We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not perfect”
Review of Dar Al Hamra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Al Hamra
Ranked #269 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Dar Al Hamra (10 days).
Positive:
We had a good traditional (sweet) breakfast every morning - even when we had to leave earlier than the breakfast time! When we told them, we wouldn't be there for breakfast they simply arranged an earlier breakfast for us!!!
The "hotel" has a nice roof top, where you can enjoy your breakfast on sunny days and relax in a deck chair.
As there are only a couple of rooms, you can enjoy the roof top nearly for yourself.
Something that was really important to us: The rooms and the whole hotel is very authentic traditionally decorated as the family who owns it, lives there, too.
Everything we asked for was done for us, e.g. new towels, some incense sticks, ...
When we arrived, the room was prepared while we had a cup of tea in the inner courtyard and the room was very clean - especially the bathroom.
The airconditioning also works as heating in winter!

Negative:
Worst thing was our arrival. Although we had sent 2 mails (English and French), we didn't get an answer and were not picked up at the airport. That was a really bad start as the taxi driver overcharged us (of course!) and didn't give us any change AND dropped us of at the wrong alley so that we had to find the hotel on our own! (The one thing we didn't want to do as there was no good map. So here is my explanation: Follow Boulevard Fatima Zahra from Koutoubia mosque heading north or from Place du Bab Doukkala/
Gare Routière de Marrakech‎ south through Rue Bab Doukkala. On the northwest corner of the mosque Bab Doukkala (there are some parking spots in fron tof the mosque) you will head west into the alley next to the corner, opposite to the parking area. The "Les Bains de Azahara" is the first door in the alley! Follow that alley for a couple of metres then turn right at the first crossing and follow that alley to the very end - 70 m. There you are.) We didn't know that , so we had to call the hotel - but the staff/owner who is the only one speaking English, could hardly be understood on the phone, so we asked a lot of people before someone could help us. A really bad start!!!
The towels were only changed ones (in 10 days), when we explicitly asked to do so. Even when we dropped them on the floor, they simply put them back on the rack. (We didn't realize it until the last days.) Although they cleaned the room every day, we had a dust layer in the bathroom after a couple of days, so they didn't clean perfectly while we were there. (This wasn't that important to us,)
The first morning we couldn't get any warm water - and it happened again - twice.
When the family has visitors, you can hear them all the time as all the rooms are situated around the inner courtyard, as typical for this area. (But it only happened once while we were there.) The same applies to the other hotel guests.
Worst thing (in our opinion): We asked to have dinner in the hotel on our last day. We even wrote it down and handed the notice to the man one day earlier as we were not always sure, if he understood us. When we asked if we could chose the meals at the last day, he said, that we couldn't have dinner as they had a doctor's appointment in the afternoon. That was said, but it's not their fault if someone is ill - but we wished they would have said something to us instead of only telling us as we asked for the menu. However, it got worse as we left the house about noon to go in the nearby park to stroll around before a spa appointment in the afternoon.) When we came back noone opened the door! Apperently they went to the doctor and didn't leave someone in charge to open the door! We waited about 10 minutes, knocking on the door and ringing the bell, but noone answered. Unluckily, we didn't have anything with us - no cash, no drinks, no food. We went back to the park and waited for about 45 min, before we went back to the hotel. (I caught a cold while we waited ) The door was opened and we rushed to our room to get our stuff for the spa appointment, It is really not amusing to be locked out of your hotel when you only left for a short walk and can't get back into your room! It really freaked me out.
I'm not sure, if I would recommand the hotel. I think it depends on how much you're willing to pay and where you book it. We payed very little so it basically met our expectations - but not for the arrival and the last day. (As written above.)

Room Tip: All rooms look the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waterwitch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 112 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I was there with my girlfriend in Christmas period for 2 days and I remembered on it in good site. There was little bit problem to find it, because isn't nowhere some sparrow label, but helpful man help us, of course for a money :D Hotel looks very good, and level of acommodation is there on top level. Also breakfast on the terrase was good, maybe not so large. Price for it is maybe little bit higher, but no so much and hotel is placed about 15 minutes walking from Djemaa el Fna. Owner has 24h service, so there wasn't problem with opening door. But he was a bit type of guy, which has a rules and can't go over them. So there was a problem to agree on something, but on the end it's happened well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Petr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of 4 took 2 rooms for 3 nights at Dar Al Hamra. It's location is very close to the main square, so it was easy for us to tour the square and the souks for a few hours, then come back to rest a little in our rooms before heading back out to the square or other attractions. The owner was very friendly and nice, and his English is fine. The breakfasts were included, but they were simple Moroccan styled. We arrived by the overnight train from Tangier, and the station was very close, may be 10 to 12 minutes (costs 100 Dhm, a little overpriced, but not too bad). We took the larger SUV arranged by Dar Al Hamra since we had 4 people and 4 suitcases to the airport, which was only 15-20 minutes away (costs 15 euros). All in all, we had a very nice and relaxed stay at Dar Al Hamra and recommend to those who likes to be close to the action, but far enough to stay quite at nights.

Room Tip: Reserve the larger rooms if available as the prices are similar, but much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigFishDiveClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I really enjoyed a lot my stay here with my wife in that Riad, the price is not expensive if we compare with how near is that Riad located to Medina, in the area you can find anything you want, and the Riad is so nice, well decorated and more homey.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Loneshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We are currently staying in this riad. The staff have been very helpful and the room is fantastic for the price. It is a budget riad but has air conditioning in the rooms, great water pressure and was exactly what we needed for this trip. A small oasis of calm in the midst of chaos! The room is quiet and dark with the lights off so we are sleeping very well. Thank you to the staff for helping organise the trip to the mountains and for welcoming us to your home!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scuba_nomie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Dar Al Hamra is a hidden gem in Marrakech Medina. The rooms are beautiful with a large bathroom that has actual water pressure - a rarity in Morroco! The rooms are clean and come with AC, breakfast is nice with local bread speciaties, freshly squeezed orange-juice, tea and coffee. you can either eat in the courtyard or on the rooftop terrasse with a gorgeus view of Marrakech Medina. The personel is very friendly and give you help you with wathever problems or questions you have. Would definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Divandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a lovely little Dar (a hotel with private bathrooms, but it is a house where owners and workers live too). It is worth getting picked up at the airport, although they charge you for it. It's hard to find otherwise, but once they show you your map over the welcoming cup of mint tea, you can see how easy it is to walk to the Koutubia Minaret and the main square Jemma El Fna. Watch out for the guy with the monkey. He will try to toss it on your shoulder and demand money. Stand firm and don't take a photo or he will be very loud about getting money for the photo you took.

So, the Dar was welcoming and had a lovely rooftop terrace with breakfast served there. IT was awesome. The rooms have air conditioning and ours had a couch, closet, nice bathroom, and comfy bed. The door did have a padlock, although they do come in to tidy up.

I loved it. Note: Do not do the excursion to SEtti Fatma that they arrange. It was not a good experience and cost lots more than just the payment we made to the hotel. I would go online and find the excursion companies and have them come get you and make sure you get to see all the tings or waterfalls or whatever you want to see.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jennykr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#255 of 499 in Marrakech
185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#246 of 499 in Marrakech
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Jomana
Riad Jomana
#253 of 499 in Marrakech
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#237 of 499 in Marrakech
270 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
Riad Chennaoui Marrakech
#328 of 499 in Marrakech
86 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#88 of 499 in Marrakech
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Al Hamra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Al Hamra

Address: N 4 Derb Zaouia, Bab Doukkala | Marrakech 40000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $34 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Al Hamra 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dar Al Hamra Riad, or the Red Mansion, is ideally situated in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. Situated near the historical market and square Djemaa el-Fna, this charming riad offers comfort and tranquility.Dar Al Hamra is a traditional Moroccan house, or riad, with seven rooms elegantly decorated in Moroccan fashion. Each room is air-conditioned and contains a private bathroom. Guests enjoy relaxing with views of Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains on our private roof terrace with solarium.The Dar Al Hamra Riad will be pleased to welcome you to Marrakesh and ensure you have a magnificent experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Al Hamra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing