We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful and calm in a busy city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Othmane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Othmane
Ranked #355 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful and calm in a busy city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We stayed in Riad Dar Othmane on our 2nd and 3rd nights in Marrakech. We chose to walk there from our other riad as we had been provided with a very helpful map via e mail before we left England (as well as a list of excursions and food available if needed). We did get lost but that's all part of the fun of the Medina and we like to think we saw some of the 'real' Marrakech, the places where people lived and worked. It can be tricky to navigate the narrow, crowded streets, especially as we were there during the celebrations of the birth of Muhammed and was a public holiday. We arrived out of the hustle and bustle to peace and calm. Hassan greeted us warmly and made us mint tea. Our room was lovely, very clean and the shower was hot and powerful. Hassan organised an excursion to Ourika Valley in the Atlas Mountains for us, which was wonderful. We would definately go back there to stay if we went back to Marrakech and I would have no trouble recommending it to others. Thank you, Hassan!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are in the courtyard area so may not be as quiet as upstairs rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    27
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Located in the heart of Marrakech’s Medina, Riad Dar Othmane offers sanctuary from the city’s busy streets and noisy markets.

On arrival, the staff made us feel incredibly welcome and treated us to a pot of mint tea and a brief tour of the surrounding area. During our stay Hassan was the perfect host, offering to buy us supplies, book excursions and readily available to answer all our questions about the Riad and the city itself.

The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable and a pleasant breakfast was provided each morning. A good sized roof terrace was a welcome addition and allowed us to make the most of the good weather.

If ever I was to return to Marrakech I wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Riad Dar Othmane was a cute and cosy place near to the main square. The staff is really helpful and they make it a point to keep the place really clean. We go upgraded to a bigger room - so thank you for that as well :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zf_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Mohamed and his wife (the owners) are amazing friendly and helpfull. You can imagine the wife sawed the broken dress of my girlfriend before to have a romantic dinner!
The hostel is little but so nice and it's in that tipic part of the medina of Marrakech where you can breath the life style of the people live and work there. Riad Othmane it's just 10 minutes far from the main square.
Definitely we advise this place to stay if you don't want to spend a lot of maney, but in the same time have a romantic holiday.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaracoppini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

We are two Australians who were on a second trip to Morocco, but first time to Fez. We stayed at Dar Othmane after contacting a booking agent recommended in the Lonely Planet Guide. We'd stopped in a riad in Marrakesh a few years ago and wanted one in Fez with close proximity to the sights of the medina. It was perfect, from the transport organised to and from the airport to the comfortable rooms (plenty of hot water) and amazing helpful Annmarie, Mohammid and Fatima. We spent three days sightseeing in the medina, relaxing on the roof terrace in the evening. The terrace has a view over to the hills and city walls, and comfortable seating. We got exactly what we wanted, a place that was quiet at night but a short walk to the various parts of the medina (do buy a map !)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orba, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a three night stay at the Othmane. We were met at the airport by a taxi which was included in the price of our stay. Can only say everything was perfect. The staff were exceptionally helpful and kind. Marrakesh is a vibrant, bustling, fascinating place which everyone should see. Can´t wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozzi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Great base for seeing the old town of Marrakesh. Do take up the offer of being met at the airport as 1st timers would struggle to find the place. Once there no problem. You can walk to the place de jemaa el fna in 10 minutes. Relatively quiet apart from the inevitable call to prayers you can't escape from anywhere in Marrakesh. Host and hostess are delightful and very willing to help, with suggestions of attractions excursions. Do try the Haman suggested if you like that sort of thing. A glass of fresh orange from the square is a must.
Rooms small but picturesque, but as you are out all the time it really does not pose a problem. The roof terrace is great for a quick top up on the tan. They will do an evening meal which is a pleasant way to relax. Marakesh itself does not offer haute cuisine but it is good to try the local food. All in all a great break and a good place to go later in the season for some sun.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad les Oliviers
Riad les Oliviers
#293 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Moughita
Dar Moughita
#269 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Spa du Chameau
Riad Spa du Chameau
#922 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
riad bianca
riad bianca
#357 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nael
Riad Dar Nael
#706 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Mchicha
Riad Dar Mchicha
#289 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Othmane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Othmane

Property: Riad Dar Othmane
Address: 198, Derb Essakaya - | Essibtiyine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #355 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Othmane 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Othmane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Othmane Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing