We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent, clean, central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Al Hamra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Al Hamra
Ranked #296 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Bolzano, Italy
1 review
“Excellent, clean, central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 4 days at Al Hamra within walking distance to the medina. They also organize excursions to the dessert. We did a 2 day 1 night trip incl. a camel ride to the berber camp which was unforgettable. The rooms at Al Hamra were a good size, clean, new linnen, tv. The breakfast was similar to the other riads we stayed at in Morocco: pancakes, yoghurt, tea, coffee, egg and orange juice. Welcoming staff and cute kittens outside.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pulmonate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    30
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
51
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Originally booked with Dar Al Hamra, however when arrive we decided we wanted a larger room, but they were fully booked. The man running the Riad was very understanding and managed to get us the room we wanted at at his neighbor's Riad for a decent price.

Despite moving Riads the staff at Dar Al Hamra continued to help us with directions, restaurant recommendation, booking taxis and day trips, we were very happy with the help they provided -on the day trip we found out that we had paid less than other people in the minivan on route to the Atlas mountains.
We were even given a guide to Marrakech to borrow and use throughout our stay, which would have cost 5-10 euros to buy. Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two nights at the Riad Dar Al Hamra to celebrate a special birthday. It was an absolutely magical experience. The decor is beautiful and creates an authentic Moroccan mood. We enjoyed a sumptuous dinner on the roof top of the Riad with a spectacular view of the Atlas mountain. The service was superb and the owner was very friendly and spoke some english. We have been to Marrakesh before and will always choose this one in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karima C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had a very welcoming experience at Dar Al Hamra in the Medina. The location is walking distance to everything in the Medina and the service is outstanding! Brahim was very knowledgeble and set up daily excursions for us and got us the best deals. Our rooms were always very clean, there was air condition for the warmer summer months and the rooftop terrace was a perfect place to escape and hang out with our friends and see the amazing view of the city. We will go back in a heartbeat, we loved it there!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great Riad and very friendly owner. Despite paying for the smaller room we were given the bigger room as it was available during our stay. It is really a hidden gem and will definitely go back. Room is very clean and comfortable. They have excursions to the desert and other cities which seemed to be cheaper than excursions we have seen in Marrakech Agencies, unfortunately we did not have the time to go to the desert. The Riad is easiest to be found if you go to bab doukkala mosque (find the car park by the mosque) an find the first alley opposite the car park go down the alley and you will find the sign directing you to the Riad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Dar al Hamra is like our second home; our host was Ibrahim, who really looked after us and made our stay pleasurable.

Food – breakfast was served whenever we got up, and consisted of fresh toast with jam, honey and fresh butter, tea, freshly squeezed orange juice (best for the orange juice lovers). Mint tea was offered at all times free of charge.

Location – the house is located ten minutes from the main square, and right round the corner are some useful places like a pharmacy and a mosque.

Room – we would recommend ‘the suite/family room’ it was spacious with a king size bed, single bed, sofa, table and two chairs, more than your moneys worth! We had a traditional Moroccan bathroom, which was clean and nicely decorated. It included a shower area, and other accessories like soap and towels. Unfortunately the exhaust was not working when we were there however it’s not a big issue (take some air freshener!).

Over all house

The house was a traditional Moroccan design dating back to the Islamic caliphate therefore unlike western houses the privacy is guaranteed for example the house is structured inwards with all of the rooms facing the main forecourt in the middle.

We loved our stay, and really met some beautiful characters like Ibrahim, who treated us like family.

Note: Was actually May 2012!
Message to Ibrahim: We are so sorry for the late review, we'd typed it up but forgotten to upload! We hope you are well and you are in our prayers!

Room Tip: Breakfast on the roof is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wasif S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of 3 places we stayed in in Marrakech. Ibrahim who was always there treated us very kindly, brought our breakfast up to the roof terrace, always had a smile.

It was well-protected from the hectic street noise, although when the riad is full, there is indoor noise from the central atrium. The roof terrace was great, with a view of the High -Atlas mountains and sunsets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#248 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#275 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#240 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dar Tuscia
Dar Tuscia
#246 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#322 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#233 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hamra

Property: Dar Al Hamra
Address: N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Hamra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Al Hamra Riad, or the Red Mansion, is ideally situated in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. Situated near the historical market and square Djemaa el-Fna, this charming riad offers comfort and tranquility.Dar Al Hamra is a traditional Moroccan house, or riad, with seven rooms elegantly decorated in Moroccan fashion. Each room is air-conditioned and contains a private bathroom. Guests enjoy relaxing with views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains on our private roof terrace with solarium.The Dar Al Hamra Riad will be pleased to welcome you to Marrakesh and ensure you have a magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dar Al Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing