We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top value for proce” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Hamra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Al Hamra to your Saves list
Dar Al Hamra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Top value for proce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

I selected this riad on the basis of its listing in Trip Advisor. And I wasn't disappointed. It had a very high rating for such a (relatively) cheap place to stay. And it's clear why. It was charming, spotless and quiet. The decoration while simple was lovely. The staff very welcoming. It was about 10 minutes walk from the Djema el Fna - some might like to stay closer to the action but it was spot on for us. The breakfast was excellent - the best pancakes we've had in Morocco. The only reason not to give it 5 stars is because the room was actually very small - but we didn't spend much time in it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Antwerpen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We had a wonderful stay in this Dar, thanks to the welcoming and very friendly service by Brahim and others. From the roof terrace, you have a wonderful sight at the buzzing life of Marrakech. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasVreriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

At such a low price, I was expecting a much lower standard than the Dar Al Hamra offers. The bedrooms were spotless and beautifully decorated in a traditional Moroccan style. The air conditioning and excellent showers were much needed after a day in the souks (an easy ten minute walk away)
Staff were very helpful and patient with my attempts at communicating in French. Their excellent service stretched to running into the street at 5am to find a taxi for us when the airport shuttle failed to appear.
The excellent location and delicious breakfasts provide the finishing perks to this affordable, peaceful guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rm1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

About 10 min from place Djemaa el Fna, it's a very quiet, charming and cozy riad, very comfortable, safe and clean. The stuff is very helpful and welcoming, and make you feel at home. To cheap for all that!

Thank you Nabil, Saida, and Brahim

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenaFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Special Riad in a quarter typical of Marrakech. I was agreeably surprised by the warm-hearted reception of Saïda and Brahim and delightful meals. Service was flawless. Really Riad to be discovered. Finally, thanks a lot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaplanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We stayed one night at Dar Al Hamra and it was one of the best places we stayed in Morocco. Tucked away in the old medina behind nothing more than a door, this marvelous riad was a hidden gem!

This was a cheap place to stay, but absolutely lovely; that equals fantastic value. The room was clean, breakfast was simple but that's just typically Moroccan, the location was fabulous as it was in the heart of the magical old medina, the staff were friendly and being hidden behind the big wooden front door which was always locked, made us feel very safe.

Marrakech is a magical place to visit and staying at this small, family run riad simply makes it all the more magical. Please don't stay at one of the big cheap hotels in Marrakech; they're not a patch on the fabulous little riads dotted around the city. At a riad the service is more personal, you're not surround by 100 other guests and you're (usually) supporting a famil business.

Don't get stung by locals in the medina who offer to show you to your hotel, unless you want their help. We knew where we were going and one of these guys followed us and then expected a tip for showing us where to go!

Make the trip to Marrakech, it's definately worth it, and while you're there stay at Dar Al Hamra; I can't imagine you'd get better value anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine_Local
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#259 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#273 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#267 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#307 of 490 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#147 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hamra

Address: N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Hamra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Al Hamra Riad, or the Red Mansion, is ideally situated in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. Situated near the historical market and square Djemaa el-Fna, this charming riad offers comfort and tranquility.Dar Al Hamra is a traditional Moroccan house, or riad, with seven rooms elegantly decorated in Moroccan fashion. Each room is air-conditioned and contains a private bathroom. Guests enjoy relaxing with views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains on our private roof terrace with solarium.The Dar Al Hamra Riad will be pleased to welcome you to Marrakesh and ensure you have a magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dar Al Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing