We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely interier, poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #272 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Kampala
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely interier, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed three nights there over the new year with a group.
Customer service is really poor. My friend was given a card which should be opening the doors of her room, yet it was not working. She had to return to the reception three times (from the top fifth floor!) to report a continuous error. On the fourth attempt she was finally given an escort of two handy men. They then came to the conclusion that the door handle is broken. And guess what? My friend had to return to the reception for the fourth time to get a card for a different room. No apologies, of course, rather the opposite.
Another couple of friends forgot their bag with cameras and some cash in the dinning room during breakfast. They realised that an hour later and when they returned the bag was gone and no one knew anything about it.
Besides these two incidents, lobby is lovely decorated, but rooms are pretty modest. Very disappointed with food - poor choice and often there was a dish missing and was not replaced during the whole time we sat there for dinner.
So overall, not a good experience for our group.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katica035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    46
    68
    38
    34
See reviews for
43
77
26
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We got a good deal with this hotel and it provided everything we needed. The buffet breakfast and dinner meals were good, although I would suggest for breakfast to go down no earlier than 8am as there isn't much on offer and it's not necessarily the freshest.
Our room was fine with little or no noise, although we didn't have one facing the street so this may have helped. The hot water isn't amazing in the evenings, but this could have just been our room.
The wi-fi in the lobby, pool and dining area was a bit slow, but did the trick. For our final night we had a room overlooking the pool which was considerably better than our original one as the towels were much fluffier and we could pick-up a wi-fi signal which was handy.
Overall, for what we paid it was a good place to stay, although a little further away from Jemaa el Fna than we would've liked. It was about a 45 minute walk which was fine during the day, but a bit far after a day of sightseeing and shopping in the souks.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-street facing room, and if possible, one that has a balcony overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candacemorris78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for a few nights here. The hotel is about 10 mins from the airport but still too far from where its all happening in the Medina. The beds are not comfortable - firm would have been ok but these are far too hard. All rooms come with good air con and heating but there customer service esp room service is virtually non existent. We asked for an extra pillow before we slept, they told us they'd try but if they cant get us one tonight they'll deliver in the morning!!..nothing came in the morning either! They did the same with extra towels too. Normal room make-up during the days is fine. There was very poor wi-fi coverage in the hotel. Wifi in the foyer was fine but if you're staying above 1st floor its weak or non existent. The spa is also far from a professional set up. I've experienced excellent hammams in 3 star hotels but this was just not up to scratch.

Where this hotel fails is on the basics - bed comfort and basic customer service.
We'll not be returning.

Room Tip: Pick a room near the 1st floor and request any extras - pillows, towels etc as you arrive. Otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Having arrived at this hotel on a coach tour and then read some of the reviews I was very concerned but it wasn't as bad as I had expected and much better than our experience in Casablanca! The reception was lovely and free wifi a bonus, the rooms were miles away but were clean and there was a fridge and a safe, though the safe had been locked shut and no-one came to sort it. Beds were as hard as stone. Bathroom was OK and we had a balcony overlooking the pool which was nice to relax on. Food was adequate with nice salads and in fact we decided it was better to give the hot stuff a miss and stick to the salads as they were tastier. Dessert not strong point but melon was nice. Point to note, no alcohol and limited choice of soft drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel was huge and sprawling. The room faced out onto the railway and main road which was teeming with traffic all the time. the room was not made up on the second day although they took our towels away but as we were only here two nights didnt complain just found a chambermaid to give us towels. It was too far to walk to the city centre. We would not return to this hotel. Wifi worked in the foyer. The restaurant manager was very pleasant, food acceptable.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammisandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The rooms were clean and a reasonable size. Unfortunately we were on the side which overlooked a busy road and the railway station, so very noisy all night. The food was Moroccan and tasty with a reasonable choice from the buffet. The service is poor and staff surly. The location is poor if you feel like a walk but taxis into the main square are about €4-5. The exchange rate in the hotel was okay but there is a bank in the supermarket which is located underneath the hotel. If you are visiting Marrakech and like an alcoholic drink then I suggest you take it with you. Although the hotel says you can only consume it in the bedrooms, as long as you are discreet they turn a blind eye.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

My stay at his hotel was adequate, was not overly impressed with it. The location was fine, not close to the old town, but close to the train and bus stations and the Gueliz area, which is the "ritzier" neighbourhood. It walked into the old town area which was fine, but I imagine in hot weather it would not be tolerable.

It was clean, the room was a good size and their was a satellite TV and fridge (not a mini bar). The pool area is pleasant and the restaurant (only the international buffet was open when I was there) has OK food, but not much variety, would definetly recommend eating elsewhere!

The room I stayed in was incredibly noicy. (3054) It was located next door to the cleaners station, or store room and I was disrupted at all hours by their walkie talkies and general chatter. The walls where also quite thin and I could clearly hear the room to the other side.

The staff were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Avoid 3054 - right next to the maid's HQ, also the street side rooms would be noicy, the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyG_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.8 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#204 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#355 of 505 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ryad Mogador Menzah
#451 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Imperial Holiday Hotel
Imperial Holiday Hotel
#472 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
Mogador Express Bab Doukkala
#465 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#281 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Gueliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Gueliz

Property: Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Address: Avenue Hassan II, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#140 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#157 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Gueliz 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mogador Gueliz has an outdoor swimming pool and en-suite guestrooms with air-conditioning and satellite TV. It is located in central Marrakech, 1 kilometre from Marrakech Oncf train station. The hotel has 3 restaurants, which offer international and Moroccan cuisine as well as a selection of snacks and room service options. Free internet access is available in public areas. The Ryad Mogador Gueliz offers laundry and babysitting services. Car rental and free private parking are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Mogador Gueliz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Gueliz Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing