We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Splendid Riad but service left much to be desired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Les Clefs Du Sud

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Les Clefs Du Sud
Ranked #85 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Splendid Riad but service left much to be desired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

The Riad and the rooms were outstanding, very pretty but service was not so friendly. The man acted like if we were annoying him and when we asked for directions or how to get to places (usual tourist info at any hotel or hostel) he was totally ignoring us. Great place, not so great service...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just returned from an amazing weeks holiday to Marakech and has the most enjoyable stay at "Riad Les Clefs du Sud".
The staff are all lovely and nothing was ever a problem. They organised our excusions for us, and helped us with all the questions we had.
They served us a french-style breakfast daily, at no additional charge. It was such a nice day to start each day.
Just be aware that it is a 15/20 minute walk to the souks(markets) and there are no restauants etc any closer than that. It does mean having to walk around the small streets at night time - but after a couple of days, you'll know your way around, and it wont be an issue.
Just be aware, that on the first day you WILL get lost. But dont stress about it, its all part of the fun!
It was fantastic value for money, and I'd recommend to all. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstyandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

At the first night, after a rubbish Tajin in a restaurant at Djemaa el-Fna, we both had a stomach problem and stayed indoor the next day. Thank you guys you cared us by your friendly services, you brought us some medicine and supported us by diet meals and smiling faces, And you cared everything what we need in our stay at your Riyad, daily tours, excellent Riyad kitchen and finally bus tickets to Essaouira, We were in all comfort as being as in our home. Thank you again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OSarikamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

A stunning riad with lots of character. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, with spotless bathrooms. It also has a comfortable lounge and a great rooftop. If you want to splurge whilst in marrakech, this is a good option. The location is the only drawback, but as long as you don't plan on coming or going after midnight, you should be ok...just use the grand taxi entrance and turn right when you leave the riad to find the easiest way out of the medina. A real gem!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRSisintrouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2009

Well, since there is only one other review, I get to be the first in English. Let’s start with location. The riad is in the north part of the medinah, not too far from Majorelle Gardens, but it’s hard to find. The entry to the neighborhood is through a tiny archway then around a few turns through various bazaars. Make sure you get explicit directions because it would be easy to get lost though it’s a fun walk. And avoid driving if at all possible. Turns are tight and I’m not sure about parking. When we were there the “street” in front was unpaved although I think it was soon to be repaved. And the front door of the riad is unimpressive, just a doorway on a blank wall.

But don’t let that fool you. Behind the wall is an oasis of peace and beauty. Like most riads, it is built around an open lovely courtyard used to serve breakfast and other meals. An opulent salon serves as a quiet indoor place to relax and have tea. The included breakfast – breads, jams, juice, coffee – was basic, though tasty (I have to say that we were beset by bees during our visit). Other meals are available but need to be arranged in advance. We arranged for a lunch and light supper of soup and salad; both were excellent.

It’s probably a 10-15 minute walk to the Jamaa al Fna square, but get good directions. There’s also a taxi stand just outside the wall for more distant sightseeing. Oh, and while we always felt safe, carrying a flashlight is a good idea at night for areas that are poorly lit.

On arrival we were treated royally. After that we rarely saw anyone but serving staff who speak no English. There’s no reception area and the office is upstairs. It took extra effort if we needed service; the manager speaks OK English. Fortunately we had a guide and driver so needed little. The riad said it had WiFi but I never got it to work, even in the office. They let me use the office computer once, but that wasn’t what I expected.

Our second floor room was large and opulent with a comfortable four-poster bed, desk, closet, and small sitting room. Interestingly, there was no lock or key, though there was an inside deadbolt. The bathroom has no door, but there’s a door on the small toilet area. No shower enclosure, but plenty of hot water and nice toiletries. (Make sure you travel with someone you really like!?) I glanced into a couple of other rooms; they’re all different, all nicely appointed. There’s a primary school nearby so, in addition to the muezzin’s call to prayer we were awakened by the sweet sounds of children singing.

On the third floor deck is a large hot tub, sitting area with lounge chairs, a bar (though I never saw a bartender), and a view into the courtyard below, the medinah rooftops, and the Ketoubiah and other mosques in the distance.

All in all a very pleasant stay in a lovely room. Food service was good but could use a more attentive staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Guy_Chicago10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#78 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#144 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#102 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#145 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Clefs Du Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Clefs Du Sud

Property: Riad Les Clefs Du Sud
Address: Zaouia El Abbasi 49 Diour Jdad, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 266 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Les Clefs Du Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Les Clefs Du Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing