day of sightseeing and shopping in the souks.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-street facing room, and if possible, one that has a balcony overlooking the pool area.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candacemorris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for a few nights here. The hotel is about 10 mins from the airport but still too far from where its all happening in the Medina. The beds are not comfortable - firm would have been ok but these are far too hard. All rooms come with good air con and heating but there customer service esp room service is virtually non existent. We asked for an extra pillow before we slept, they told us they'd try but if they cant get us one tonight they'll deliver in the morning!!..nothing came in the morning either! They did the same with extra towels too. Normal room make-up during the days is fine. There was very poor wi-fi coverage in the hotel. Wifi in the foyer was fine but if you're staying above 1st floor its weak or non existent. The spa is also far from a professional set up. I've experienced excellent hammams in 3 star hotels but this was just not up to scratch.

Where this hotel fails is on the basics - bed comfort and basic customer service.
We'll not be returning.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the 1st floor and request any extras - pillows, towels etc as you arrive. Otherwise...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
Mogador Menzah Appart Hotel
#370 of 502 in Marrakech
452 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#215 of 502 in Marrakech
647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#317 of 502 in Marrakech
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Relax Marrakech
Hotel Relax Marrakech
#305 of 502 in Marrakech
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#218 of 502 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#429 of 502 in Marrakech
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mogador Express Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mogador Express Gueliz

Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Ryad Mogador Gueliz)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#211 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $36 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mogador Express Gueliz 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mogador Express Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing