We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and cosy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Othmane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Othmane
Ranked #344 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service and cosy hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this Riad for 5 nights and we could not have find anything like this!

Service provided by Hassan was excellent, breakfast was plentiful and really tasty, the room was very cosy and really clean!

At the beginning we thought it was quite far from the square but it allowed us to experience the real Medina and real locals' life away from tourists! And when we got used to the way it was just a 15min. walk full of wonders and real Marrakech culture.

I would advise you to accept the airport pick up service provided by Hassan, it is quite difficult to find the first time!

It was an incredible experience and I would encourage everyone to stay with Hassan!

(I'm writing this in behalf of my parents, translating it from their own opinions in Spanish. They wanted to write the comment but are not very good with technology)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaMMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
hi there,Thank you so much for your sweet and kind words which were appreciated by all of us at riad nejma lounge.
We all look forward to your next visit..
Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    32
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
85
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carugate, Italy
Level Contributor
420 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Hassan is very nice and helpful. The place is small but still luxurious as a riad should be, price is incredibly low for the quality, welcome tea and breakfast are very good. Just consider that rooms are a bit narrow (but long) with no privacy as walls are subtle (but there are few rooms, so it's not a noisy hotel), anyway clean place, good furniture and decent bathrooms. Considering the price, it's the best you can have!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everything was more than perfect during our stay in this wonderful riad. We had spacious, clean room, nicely decorated, very nice patio and interior. Plenty of hot water, excellent service and a great quiet place to relax in the busy medina. Hassan was extremely helpful to provide any information and treat we needed. He is always there to help and offer anything needed. Thank you so much for making our stay wonderful!

Location was difficult to find, google maps points to a different place (this was the correct one: 31.630976,-7.981172). There is even no sign on the door! So impossible to find by your own. Hassan gives good advice by email to find it, by looking for trolley men.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank io9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

A superb, tiny Riad 5 minutes walk from the main square. Still no street noise.
Hassan, the manager, gives you all the help you need, and lets you alone when you prefer that.

There are no signs for getting there, so my advice if you don't know Marrakech very well is to take the possibility to be caught at the airport by a taxi from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyvindso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Firstly a big thankyou to Hassan,you made our visit very special. Everything from taxi to & from airport was arranged by Hassan. Your welcome with tea, juice & cakes was lovely & you saying this is now your home made us feel so welcome. We ate our first evening meal made by Hassan, it was delicious as were the breakfast. Hassan is always there if needed with his calm & so pleasant manner.
The rooms were everything they looked & as described on the site.
I don't think you will find better value for money & we booked on the reviews mainly because of Hassan, he even takes the time to show you the easiest route to go & explore the hectic shops etc.
A great place to stay in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveD574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We arrived home last saturday after a fantastic 4 night stay at Riad Dar Othmane. Heres a little bit of our experience..


25 minutes after landing we were at our destination as Hassan had arranged us a private transfer.. After walking down some narrow streets we were greeted by Hassan on arrival. We filled in a few forms while we were given some mint tea, biscuits and orange juice. The courtyard of the Riad was silent, it was appreciated as we later knew how loud the square in marrakech would get!

Hassan took us up to our room and very kindly upgraded us to a larger room that was available for no extra charge. The room was very spacious with addtional seating and a walk in shower. Beds were comfortable and our rooms were freshly remade every day with clean sheets and fresh towels

Hassan gave us a few maps and some paper work on various key points of interest around Marrakech and explained some do's and donts also. Hassan also showed us a few landmark locations on our first time to Jemaa el Fna so we could find our way back to the Riad in the dark.

Its roughly a 15 minute walk and once you have done it once you'll know how to get back quite easily. Its a busy walk with motorcycles, horse and carts and crowds of people. You'll need to get used to it quickly else Marrakech may not be your thing!

The next morning we went down for breakfast which was delicious. We had pancakes, breads, cakes, orange juice, coffee, butter, and marmalade. A very good portion for us both and kept us going until we ate again later in the afternoon.

We also went quad biking to get away from the hustle and bustle of the main square. Hassan called the company at 10:30pm and the very next day were were quad biking around the barren lands of Morocco! It was a great experience seeing the mountains and stopping at a local village half way through for some hot tea which was lovely.

There is a fantastic roof terrace at the top of the Riad too. You can see all the stars in the sky on a clear evening and its very peaceful in the day time too. We stayed her in Decemeber and it was warm enough to sit up there for a while so I imagine it must be a sun trap in the summer!

Finally I would just like to thank Hassan for his fantastic hospitality and welcoming us in Marrakech, He is very friendly and thoughtful and also speaks good english so we felt like we could ask questions if we needed to. We loved our stay at Riad Dar Othmane and when we come back to Marrakech we are almost certain we will be staying at this Riad again.

Luke & Claire

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeBurnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DESIR7_11, Gérant at Riad Dar Othmane, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
thank you a lot Luke for your review, it was a pleasure to receive you in our guest house, hope to see you again..
Hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Choosing Riad Dar Othmane for our trip to Marrakech was just perfect, from the beginning to the end. Welcomed by Hassan - the riad manager - with mint tea, fresh orange juice and cookies, he was very helpful all the time and happy to answer all our questions. I didn't see untill now any other person be so nice with their guests. He should teach others ... The location of the Riad is more than ok, 5 minutes walk from the famous Jemaa el Fna square and Hassan made sure we find our way back, by showing us some landmarks. As we were a little bit worried about the noise, Marrakech being known for this, the Riad surprised us in a very pleasant way. It's amazing how quiet and relaxing can be inside. The room was simple and beautiful, very clean, bathroom the same. We enjoyed a lot the breakfast, the moroccan pancakes prepared by Hassan being our favourites :) Several times we had the dinner in the Riad, very good choice, Hassan taking care of this too. Whenever visiting again Marrakech, we can't wait to meet Hassan on our stay at Riad Dar Othmane.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianaNaghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Nid de la Colombe
Le Nid de la Colombe
#723 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Spa du Chameau
Riad Spa du Chameau
#859 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#678 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad des Etoiles
Riad des Etoiles
#30 of 272 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Mchicha
Riad Dar Mchicha
#278 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 34
Riad 34
#518 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Othmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Othmane

Property: Riad Dar Othmane
Address: 198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Othmane 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Othmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Othmane Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing